L'Espagne toujours au top

L'Espagne a remporté son troisième Championnat d'Europe de futsal de l'UEFA consécutif après avoir dominé le premier tournoi à 12 équipes en Hongrie.

Javi Rodríguez (Spain) lifts trophy
©Sportsfile

Avec 12 participants au lieu de huit, c'est un Championnat d'Europe de futsal de l'UEFA 2010 new look qui s'est déroulé à Budapest et Debrecen, sur un terrain noir tout neuf. Plusieurs résultats surprise sont à noter, mais une chose ne change pas : l'identité des vainqueurs.

L'Espagne a battu le Portugal 4-2 en finale à Debrecen pour remporter son troisième titre européen consécutif, son cinquième en sept compétitions, après avoir entamé son tournoi par une victoire record 9-1 sur le Belarus. Le Portugal était ensuite battu 6-1, et même si la Russie a poussé les Espagnols jusqu'à l'épreuve des tirs au but en quarts de finale, la République tchèque faisait les frais de l'Espagne 8-1 en demi-finale. En finale, les Espagnols dominaient leur sujet et s'assuraient un nouveau succès. Le gardien de but Luis Amado, Kike, le capitaine Javi Rodríguez, et Daniel remportaient leur quatrième titre. Pour ces deux derniers joueurs, il s'agissait de leur dernière compétition officielle.

Le Portugal s'est qualifié pour la finale pour la première fois malgré quelques difficultés à sortir du Groupe D. Mais les Portugais ont su oublier leurs mauvaises performances et l'absence de Ricardinho pour éliminer la Serbie 5-1 en quarts de finale et l'Azerbaïdjan aux tirs au but en demi-finale.

Les deux demi-finalistes malheureux en ont surpris plus d'un. L'Azerbaïdjan disputait sa première phase finale d'une compétition internationale de l'UEFA, et son équipe pleine de charisme a impressionné, du gardien de but Andrey Tveryankin, 42 ans, aux jeunes talents d'origine brésilienne Biro Jade et Thiago sans oublier le tumultueux mais talentueux pivot Serjão. Les Azéris ont facilement battu la Hongrie et la République tchèque dans le Groupe A, puis ont dominé l'Ukraine aux tirs au but, Tveryankin traversant tout le terrain après son deuxième penalty arrêté. Les Tchèques commençaient par une défaite 6-1 face à l'Azerbaïdjan puis ils battaient la Hongrie 6-5 après avoir été menés 4-0. En quarts de finale, ils éliminaient l'Italie aux tirs au but.

L'Italie et la Russie arrivaient en Hongrie avec l'étiquette d'outsiders mais s'inclinaient en quarts de finale, une première pour les Italiens. Quant aux Hongrois, ils remplissaient la salle de Budapest par deux fois. Lors du match contre la République tchèque, les supporteurs hongrois passaient par tous les états : d'abord la joie, puis la tension, puis le soulagement et enfin le désespoir. Mais les fans ont continué à affluer en nombre dans les salles, signant ainsi un record en terme d'affluence.

Haut

The official website for European football

Spain still reign in new-look finals

Spain secured their third UEFA European Futsal Championship in a row after dominating the first 12-team final tournament in Hungary but the likes of Portugal, Azerbaijan and the Czech Republic ensured some surprises.
by Paul Saffer
from Debrecen
Spain still reign in new-look finals
Spain captain Javi Rodríguez lifts the UEFA European Futsal Championship trophy ©Sportsfile
 

Spain still reign in new-look finals

Spain secured their third UEFA European Futsal Championship in a row after dominating the first 12-team final tournament in Hungary but the likes of Portugal, Azerbaijan and the Czech Republic ensured some surprises.

With 12 rather than eight finalists, stretched across two cities – Budapest and Debrecen – for the first time and a slew of surprise results on the innovative black pitch, it was a new look for the 2010 UEFA European Futsal Championship, which ended on Saturday in Hungary. But one thing remained the same: the identity of the winners.

Spain beat Portugal 4-2 in the Debrecen final to claim their third straight European title, and fifth overall in seven competitions, having begun with a tournament record 9-1 defeat of debutants Belarus. Portugal were then beaten 6-1 and although Russia took them to penalties after a goalless quarter-final, Spain then overcame the Czech Republic 8-1 and in the decider dominated their neighbours for 37 minutes then, after a late scare, ensured another success. Goalkeeper Luis Amado, Kike, captain Javi Rodríguez, and Daniel all were victorious for the fourth time, the latter pair on their farewell appearances.

Portugal made the final for the first time despite scraping through Group D on goal difference by drawing 5-5 with a spirited Belarus before their initial loss to Spain. But they put that unconvincing display, and the injury absence of Ricardinho, behind them when they sailed past Serbia 5-1 and defeated Azerbaijan on penalties before their final reverse.

Both the beaten semi-finalists surprised many people. Azerbaijan were in their first UEFA national-team final tournament but their charismatic team were born to it, from 42-year-old goalkeeper Andrey Tveryankin to Brazilian-born talents like Biro Jade, Thiago and the hefty but skilful pivot Serjão. They topped Hungary and the Czech Republic with ease in Group A then overcame Ukraine on penalties, Tveryankin sprinting the length of the pitch after his second save, at which point Rizvan Farzaliyev still had to convert the winner. The Czech Republic began by losing 6-1 to Azerbaijan and fell 4-0 down to Hungary but rallied for a sensational 6-5 win and then upset Italy on spot-kicks in the quarter-finals.

Italy and Russia came to Hungary tipped as challengers to Spain yet fell in the last eight – the earliest-ever exit for the Azzurri. As for the hosts, Hungary attracted two sell-out crowds in Budapest, in the game against the Czechs sparking joy, then tension, then relief and finally devastation for their fans, who despite that continued to turn out in numbers for a competition record aggregate crowd.

http://www.uefa.com/futsaleuro/history/season=2010/index.html#spain+still+reign+futsal

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA European Futsal Championship logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.