

Union des associations européennes de football

Media Release Date: 22/08/2008

Communiqué aux médias No. 107

**Medien-Mitteilung** 



# UEFA announces Club Football Awards nominees

### Twenty players in contention for UEFA Club Footballer of the Year 2008

UEFA today announced the nominees for the UEFA Club Football Awards to be presented during the UEFA Champions League Group Stage Draw to be held in Monaco on Thursday 28 August at 18:00 CET.

The voting procedure gives the coaches of the 16 teams that reached the knock-out phase of the 2007/08 UEFA Champions League the possibility to cast their votes further to the selection of a shortlist of five players for each position by the UEFA Champions League Technical Observers. The list of nominees is below:

### **UEFA Club Goalkeeper of the Year:**

Manuel Almunia Arsenal FC
Petr Čech Chelsea FC
Manuel Neuer FC Schalke 04
Pepe Reina Liverpool FC

Edwin van der Sar Manchester United FC

## **UEFA Club Defender of the Year:**

Jamie Carragher Liverpool FC

Rio Ferdinand Manchester United FC

Carles Puyol FC Barcelona John Terry Chelsea FC

Nemanja Vidić Manchester United FC

#### **UEFA Club Midfielder of the Year:**

Michael Essien Chelsea FC
Cesc Fàbregas Arsenal FC
Steven Gerrard Liverpool FC
Frank Lampard Chelsea FC

Paul Scholes Manchester United FC

#### **UEFA Club Forward of the Year:**

Didier Drogba Chelsea FC Lionel Messi FC Barcelona

Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United FC Wayne Rooney Manchester United FC

Fernando Torres Liverpool FC

The **UEFA Club Footballer of the Year 2008** is elected by the sixteen coaches from the above pool of twenty nominees.

Route de Genève 46 CH-1260 Nyon 2 Tel. +41 848 04 27 27 Fax +41 22 707 28 38 media@uefa.ch uefa.com

For further information:

UEFA Media Services: ++41 848 04 27 27