The official website for European football

HB Tórshavn

Published: Wednesday 5 January 2011, 13.27CET
Club profile
HB Tórshavn
UEFA president Michel Platini awards HB their gold medals after they won the 2010 Faroese title ©FSF
Published: Wednesday 5 January 2011, 13.27CET

HB Tórshavn

Club profile

Formed: 1904
Nickname: HB

UEFA club competition honours (runners-up in brackets)
• None

Domestic honours (most recent triumph in brackets)
• League title: 21 (2010)
• Faroese Cup: 26 (2004)

• Havnar Bóltfelag – meaning Torshavn ball club – the third oldest football team in the Faroe Islands, were founded in 1904 by a group of 27 enthusiasts; HB's first chairman Mads Andrias Winther was elected to the Faroese Parliament the following year and went on to become Torshavn's first mayor in 1909.

• Friendlies and cup matches were the only action on offer in HB's first decades; the club often took on the crews of foreign ships, while teams of British soldiers provided regular opposition during the second world war when troops were stationed in the islands.

• The first Faroese league was played in 1942, but HB had to wait until 1955 to claim their first title; for good measure, that season they also won the inaugural Faroese Cup, a competition they went on to dominate.

• In the 1960s Jóhan Nielsen set up the club's youth coaching system, which would bear bountiful fruit in the years that followed; Nielsen led HB to eight league titles between 1971 and 1988 as well as 13 cups between 1966 and 1989; since his departure, no coach has managed to win a league title twice with HB.

• After just two further titles in the 1990s, HB returned to their usual imperious form with five crowns in the following decade; they also began a long affair with UEFA club football in 1993, though they have not progressed through a round since their maiden campaign in the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, when they were awarded a 3-0 walkover second-leg victory against Latvia's FK Universitate in their preliminary round tie, securing a 3-1 aggregate win.

Club records
Most appearances: Rúni Nolsøe (344).
Most goals: Uni Arge (180)
Record victory: HB 22-0 Skansin (Faroese Cup, 2 May 1995)
Record defeat: 10-0 twice, most recently v Tromsø IL (UEFA Intertoto Cup, 2 July 1995)

Last updated 31 December 2010

Last updated: 01/03/11 15.24CET

Related information

Team profiles features

France's Griezmann on 2010 Under-19 triumph
  • France's Griezmann on 2010 Under-19 triumph
  • The rise of Leicester and England's Jamie Vardy
  • Manchester City signing İlkay Gündoğan in profile
  • EURO cult heroes: 2012 – Jordi Alba
  • Camille Abily introduces champions Lyon
  • EURO history makers: 2012 - Andrés Iniesta
  • Dickenmann and Bussaglia: Wolfsburg's Lyon link
  • Prêcheur testifies to Lyon success
  • Kellermann aims for Wolfsburg hat-trick
  • Snap shot: Shevchenko rolls back the years
1 of 10