Match officials appointed for first four UEFA EURO 2012 matches

Carlos Velasco Carballo to officiate at opening match Poland - Greece

Carlos Velasco Carballo to officiate at opening match Poland - Greece

UEFA today announced the appointments of the officials for the first two of the 31 matches at the forthcoming UEFA EURO 2012. Carlos Velasco Carballo has been appointed to take charge of the UEFA EURO 2012 opening match between tournament host Poland and Greece at the National Stadium in Warsaw on Friday 08 June, kick-off 18.00CET. Howard Webb has been selected to referee the second match of the night between Russia and Czech Republic at the Municipal Stadium Wroclaw, kick-off 20.45CET.

The Netherlands against Denmark at the Metalist Stadium in Kharkiv on Saturday 9 June, kick-off 18.00CET, will be officiated by Damir Skomina. Stéphane Lannoy was appointed to referee the game between Germany and Portugal at the Arena Lviv also on Sunday, kick-off 20.45CET.

The officials for the matches 5-8 will be announced on Thursday 7 June at 09.30CET. Officials for matches 9-12 will be announced on Sunday 10 June at 09.30CET, for matches 13-16 on Tuesday 12 June at 09.30CET, for matches 17-20 on Thursday 14 June at 09.30CET, and for matches 21-24 on Saturday 16 June at 09.30CET. This information will be made available on and on the Media Information System (MIS), which is accessible for all accredited media representatives of UEFA EURO 2012.

In total, 12 referees have been appointed to handle the 31 matches of the final tournament. They will work together with 24 assistant referees and 24 additional assistant referees in teams of the same nationality. After the successful ongoing experiment in the use of additional assistant referees in the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League, for the first time in the history of the UEFA European Football Championship, referees will have added support. This is thanks to a decision by football’s lawmakers, the International Football Association Board (IFAB), to allow the continuation of the experiment.

The referees’ team is joined by four appointed 4th officials, who will only act in this specific function. Additional assistant referees will also act as 4th officials.

During the final tournament any injured referee will be replaced either by the 4th official or by the first additional referee at the match, thanks to a permission granted by the IFAB.

The full list of the referee teams is available on:

Enclosed: Referee appointments for matches 1-4

Date Match Referee Assistant Referee 1 Assistant Referee 2 Additional Assistant Referee 1 Additional Assistant Referee 2 4th Official
8 June POL - GRE  Carlos Velasco Carballo (ESP) Roberto Alonso Fernandez (ESP)  Juan Carlos Yuste Jiménez (ESP)  David Fernandez Borbalan (ESP)  Carlos Clos Gomez (ESP)  Gianluca Rocchi (ITA) 
8 June RUS - CZE  Howard Webb (ENG) Michael Mullarkey (ENG)  Peter Kirkup (ENG)  Martin Atkinson (ENG)  Mark Clattenburg (ENG)  Manuel De Sousa (POR) 
9 June NED - DEN  Damir Skomina (SLO) Primoz Arhar (SLO)  Matej Žunič (SLO)   Matej Jug (SLO)   Slavko Vinčič (SLO) Pavel Kralovec (SLO) 
9 June GER - POR  Stéphane Lannoy (FRA) Frédéric Cano (FRA)  Michael Annonier (FRA)  Fredy Fautrel (FRA)  Ruddy Buquet (FRA)  Marcin Borski (POL)