The official website for European football

Match officials

Four referees have been appointed for the finals in Baku.
Match officials
Borut Šivic (left) at the 2012 finals in Lleida ©Getty Images

Road to the final

The UEFA Futsal Cup comprises three group stages and a four-team final tournament.

Preliminary round
Depending on the number of entrants, the lower-ranked nations are drawn into three or four-team mini-tournaments played at the start of the season. Each mini-tournament is staged by one of the clubs and each team plays each other once with the group winners progressing.

Main round
The preliminary round winners join all but the four highest-ranked entrants excused the previous stage. They are drawn into six groups of four, staged as one-venue mini-tournaments, with the top two teams going through.

Elite round
The 12 teams progressing from the main round join the four top seeds and are drawn into four groups of four teams. The winners of the one-venue mini-tournaments in late autumn progress to the finals.

The four-team finals are held over a weekend in late April and hosted by one of the qualifiers. The tournament is played as a knockout with the semi-finals followed two days later by the final and third-place play-off. If the third-place match is level after 40 minutes it goes straight to penalties, in the other games ten minutes of extra time will be played.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.

Match officials

Four referees have been appointed for the finals in Baku.

Marc Birkett (ENG) 03/02/1981
Eduardo José Fernandes Coelho (POR) 10/10/1979
Alessandro Malfer (ITA) 23/01/1975
Borut Šivic (SVN) 20/04/1971

Last updated: 10/03/14 11.53CET