The official website for European football

UEFA Futsal EURO Serbia 2016

Arena Belgrade staged UEFA Futsal EURO 2016 from 2 to 13 February in the Serbian capital.
UEFA Futsal EURO Serbia 2016
A sell-out 11,000 crowd watched the opening game ©Getty Images


Road to the final

UEFA Futsal EURO 2018 comprises of a preliminary round, main round, play-off round and 12-team final tournament played in Slovenia.

Preliminary round
Five groups of four teams each and two of three are played as one-venue mini-tournaments from 23 January to 1 February 2017  The seven group winners progress to the main round.

Main round
The seven progressing sides join the 21 highest-ranked qualifying contenders in seven groups of four teams played as one-venue mini-tournaments between 3 and 12 April 2017. The seven group winners progress to the final tournament, where they join hosts Slovenia, while the seven runners-up and best third-placed team enter the play-offs.

The eight teams are drawn into four pairs to play two-legged ties in September 2017. The four winners complete the final tournament lineup.

Final tournament
The final tournament between 30 January and 10 February 2018 will begin with the 12 contenders draw into four groups of three teams. The top two from each group will progress to the quarter-finals, from where the tournament is a knockout competition.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.

UEFA Futsal EURO Serbia 2016

Arena Belgrade staged UEFA Futsal EURO 2016 from 2 to 13 February in the Serbian capital.

Arena Belgrade in the Serbian capital staged UEFA Futsal EURO 2016 from 2 to 13 February with 11 qualifiers joining the hosts. Spain won the title with Russia second and Kazakhstan third with a record total attendance of more than 111,000 watching the 20 games.

Top group stage goals

Click on results for highlights:
Group stage

Tuesday 2 February
Group A: Serbia 5-1 Slovenia
Group B: Spain 5-2 Hungary
Wednesday 3 February
Group C: Russia 2-1 Kazakhstan
Group D: Italy 3-0 Azerbaijan
Thursday 4 February
Group A: Slovenia 2-6 Portugal
Group B: Hungary 3-6 Ukraine
Friday 5 February
Group C: Kazakhstan 4-2 Croatia
Group D: Azerbaijan 6-5 Czech Republic
Saturday 6 February
Group A: Portugal 1-3 Serbia
Group B: Ukraine 1-4 Spain
Sunday 7 February
Group C: Croatia 2-2 Russia
Group D: Czech Republic 0-7 Italy

Serbia's last-second win

Monday 8 February
QF1: Serbia 2-1 Ukraine
QF2: Portugal 2-6 Spain
Tuesday 9 February
QF3: Russia 6-2 Azerbaijan
QF4: Kazakhstan 5-2 Italy

Spain's final show

Thursday 11 February
SF1: Serbia 2-3 Russia (aet)
SF2: Spain 5-3 Kazakhstan

Finals day
Saturday 13 February
Third-place play-off: Serbia 2-5 Kazakhstan
Final: Russia 3-7 Spain

The decision to award the finals was made at the UEFA Executive Committee meeting in Istanbul in March 2013, as the Football Association of Serbia (FSS) beat off competition from the Bulgarian Football Union (BFS) and the Football Association of the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FFM).

Serbia followed in the footsteps of previous Futsal EURO hosts Belgium (2014), Croatia (2012), Hungary (2010), Portugal (2007), Czech Republic (2005), Italy (2003), Russia (2001) and Spain (the first UEFA European Futsal Championship of 1999 and also the 1996 UEFA European tournament). Slovenia will stage the 2018 finals in Ljubljana.