Media Release Communiqué aux médias Medien-Mitteilung

Route de Genève 46 Case postale CH-1260 Nyon 2 Tel. +41 22 994 45 59 Fax +41 22 994 37 37 uefa.com info@uefa.com



Date: 29/08/2002 No. 121 - 2002

UEFA name Zinedine Zidane Most Valuable Player of 2001/02

Real Madrid CF pick up four awards during UEFA's annual Gala in Monaco

Real Madrid CF, nine times champion of Europe and the only club to have won the UEFA Champions League on three occasions, took pride of place on the podium during the annual UEFA Gala at which awards were presented to the players selected by UEFA's Technical Group as the top performers in last season's UEFA club competitions.

But German football, which provided the runner-up in both of last season's finals, was also well represented with Oliver Kahn picking up the Best Goalkeeper Award for the fourth consecutive year and his new FC Bayern München team-mate Michael Ballack taking the Best Midfielder Award. Earlier in the evening, Reiner Calmund, the general manager of his former club, Bayer 04 Leverkusen, had been presented with UEFA's Fair Play award.

In other sectors, European champions Real Madrid CF swept the board, with Vicente Del Bosque, the only coach to have won the UEFA Champions League twice with the same club, taking the Best Coach Award, Roberto Carlos winning acclaim as the Best Defender, Raúl being voted Best Forward for the third consecutive season and Zinedine Zidane, scorer of the stunning goal which proved decisive in the Glasgow final, taking the Most Valuable Player award.

Sir Bobby Robson, the current manager of Newcastle United FC, received the UEFA President's Award from Lennart Johansson as recognition for a life-time service to football.

UEFA Gala – Monaco 2002 – Award Winners and Presenters

Award	Winners	Presenters
Trophy Winners UEFA Super Cup 2001 UEFA Cup 2002 UEFA Champions League 2002	Liverpool FC Feyenoord Real Madrid CF	The President
UEFA President's Award	Sir Bobby Robson	The President
UEFA Charity	Cross Cultures Project Anders Levinsen	Gerhard Aigner
UEFA Supporter of the Year	Gordon Sorfleeth Bury FC	Giacinto Facchetti
UEFA Fair Play	Reiner Calmund Bayer 04 Leverkusen	Karl-Heinz Rummenigge
The Magnificent 7	Louis Houdart (France) Viggo B. Larsen (Denmark) Guillaume Patry (Belgium) Hans Riegler (Austria) Dolores 'Lola' Rutes (Spain) Joseph Schembri (Malta) Tage Söhrman (Sweden)	The President
Best Goalkeeper	Oliver Kahn FC Bayern München	Fernando Redondo
Best Defender	Roberto Carlos Real Madrid CF	Frank Rijkaard
Best Midfielder	Michael Ballack Bayer 04 Leverkusen	Lothar Matthäus
Best Forward	Raúl González Real Madrid CF	Allan Simonsen
Best Coach	Vicente Del Bosque Real Madrid CF	Gérard Houllier
Most Valuable Player	Zinedine Zidane Real Madrid CF	Prince Albert Raymond Kopa
The Golden Shoe	Mario Jardel Sporting Clube de Portugal	Jean-Pierre Papin