The official website for European football

Spanish contingent dominate 2012 roll of honour

Published: Monday 31 December 2012, 10.01CET salutes the clubs and national selections who lifted trophies in 2012 in our annual breakdown, with Spain, Chelsea FC and Club Atlético de Madrid taking the top prizes.

rate galleryrate photo
  • loading... features

2015 UEFA tournaments: Winners and highlights
  • 2015 UEFA tournaments: Winners and highlights
  • Šmicer on Czech Republic's EURO '96 near-miss
  • Official WU19 EURO squad of the tournament
  • What Arturo Vidal can bring to Bayern
  • Emotional Jevtić relishes Lech's Basel tie
  • Pick of the 2015 WU19 EURO photos
  • Drogba joins Champions League winners in MLS
  • Southampton: Cradle of the stars
  • The greatest teams of all time: Ajax 1971–73
  • Schweinsteiger set for United adventure
1 of 10
Published: Monday 31 December 2012, 10.01CET

Spanish contingent dominate 2012 roll of honour salutes the clubs and national selections who lifted trophies in 2012 in our annual breakdown, with Spain, Chelsea FC and Club Atlético de Madrid taking the top prizes.

Once more, 2012 was Spain's year, with six of the 11 UEFA competitions held in the last 12 months producing Spanish winners, most notably Vicente del Bosque's side at UEFA EURO 2012 and Club Atlético de Madrid in the UEFA Europa League and UEFA Super Cup.

However, while a group stage exit this time around has taken some of the gloss off their success, Chelsea FC were UEFA Champions League winners – the first new name on the trophy in 15 years since Borussia Dortmund triumphed in the 1996/97 event.

In terms of domestic leagues, 13 teams landed doubles – including Dortmund in Germany, FC Shakhtar Donetsk in Ukraine and promoted PFC Ludogorets Razgrad in Bulgaria. José Mourinho claimed his first championship as Real Madrid CF coach – ensuring he has won titles in all four leagues he has competed in – while Manchester City FC denied neighbours Manchester United FC on the final day of the English campaign, goal difference giving Roberto Mancini's club their first domestic crown since 1967/68.

2012 UEFA competition roll of honour
UEFA EURO 2012SpainItaly
UEFA Champions LeagueChelsea FC (ENG)FC Bayern München (GER)
UEFA Europa LeagueClub Atlético de Madrid (ESP)Athletic Club (ESP)
UEFA Super CupClub Atlético de Madrid (ESP)Chelsea FC (ENG)
FIFA Club World CupSC Corinthians Paulista (BRA)Chelsea FC (ENG)
UEFA European Under-19 ChampionshipSpainGreece
UEFA European Under-17 ChampionshipNetherlandsGermany
FIFA U-20 Women's World CupUnited StatesGermany
UEFA European Women's Under-19 ChampionshipSwedenSpain
FIFA U-17 Women's World CupFranceNorth Korea
UEFA European Women's Under-17 ChampionshipGermanyFrance
FIFA Futsal World CupBrazilSpain
UEFA Futsal EURO 2012SpainRussia
UEFA Futsal CupFC Barcelona (ESP)MFK Dinamo (RUS)
UEFA Women's Champions LeagueOlympique Lyonnais (FRA)1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)
2012 domestic roll of honour
NATLeague championsCup winners
ALBKS SkënderbeuKF Tirana
ANDFC LusitansFC Santa Coloma
ARMno 2012 title – transitional seasonFC Shirak
AUTFC SalzburgFC Salzburg
AZENeftçi PFKBakı FK
BELRSC AnderlechtKSC Lokeren OV
BIHFK ŽeljezničarFK Željezničar
BLR*FC BATE BorisovFC Naftan Novopolotsk
BULPFC Ludogorets RazgradPFC Ludogorets Razgrad
CROGNK Dinamo ZagrebGNK Dinamo Zagreb
CYPAEL Limassol FCAC Omonia
CZEFC Slovan LiberecSK Sigma Olomouc
DENFC NordsjællandFC København
ENGManchester City FCChelsea FC
ESPReal Madrid CFFC Barcelona
EST*JK Nõmme KaljuFC Levadia Tallinn
FIN*HJK HelsinkiFC Honka Espoo
FRAMontpellier Hérault SCOlympique Lyonnais
GEOFC ZestafoniFC Dila Gori
GERBorussia DortmundBorussia Dortmund
GREOlympiacos FCOlympiacos FC
HUNDebreceni VSCDebreceni VSC
IRL*Sligo Rovers FCDerry City FC
ISL*FH HafnarfjördurKR Reykjavík
ISRHapoel Kiryat Shmona FCHapoel Tel-Aviv FC
ITAJuventusSSC Napoli
KAZ*FC Shakhter KaragandyFC Astana
LIEno leagueUSV Eschen/Mauren
LTU*FK EkranasVMFD Žalgiris
LUXF91 DudelangeF91 Dudelange
LVA*FC Daugava DaugavpilsSkonto FC
MOLFC SheriffFC Milsami-Ursidos Orhei
MKDFK VardarFK Renova
MLTValletta FCHibernians FC
MNEFK Budućnost PodgoricaFK Čelik
NEDAFC AjaxPSV Eindhoven
NIRLinfield FCLinfield FC
NOR*Molde FKIL Hødd
POLWKS Śląsk WrocławLegia Warszawa
PORFC PortoA. Académica de Coimbra
ROUCFR 1907 ClujFC Dinamo Bucureşti
RUSFC Zenit St PetersburgFC Rubin Kazan
SRBFK PartizanFK Crvena zvezda
SCOCeltic FCHeart of Midlothian FC
SMRSP Tre PenneSP La Fiorita
SVKMŠK ŽilinaMŠK Žilina
SVNNK MariborNK Maribor
SUIFC Basel 1893FC Basel 1893
SWE*IF Elfsborgno 2012 cup – transitional season
TURGalatasaray AŞFenerbahçe SK
UKRFC Shakhtar DonetskFC Shakhtar Donetsk
WALThe New Saints FCThe New Saints FC

*Summer league

Last updated: 04/12/13 7.38CET

Related information

Team profiles

  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.