The official website for European football

Preliminary & main rounds

Forty-five of the 49 entrants were involved in the opening draws of the 2011/12 UEFA Futsal Cup

Preliminary & main rounds

Forty-five of the 49 entrants were involved in the opening draws of the 2011/12 UEFA Futsal Cup

Preliminary round draw
Group A: FS Ilves Tampere (FIN), KMF Bajo Pivljanin (MNE), SD Croatia Berlin (GER), Perth Saltires (SCO)*

Group B: FK Nautara Kaunas (LTU), EID Futsal (IRL), Geneva Futsal (SUI)*, The New Saints FC (WAL)

Group C: SC Tornado Chisinau (MDA), KMF Leotar Trebinje (BIH)*, Falcão FC Stockholm (SWE), FC Encamp (AND)

Group D: MFC Varna (BUL)*, BGA Futsal (DEN), Vegakameratene (NOR), Fjölnir (ISL)

Group E: ETO FC Györ (HUN), Helvecia Futsal London (ENG), Stella Rossa Vienna (AUT)*, FC Anzhi Tallinn (EST)

Group F: CF Eindhoven (NED), KMF Zelezarec Skopje (MKD)*, Excess RP Bidnija (MLT), Istanbul Üniversitesi SK (TUR)

Group G: AC Omonia Nicosia (CYP)*, Eerebuni Yerevan (ARM), Sporting Clube de Paris (FRA), KF Flamurtari Vlora (ALB)

Main round draw
Group 1: MFK Dinamo Moskva (RUS), Athina '90 (GRE), FC Litija (SVN)*, Winner preliminary round Group F

Group 2: FC Barcelona (ESP), FK Nikars Riga (LVA)*, Winner preliminary round Group E, Winner preliminary round Group C

Group 3: Iberia Star Tbilisi (GEO)*, Slov-Matic Bratislava (SVK), FC Mapid Minsk (BLR), Winner preliminary round Group B

Group 4: FK Era-Pack Chrudim (CZE), Akademia FC Pniewy (POL)*, Châtelineau Futsal (BEL), Winner preliminary round Group D

Group 5: Marca Futsal (ITA), City'US Târgu Mures (ROU)*, MNK Split (CRO), Winner preliminary round Group A

Group 6: KMF Ekonomac Kragujevac (SRB)*, Uragan Ivano-Frankovsk (UKR), Asa Ben Gurion (ISR), Winner preliminary round Group G

*Mini-tournament hosts

6 July, Nyon

Forty-five of the 49 entrants were involved in the opening draws of the 2011/12 UEFA Futsal Cup – 28 teams in the preliminary round (sides ranked 22 to 49), with another 17 entering in the main round (sides 5-21).

The preliminary round will consist of seven groups of four teams while the main round involves six sections of four clubs. In all cases the mini-tournament hosts have already been designated.

The preliminary round contenders were split into four seeding tiers: sides ranked 22-28, 29-35, 36-42 and 43-49. First, the preordained hosts were drawn from Pot 1 and placed in order from Groups A to G; they were positioned in their allotted group according to their ranking.

Then the remaining clubs from the fourth tier were drawn from Pot 2, placed in the available fourth positions from Groups B-G. Then followed the third tier (Pot 3), second tier (Pot 4) and top tier (Pot 5). Matches will be played from 13 to 21 August, with the seven group winners going into the main round.

The main round contestants were split into four seeding tiers: teams ranked 5-10, 11-16, 17-21 and preliminary round winners. First to be drawn were the hosts from Pot 6 – allocated, in order, to Groups 1-6 and put in their appropriate seeding position.

Then the preliminary round winners was drawn from Pot 7; the first six picked out was placed in the fourth position in Groups 1-6, before the remaining winner was placed in the third position in the first free section.

The remaining third-tier teams from Pot 8 were then drawn, followed by the second-ranked sides from Pot 9 and the first-ranked from Pot 10. Matches will be played from 24 September to 2 October.



Road to the final

The UEFA Futsal Cup comprises three group stages and a four-team final tournament.

Preliminary round
Depending on the number of entrants, the lower-ranked nations are drawn into three or four-team mini-tournaments played at the start of the season. Each mini-tournament is staged by one of the clubs and each team plays each other once with the group winners (and if needed a certain number of runners-up) progressing.

Main round
The preliminary round winners join the remaining entrants. In Path A, the holders, and the other teams ranked 1 to 11 and 16 to 19 (excluding the holders) are drawn into four groups of four from which the top three go through. In Path B the remaining 16 teams including the sides progressing from the preliminary round are drawn into four groups of group from which the winners go into the elite round.

Elite round
The 16 teams progressing from the main round are drawn into four groups of four teams. The winners of the one-venue mini-tournaments in late autumn progress to the finals.

The four-team finals are held over a weekend in late April and hosted by one of the qualifiers. The tournament is played as a knockout with the semi-finals followed two days later by the final and third-place play-off. If the third-place match is level after 40 minutes it goes straight to penalties, in the other games ten minutes of extra time will be played. Those matches will then be decided on penalties if the scores are still level.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.