The official website for European football

2016 UEFA Futsal Cup final tournament

The UEFA Futsal Cup final tournament is a four-team knockout event in late April.
2016 UEFA Futsal Cup final tournament
Benfica celebrate reaching the finals ©Slov-Matic Bratislava

Road to the final

The UEFA Futsal Cup comprises three group stages and a four-team final tournament.

Preliminary round
Depending on the number of entrants, the lower-ranked nations are drawn into three or four-team mini-tournaments played at the start of the season. Each mini-tournament is staged by one of the clubs and each team plays each other once with the group winners (and if needed a certain number of runners-up) progressing.

Main round
The preliminary round winners join the remaining entrants. In Path A, the holders, and the other teams ranked 1 to 11 and 16 to 19 (excluding the holders) are drawn into four groups of four from which the top three go through. In Path B the remaining 16 teams including the sides progressing from the preliminary round are drawn into four groups of group from which the winners go into the elite round.

Elite round
The 16 teams progressing from the main round are drawn into four groups of four teams. The winners of the one-venue mini-tournaments in late autumn progress to the finals.

The four-team finals are held over a weekend in late April and hosted by one of the qualifiers. The tournament is played as a knockout with the semi-finals followed two days later by the final and third-place play-off. If the third-place match is level after 40 minutes it goes straight to penalties, in the other games ten minutes of extra time will be played. Those matches will then be decided on penalties if the scores are still level.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.

2016 UEFA Futsal Cup final tournament

The UEFA Futsal Cup final tournament is a four-team knockout event in late April.

The 2015/16 UEFA Futsal Cup final tournament will be played in late April and hosted by Inter FS in Spain, with Benfica, Pescara and Urga Yugorsk also taking part.

For the first time none of the previous season's four finalists have qualified again
Inter will stage the tournament at the Palacio Multiusos de Guadalajara, selected as the venue on 11 December 2015

Semi-finals: Friday 22 April
Ugra Yugorsk (RUS) v Benfica (POR) 17.30CET
Pescara (ITA) v Inter FS (ESP) 20.30CET

Finals day: Sunday 24 April
Third-place play-off: 18.00CET
Final: 20.30CET

Benfica (POR)
Finals appearances since 2007: 2 (2010, 2011)
Best performance: winners 2010

Preliminary round: bye
Main round: Centar Sarajevo 8-2, Grand Pro Varna 9-2, Dobovec 6-1 (Group 2 winners)
Elite round: Ekonomac Kragujavec 3-0, Slov-Matic Bratislava 4-5, Lokomotiv Kharkiv 2-0 (Group D winners)

Top scorer: Alessandro Patias 9
Key players: Juanjo, Bruno Coelho, Alessandro Patias

• Benfica reached the final on debut in 2004 but lost 7-5 on aggregate to Inter. They had revenge at the same stage in 2010 when they defeated Inter 3-2 after extra time in Lisbon; since then Ricardinho has left Benfica and is now with the Spanish champions.

Inter FS (ESP)
Finals appearances since 2007
: 3 (2007, 2009, 2010)
Best performance: winners 2004, 2006, 2009

Preliminary round: bye
Main round: bye
Elite round: Dobovec 8-0, Kremlin Bicêtre United 10-2. Lidselmash Lida 4-2 (Group A winners)

Top scorer: Cardinal 6
Key players: Ortiz, Ricardinho, Cardinal

• The only three-time winners, Inter lost in the last minute of the decider to FC Dynamo in the first modern four-team finals of 2007. They have since made two finals, winning in 2009 but losing to Benfica a year later, and their record tally of five has since been overtaken by Dynamo. Barcelona have represented Spain in the last four final tournaments but Inter are now back after an elite-round exit to Sporting CP last season.

Pescara (ITA)
Finals appearances since 2007
: debut season
Best performance: debut season

Preliminary round: St Andrews 9-0, Gentofte 3-0, Encamp 6-0 (Group B winners)
Main round: City'US Târgu Mureş 8-3, Lokomotiv Kharkiv 5-1, Hamburg Panthers 11-0 (Group 3 winners)
Elite round: Zelezarec Skopje 2-0, Halle-Gooik 4-2, Tulpar Karagandy 4-0 (Group B winners)

Top scorer: Rogerio Da Silva 10
Key players: Rogerio Da Silva, Mauro Canal, Marco Ercolessi

• On their European bow, Pescara have stormed through, winning all three of their groups with a game to spare and becoming the first team since the current format was introduced to reach the finals from the preliminary round. But they are not short of experience as Fabricio Calderolli, Leandro Cuzzolino and Rogerio Da Silva were all in the Montesilvano squad that won Italy's sole UEFA Futsal Cup title on debut in 2011.

Ugra Yugorsk (RUS)
Finals appearances since 2007
: debut season
Best performance: debut season

Preliminary round: bye
Main round: Kremlin Bicêtre United 5-0, APOEL 4-3, Georgians Tbilisi 3-0 (Group 1 winners)
Elite round: Kairat Almaty 5-2, EP Chrudim 4-1, Győr 5-4 (Group C winners)

Top scorer: Eder Lima 13
Key players: Vladislav Shayakhmetov, Robinho, Eder Lima

• The team from the central Russian city claimed their first league title last summer with victory against former UEFA Futsal Cup winners FC Dynamo to earn a European debut. Their impressive 5-2 defeat of holders Kairat Almaty in their first elite round game was key to their perfect qualification, in which they scored 44 goals. Eder Lima got 13 and leads the way as competition top scorer, just as the Russian international did at UEFA Futsal EURO 2014.