

UEFA EURO 2016 Qualifying Draw Procedure

Date and time:	Sunday, 23 February 2014, 12h00 (start of show)
Place:	Acropolis, Nice, France
Duration:	20-25 mins (TV programme: 50 mins)
Competition Regulations:	Articles 11-12 / Annex B, paragraph B.1.2.a.
Qualifying Competition:	September 2014 – October 2015
Groups:	9 groups: 8 groups of 6 teams and 1 group of 5 teams
Teams involved:	53 divided into 6 pots

Basic conditions

- * All 54 UEFA member associations will enter the competition.
- * France qualifies directly for the final tournament and is therefore not part of the draw. However, after the draw UEFA will allocate France to the group of 5 teams in order to arrange friendly matches between France and these 5 teams (see competition regulations, paragraph 21.02)
- * 53 UEFA member associations will participate in the qualifying draw.

Qualifying competition

- * 9 groups: 8 groups of 6 teams (Groups A-H) and 1 group of 5 teams (Group I);
- * League system on home and away basis;
- * Group matches to be played according to the *European Qualifiers Match Calendar* from September 2014 to October 2015 (see competition regulations, annex A);
- * The UEFA administration will publish the *European Qualifiers Fixture List* following the qualifying draw;
- * The 9 group winners, the 9 group runners-up and the best third-placed team qualify directly for the final tournament. The eight remaining third-placed teams contest play-off matches to determine the four teams qualified for the final tournament.

Team rankings and pot allocations

- * The 53 teams involved in the draw are classified on the basis of the national team coefficient ranking system, for which their results in the following competitions are used:
 - 2010 FIFA World Cup (qualifying competition and final tournament),
 - UEFA EURO 2012 (qualifying competition and final tournament) and
 - 2014 FIFA World Cup (qualifying competition: group stage and play-offs).
- * Based on this ranking, the 53 teams are divided into 6 pots. Pots 1 to 5 contain 9 teams each and Pot 6 contains 8 teams.



Draw procedure

The draw starts with Pot 1 and then continues in the order of the pots from Pot 6 to Pot 2. Each pot is emptied entirely before proceeding to the next pot.

The nine teams drawn from pots 1 to 5 will be allocated to the groups in alphabetical order, starting with Group A to end with Group I; the eight teams drawn from pot 6 will be allocated to Groups A to H.

- * A ball will first be drawn from Pot 1 to determine the team in first position in Group A. The second ball drawn from Pot 1 determines the team in first position in Group B. This procedure is repeated until the remaining first positions in Groups C to I are filled.
- * The draw continues with Pot 6 from where the 8 teams are drawn into the sixth positions in Groups A to H.
- * Then the 9 teams in Pot 5 are drawn into fifth position in Groups A to I.
- * The same procedure applies to Pots 4, 3 and 2, again placing the team drawn in alphabetical order from Groups A to I.

Draw conditions

The following conditions apply:

- * <u>Centralisation of rights by UEFA</u>: For TV reasons, England, Germany, Italy, Spain and the Netherlands shall be drawn into groups of 6 teams.
 - The last team to be drawn among the remaining teams in Pot 1 will be allocated to Group I composed of 5 teams.
- * <u>Political situation</u>: based on decisions taken by the UEFA Executive Committee, Azerbaijan and Armenia; as well as Spain and Gibraltar shall not be drawn in the same group.
 - If one team is drawn into the group where the other team in question has already been allocated, that team shall automatically be allocated to the next group and another team will be drawn from the same pot to fill the position in the previous group.
 - In case Azerbaijan are drawn into Group I and Armenia is left amongst the two last draw balls, Armenia shall automatically be allocated to Group H and the last remaining team to Group I.
 - In case Spain is drawn into Group H and Gibraltar is left amongst the two last draw balls, Gibraltar shall automatically be allocated to Group G and the last remaining team to Group H.



Allocation of teams to pots

The 53 teams are allocated to 6 pots according to the national team coefficient rankings.

Pot 1	Pot 2
Spain	Ukraine
Germany	Croatia
Netherlands	Sweden
Italy	Denmark
England	Switzerland
Portugal	Belgium
Greece	Czech Republic
Russia	Hungary
Bosnia-Herzegovina	Republic of Ireland
Det 4	Det F

Pot 4
Montenegro
Armenia
Scotland
Finland
Latvia
Wales
Bulgaria
Estonia
Belarus

Pot !	5
-------	---

Iceland Northern Ireland Albania Lithuania Moldova FYR Macedonia Azerbaijan Georgia Cyprus

Pot 3
Serbia
Turkey
Slovenia
Israel
Norway
Slovakia
Romania
Austria
Poland

Pot 6

Luxembourg Kazakhstan Liechtenstein Faroe Islands Malta Andorra San Marino Gibraltar