The official website for European football

Ronaldo ends Messi reign with Ballon d'Or win

Published: Monday 13 January 2014, 20.00CET
A tearful Cristiano Ronaldo paid tribute to the people behind him after he won the 2013 FIFA Ballon d'Or, beating Lionel Messi and Franck Ribéry to the world crown.
Ronaldo ends Messi reign with Ballon d'Or win
Cristiano Ronaldo (FIFA Ballon d'Or) ©Getty Images features

Europe's youngest top-flight goalscorers
  • Europe's youngest top-flight goalscorers
  • Germany, England enjoy historic Wembley date
  • Guingamp showing gall in Group K
  • The famous UEFA Youth League coaches
  • Players who shone for both Inter and Milan
  • No time for losers: Europe's unbeaten league clubs
  • Masterclass: Petr Čech's goalkeeping guide
  • Ten things you never knew about Dinamo Moskva
  • Germany v Spain: their EURO meetings
  • Pick of the Week of Football
1 of 10
Published: Monday 13 January 2014, 20.00CET

Ronaldo ends Messi reign with Ballon d'Or win

A tearful Cristiano Ronaldo paid tribute to the people behind him after he won the 2013 FIFA Ballon d'Or, beating Lionel Messi and Franck Ribéry to the world crown.

Real Madrid CF and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA Ballon d'Or after he beat Lionel Messi and Franck Ribéry to the world crown.

Ronaldo was runner-up behind four-time winner Messi in 2009, 2011 and 2012 having taken the previous FIFA prize in 2008 (the last European to do so) but would not be denied again after an incredible 12 months. He scored 69 goals in 59 games in all competitions and provided perhaps the standout performance of 2013 with his sensational hat-trick for Portugal against Sweden in the FIFA World Cup play-offs. He also set a new mark of nine goals in a UEFA Champions League group stage.

"First of all I have to say a great thanks to all of my team-mates with the club and the national team," said Ronaldo, fighting back the tears after collecting the award from Pelé. "Without all of their efforts this would not have been possible. I am very happy, it is very difficult to win this award. Everybody that has been involved with me on a personal level I have to thank. My wife, my friends, my son. It is a tremendously emotional moment. All I can say is thank you to everybody that has been involved."

©Getty Images

Jupp Heynckes collects his award

Jupp Heynckes won the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men's Football 2013, seeing off competition from fellow retiree Sir Alex Ferguson and Borussia Dortmund's Jürgen Klopp. Heynckes, of course, masterminded Bayern's incredible 2012/13 campaign, rewriting the record books as the Bavarian outfit claimed the treble, bowing out on a high as he stepped back from coaching. Compatriot Silvia Neid won the women's equivalent, with another German, Nadine Angerer, taking the women's best player award.

"I'm tremendously thankful to be here to pick up this award today," said the 68-year-old Heynckes. "It means a lot to pick up an award right at the end of my career. Normally in team sports it is often difficult to put things together like this. It isn't just down to me this is down to the whole club, Bayern, everybody that has been working with me during this period.

"We have been blessed with world class players and they produced amazing performances. The coaching staff have also lent their weight. I want to thank everybody that has pulled together and helped me to produce this winning team. Maybe ten years ago, I wouldn't even have dreamt of this. I am humbled and happy to be standing here. Thank you very much."

The FIFA Puskás Award for goal of the year was won by Zlatan Ibrahimović for his remarkable 35-metre overhead kick for Sweden against England in November 2012.

The FIFA/FIFPro World XI was also announced:
Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München); Daniel Alves (FC Barcelona), Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München), Thiago Silva (Paris Saint-Germain), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF); Xavi Hernández (FC Barcelona), Andrés Iniesta (FC Barcelona), Franck Ribéry (FC Bayern München); Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Paris Saint-Germain).

Last updated: 14/01/14 0.52CET

Related information

Player profiles
Coach profiles
Team profiles

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.