The official website for European football

SL Benfica

Published: Wednesday 1 January 2014, 12.09CET
Club profile
SL Benfica
Benfica's players celebrate with the trophy after winning their first European Champions Clubs' Cup in 1961 ©Hulton Archive
Published: Wednesday 1 January 2014, 12.09CET

SL Benfica

Club profile

Formed: 1904
Nickname: As Águias (The Eagles), Encarnados (The Reds)

UEFA club competition honours (runners-up in brackets)
• European Champion Clubs' Cup: 1961, 1962; (1963), (1965), (1968), (1988), (1990)
• UEFA Cup: (1983)

Domestic honours (most recent triumph in brackets)
• League title: 32 (2010)
• Portuguese Cup: 24 (2004)

• On 28 February 1904, Sport Lisboa e Benfica – originally known as Grupo Sport Lisboa – was founded at a meeting in a Lisbon pharmacy, Farmácia Franco, involving 24 men led by Cosme Damião.

• After winning ten Lisbon regional championships, a first national title arrived at the 15,000-capacity Campo das Amoreiras in 1935/36. Benfica moved to Campo Grande, where on-the-pitch success continued, and then to the Estádio da Luz in 1954.

• Under Hungarian Béla Guttmann the Eagles ended Real Madrid CF's monopoly of the European Champion Clubs' Cup in 1960/61, beating FC Barcelona in the final. The next year they defeated Madrid to retain the trophy, aided by a new young signing from Mozambique: Eusébio.

• With Eusébio and a considerable number of Portuguese internationals in the squad, Benfica monopolised the domestic game in the 1960s, reaching – but losing – another three European Cup finals, in 1963, 1965 and 1968. The Encarnados suffered further European Cup final disappointment in 1988 and 1990 following two more decades of dominance alongside Sporting Clube de Portugal and FC Porto.

• The club earned their 30th Portuguese title in 1993/94 but had to wait 11 years for No31 under Giovanni Trapattoni. By then Benfica were playing at the new Estádio da Luz, rebuilt to stage the UEFA EURO 2004 final. The Eagles made it 32 in the 2009/10 season under Jorge Jesus, ending Porto's four-year monopoly.

* Last updated 19 June 2013

Last updated: 23/01/14 13.31CET

Related information

Team profiles features

Kardemir forge on: Europe's men of steel
  • Kardemir forge on: Europe's men of steel
  • Izmailov, Krasnodar 'want to go as far as possible'
  • The Women's U19 finals in photos
  • Serbia aim to take final step
  • Concentration key to Germany progress
  • See the pick of the pictures from matchday three
  • Nemanja Maksimović: Serbia's man of many parts
  • Drogba's greatest UEFA Champions League hits
  • Ireland's semi-final adventure: behind the scenes
  • Israel travails no problem for Peretz
1 of 10
  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.