UEFA.com Team of the Year 2010 open for voting

Fans have until 7 January 2011 to cast vote online

066 – Fans have until 7 January 2011 to cast vote online

Voting for the UEFA.com users' Team of 2010 has opened. The poll, now in its tenth year, gives the users of UEFA.com the chance to select a team of players who have made their mark in European football over the last 12 months.

Sixty players and managers have been nominated for 12 positions, including coach, and the final team will be announced on 19 January 2011 on UEFA.com and in the January issue of Champions, the official UEFA Champions League magazine. The nominees were chosen by UEFA.com staff writers on the basis of their coverage of football throughout Europe on a daily basis. The players were selected for their overall performances either for a European club or national team, or in a UEFA club competition in 2010.

The UEFA.com Team of the Year is not intended as a rival to more established awards, and does not bear the official UEFA imprimatur. Nevertheless, it has already proved hugely popular with fans, and over 16 million votes have been cast in previous polls.

UEFA Champions League winners FC Internazionale Milano lead the nominations with nine players selected as well as former coach José Mourinho. FIFA World Cup winners Spain have eight players plus coach Vicente del Bosque in the running. FC Barcelona captain Carles Puyol, who has featured in five of the last nine Teams of the Year, is again nominated.

But with only six of the 12 winners from 2009 nominated, there is no shortage of new faces as well. In fact, there are 28 first-time nominees on the list, while 25 clubs have players nominated.

UEFA will present a cheque for €100,000 to the captain of the UEFA.com users' Team of the Year, to be donated to the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC). UEFA began its partnership with the ICRC when it started to support its anti-landmine campaign in 1997. This will be fourth time that the ICRC will benefit from the cheque offered by UEFA in relation to the selection of the UEFA.com users Team of the Year. All monies donated have gone to the Score for the Red Cross campaign in support of the ICRC rehabilitation project for landmine victims in Afghanistan, providing them with artificial limbs, physiotherapy and vocational training. The first cheque was handed over to the ICRC by the Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo, followed by the FC Barcelona players Xavi Hernández two years ago and Lionel Messi last year.

Users can vote by accessing http://www.uefa.com/community/teamoftheyear/index.html