

First Qualifying Round Draw 13th UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship 2013/14

DRAW PROCEDURE

20 November 2012, Nyon, Switzerland

An overview of the competition structure and draw procedure for the first qualifying round of the 2013/14 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship is given below.

COMPETITION SYSTEM

Forty-eight member associations will take part in the competition. Forty-four teams will start in the first qualifying round and the three top-seeded teams, Germany, England and Spain will join in the second qualifying round. The host association of the final tournament – Norway – qualifies automatically for the final round.

COEFFICIENT RANKING LIST

A coefficient ranking list has been established for the first qualifying round draw according to the following principles:

- Seasons taken into account: 2009/10, 2010/11 and 2011/12.
 - All qualifying round matches (first and second qualifying rounds) have been taken into consideration to calculate the coefficients.
- Win = 3 points; draw = 1 point; defeat = 0 points.
- For those associations which hosted a final round in the 2009/10 (FYR Macedonia), 2010/11 (Italy) and 2011/12 (Turkey) seasons and, consequently, qualified directly for the final round in question, the coefficient from the qualifying rounds for the 2008/09 season has been taken into account.
- The following bonus points have been awarded: (maximum 9 bonus points)
 - automatic qualification for the second qualifying round = 3 points
 - qualification from the first to the second qualifying round = 3 points
 - qualification from the second qualifying round to the final round = 3 points
 - competition winner = 3 points
 - \circ 2009/10 = France
 - o 2010/11 = Germany
 - o 2011/12 = Sweden
 - competition runners-up = 2 points
 - o 2009/10 = England
 - o 2010/11 = Norway
 - o 2011/12 = Spain

- competition semi-finalists = 1 point
 - o 2009/10 = Germany and Netherlands
 - 2010/11 = Italy and Switzerland
 - 2011/12 = Portugal and Denmark
- For those associations which hosted a final round bonus points for reaching the last phase of the final round (see above: semi-finalists, runners-up, winners) will be awarded in the season they hosted and added to the points earned in the qualifying rounds of the season 2008/09.
- The coefficient for each season has been calculated by taking the number of points obtained (including bonus points) and dividing it by the number of matches.
- The three annual coefficients have then been added together to produce the overall coefficient used for the ranking list.
- Associations with the same overall coefficient have been separated according to the following criteria:
 - 1) Higher number of matches.
 - 2) Higher coefficient from the most recent season, i.e. 2011/12 season.
 - 3) Higher coefficient from the next most recent seasons, i.e. 2010/11 and 2009/10 seasons.
 - 4) Superior goal difference from the most recent season, i.e. 2011/12 season.

DRAW PROCEDURE

The 44 associations will be split into 4 pots, as follows:

Pot A (blue balls)

Associations ranked from 4 to 14 (11 teams)

Pot B (green balls)

Associations ranked from 15 to 25 (11 teams)

Pot C (purple balls)

Associations ranked from 26 to 36 (11 teams)

Pot D (red balls)

Associations ranked from 37 to 47 (11 teams)

The 44 associations will be drawn into 11 groups of 4 teams according to the following procedure:

- One ball will be drawn from Pot D into Group 1. The team drawn will be placed into the fourth position of the group.
- One ball will be drawn from Pot C into Group 1. The team drawn will be placed into the *third* position of the group.
- One ball will be drawn from Pot B into Group 1. The team drawn will be placed into the **second** position of the group.
- One ball will then be drawn from Pot A into Group 1. The team drawn will be placed into the *first* position of the group.
- Once Group 1 is completed, the same procedure will apply to form Groups 2 to 11.

Twenty-one teams will qualify from the first to the second qualifying round, i.e. the eleven group winners and the ten best group runners-up.

GROUP FORMATION FOR THE SECOND QUALIFYING ROUND

A draw will take place to form the six groups of four teams. The definitive draw procedure will be communicated to the associations concerned on completion of the first qualifying round.

The six group winners and the best runner-up of the second qualifying round will qualify for the final round.

DATES

The first qualifying round will take place from 21st to 26th September 2013.

The second qualifying round will take place from 5th to 10th April 2014.

The final round will be staged in Norway, from 15th to 27st July 2014 (TBC).

SPECIAL CASE

Based on previous decisions of the UEFA Executive Committee, Russia and Georgia cannot play each other in their respective countries. Consequently, for today's draw, if Russia and Georgia are drawn into the same group, neither will host the mini-tournament.