The official website for European football

Ronaldinho collects world crown

Published: Tuesday 21 December 2004, 0.07CET
FC Barcelona's Brazilian playmaker Ronaldinho has been named the FIFA World Player of the Year in Zurich. features

Kellermann explains Wolfsburg rise
  • Kellermann explains Wolfsburg rise
  • Madrid and Barcelona spurred on by Copa history
  • Unbeaten Sparta aim to go all the way
  • Steaua have to start again
  • Omens against holders in German derby
  • Carney and Potter on Birmingham rise
  • Classic UEFA Champions League semi-finals
  • Gerrard focused on leading Liverpool to glory
  • Valencia confound Basel, Evra strike's gold
  • Quarter-finals: second-leg facts and stats
1 of 10
Published: Tuesday 21 December 2004, 0.07CET

Ronaldinho collects world crown

FC Barcelona's Brazilian playmaker Ronaldinho has been named the FIFA World Player of the Year in Zurich.

FC Barcelona's Brazilian playmaker Ronaldinho has been named FIFA World Player of the Year at the world football governing body's gala awards ceremony in Zurich.

Worldwide poll
The 24-year-old collected 620 points in a poll of 157 national team coaches and 145 international captains from around the world to win the award for the first time. Arsenal FC's French international Thierry Henry was second with 552 points – his second successive year as runner-up – with Ballon D'Or winner Andriy Shevchenko, of AC Milan and Ukraine, third on 253 points.

Ronaldinho thanks
"For me just to be selected and to be here was already an honour," Ronaldinho said. "Of course I have to thank my Barcelona colleagues because I could not have won it without them. I am very happy at Barcelona, I want to be part of a new winning era at the club and I have no plans to go anywhere else."

Illustrious list
In the poll, five points were awarded for a first place nomination, three for second and one for third. Ronaldinho gained 89 first-place votes, Henry 79 and Shevchenko 34. Last year's European Footballer of the Year Juventus FC's Pavel Nedved was fourth, with the 2003 winner Zinedine Zidane fifth.

Fourth Brazilian
Ronaldinho has been an integral part of Barcelona's revival since arriving from Paris Saint-Germain FC, with Frank Rijkaard's side currently nine points clear at the top of the Primera División. He becomes the fourth Brazilian to capture the award since its introduction in 1991 after Romario (1994), three-time winner Ronaldo (1996, 1997 and 2002) and Rivaldo (1999). Remarkably, they all won the award when playing for Barça.

Prinz prize
Germany's Birgit Prinz won women's player of the year, the Presidents' Award went to Haiti for promoting the match for peace against Brazil, and Brazil took the Fair Play award.

Last updated: 21/12/04 11.24CET

Related information

Team profiles

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.