The official website for European football

Preliminary & main rounds

All but the four top-ranked clubs were involved in the opening draws of the 2012/13 UEFA Futsal Cup.

Preliminary & main rounds

All but the four top-ranked clubs were involved in the opening draws of the 2012/13 UEFA Futsal Cup.

14.00CET, 4 July, Nyon

The 27 sides starting in the preliminary round, played from 7 to 12 August, were drawn into six groups of four and one of three. Seven sides, including two of the 14 newcomers, were pre-selected as mini-tournament hosts and drawn separately before being placed in their appropriate seeding position.

For the main round, the winners of the seven preliminary round groups were pre-drawn with the 17 teams entering at that stage. As in the previous draw, teams were allocated one of four seeding positions, with six clubs selected as hosts and drawn separately.

The main round will be played from 4 to 9 September and the top two in each group will join the four top seeds in the elite round draw on 13 September. The four group winners from 9 to 14 October will compete in the finals in late April with the hosts drawn from among their number.

Preliminary round (7-12 August)
Group A: KMF Leotar Trebinje (BIH)*, CSC Lexmax Stauceni (MDA), Balzan Youths FC (MLT)

Group B: Helvécia Futsal London (ENG), LSM Lida (BLR), København Futsal (DEN)*, Vlora Futsal (ALB)

Group C: EID Futsal (IRL), Minerva Futsal Bern (SUI), 1. FC Allstars Wiener Neustadt (AUT)*, TÜFAD Ankara (TUR)

Group D: FT Antwerpen (BEL), Sporting Club de Paris (FRA)*, Hamburg Panthers (GER), FC Santos Perth (SCO)

Group E: Maccabi Nahalat Yitzhak Tel-Aviv (ISR)*, Vegakameratene (NOR), FC Shahumyan Yerevan (ARM), FC Encamp (AND)*

Group F: FS Ilves Tampere (FIN), FC Grand Pro Varna (BUL)*, FC Ibra Göteborg (SWE), Cardiff City FC (WAL)

Group G: KMF Zelezarec Skopje (MKD)*, KF Jedinstvo Bijelo Polje (MNE), Bekentas Vilnius (LTU), FC Anzhi Tallinn (EST)

Main round (4-9 September)
Group 1: Luparense C/5 (ITA), Slov-Matic Bratislava (SVK), AC Omonia Nicosia (CYP)*, winner preliminary round Group F

Group 2: KMF Ekonomac Kragyjevac (SRB), Nikars Riga (LVA)*, winner preliminary round Group E, winner preliminary round Group G

Group 3: FK EP Chrudim (CZE)*, City'US Târgu Mures (ROU), SK Energia Lviv (UKR), winner preliminary round Group A

Group 4: Iberia Star Tbilisi (GEO), Athina '90 (GRE), FC Litija (SVN)*, winner preliminary round Group D

Group 5: MFK Dinamo Moskva (RUS), Akademia FC Pniewy (POL), MNK Split (CRO)*, winner preliminary round Group B

Group 6: Araz Naxçivan (AZE), CF Eindhoven (NED), ETO FC Győr (HUN)*, winner preliminary round Group C

Bye to elite round (9-14 October)
FC Barcelona (ESP, holders), SL Benfica (POR), Murcia FS (ESP), Kairat Almaty (KAZ)



Road to the final

The UEFA Futsal Cup comprises three group stages and a four-team final tournament.

Preliminary round
Depending on the number of entrants, the lower-ranked nations are drawn into three or four-team mini-tournaments played at the start of the season. Each mini-tournament is staged by one of the clubs and each team plays each other once with the group winners (and if needed a certain number of runners-up) progressing.

Main round
The preliminary round winners join the remaining entrants. In Path A, the holders, and the other teams ranked 1 to 11 and 16 to 19 (excluding the holders) are drawn into four groups of four from which the top three go through. In Path B the remaining 16 teams including the sides progressing from the preliminary round are drawn into four groups of group from which the winners go into the elite round.

Elite round
The 16 teams progressing from the main round are drawn into four groups of four teams. The winners of the one-venue mini-tournaments in late autumn progress to the finals.

The four-team finals are held over a weekend in late April and hosted by one of the qualifiers. The tournament is played as a knockout with the semi-finals followed two days later by the final and third-place play-off. If the third-place match is level after 40 minutes it goes straight to penalties, in the other games ten minutes of extra time will be played. Those matches will then be decided on penalties if the scores are still level.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.