The official website for European football

2012/13 final tournament

The four-team final tournament will be hosted by Iberia Star Tbilisi from 26 to 28 April.
2012/13 final tournament
The Pavelló Barris Nord in Lleida staged the 2011/12 finals ©Sportsfile

Road to the final

The UEFA Futsal Cup comprises three group stages and a four-team final tournament.

Preliminary round
Depending on the number of entrants, the lower-ranked nations are drawn into three or four-team mini-tournaments played at the start of the season. Each mini-tournament is staged by one of the clubs and each team plays each other once with the group winners (and if needed a certain number of runners-up) progressing.

Main round
The preliminary round winners join the remaining entrants. In Path A, the holders, and the other teams ranked 1 to 11 and 16 to 19 (excluding the holders) are drawn into four groups of four from which the top three go through. In Path B the remaining 16 teams including the sides progressing from the preliminary round are drawn into four groups of group from which the winners go into the elite round.

Elite round
The 16 teams progressing from the main round are drawn into four groups of four teams. The winners of the one-venue mini-tournaments in late autumn progress to the finals.

The four-team finals are held over a weekend in late April and hosted by one of the qualifiers. The tournament is played as a knockout with the semi-finals followed two days later by the final and third-place play-off. If the third-place match is level after 40 minutes it goes straight to penalties, in the other games ten minutes of extra time will be played. Those matches will then be decided on penalties if the scores are still level.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.

2012/13 final tournament

The four-team final tournament will be hosted by Iberia Star Tbilisi from 26 to 28 April.

The 9,540-capacity Tbilisi Palace of Sports will stage the 2012/13 UEFA Futsal Cup finals from 26 to 28 April involving home club Iberia Star Tbilisi, holders FC Barcelona, MFK Dinamo and Kairat Almaty.

The decision was taken at December's UEFA Executive Committee meeting in Nyon. It will be the first UEFA final tournament to be held in Georgia since independence, though the 2015 UEFA Super Cup will take place in Tbilisi. The draw for the knockout event will be made in the spring.

Iberia are the only side to have entered all 12 editions of the competition but are making their debut at this advanced stage. The Tbilisi Palace of Sports was built in 1961 and renovated in 2007. As well as futsal, it plays host to basketball, handball, judo, tennis and boxing.

Iberia follow in the footsteps of previous host clubs Barcelona (in Lleida), Kairat, MFK Sinara Ekaterinburg, Dinamo and ElPozo Murcia FS; prior to 2007, the final was a two-legged affair.

(all times local, meaning CET +2 hours):

Friday 26 April
Semi-final 1 (18.00): Iberia Star (GEO, hosts) v MFK Dinamo (RUS)
Semi-final 2 (20.30): Kairat Almaty (KAZ) v FC Barcelona (ESP, holders)

Sunday 28 April
Third-place play-off: 18.00
Final: 20.30

2012/13 UEFA Futsal Cup calendar
Preliminary and main round draw04/07/2012
Preliminary round07-12/08/2012
Main round04-09/09/2012
Elite round draw13/09/2012
Elite round09-14/10/2012
Finals draw27/03/2013
Semi-finals, Tbilisi26/04/2013
Final/third-place play-off, Tbilisi28/04/2013