The official website for European football

2011/12 final tournament

The four-team final tournament will be in Lleida from 27 to 29 April.
2011/12 final tournament
The Pavelló Barris Nord ©

Road to the final

The UEFA Futsal Cup comprises three group stages and a four-team final tournament.

Preliminary round
Depending on the number of entrants, the lower-ranked nations are drawn into three or four-team mini-tournaments played at the start of the season. Each mini-tournament is staged by one of the clubs and each team plays each other once with the group winners (and if needed a certain number of runners-up) progressing.

Main round
The preliminary round winners join the remaining entrants. In Path A, the holders, and the other teams ranked 1 to 11 and 16 to 19 (excluding the holders) are drawn into four groups of four from which the top three go through. In Path B the remaining 16 teams including the sides progressing from the preliminary round are drawn into four groups of group from which the winners go into the elite round.

Elite round
The 16 teams progressing from the main round are drawn into four groups of four teams. The winners of the one-venue mini-tournaments in late autumn progress to the finals.

The four-team finals are held over a weekend in late April and hosted by one of the qualifiers. The tournament is played as a knockout with the semi-finals followed two days later by the final and third-place play-off. If the third-place match is level after 40 minutes it goes straight to penalties, in the other games ten minutes of extra time will be played. Those matches will then be decided on penalties if the scores are still level.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.

2011/12 final tournament

The four-team final tournament will be in Lleida from 27 to 29 April.

FC Barcelona have been appointed hosts of the four-team 2012 UEFA Futsal Cup finals in late April and will stage the games at the 6,100-capacity Pavelló Barris Nord in Lleida.

Barcelona – who have qualified for the finals in their first European season – will be up against Italian champions Marca Futsal, last season's runners-up Sporting Club de Portugal and the side that won in Murcia in 2007, MFK Dinamo Moskva. The knockout competition will be played on 27 and 29 April, with the draw to be made on Tuesday 3 April at Camp Nou during half-time of FC Barcelona's UEFA Champions League quarter-final tie with AC Milan.

Since the first four-team finals in 2006/07 they have been held in Murcia (Spain), Moscow (Russia), Ekaterinburg (Russia), Lisbon (Portugal) and Almaty (Kazakhstan).