

Union des associations européennes de football

Media Release Communiqué aux médias **Medien-Mitteilung** 



## uefa.com Team of the Year 2005

No. 002

## A record number of over 1.5 million votes cast

A record number of over 1.5 million votes have been cast in the fifth edition of uefa.com users' Team of the Year 2005 and the resulting selection reflects a dramatic year of European football.

The dream dozen includes five names who were in last year's selection as well as five players appearing in the team for the first time. Two of those newcomers are Liverpool FC players. Steven Gerrard just pipped his England colleague Frank Lampard in a very competitive central midfield poll while Luís Garcia, scorer of five goals in the knockout stage of Liverpool's successful UEFA Champions League campaign, is chosen at right midfield.

Liverpool's final opponents AC Milan have three players in the selection - evergreen fullbacks Cafu and Paolo Maldini and striker Andriy Shevchenko - as do FC Barcelona. Ronaldinho, the FIFA World Player of the Year and the European footballer of the Year, polled 90,295 votes, the highest total for any player as he took over 72% of the vote in the attacking midfielder category. He is joined by club colleagues Carles Puyol, back in the team for the first time since 2002, at centre back and Samuel Eto'o as striker.

José Mourinho was voted in as coach for the third successive year while Chelsea FC also have two players chosen, John Terry the runaway poll topper in the central defender category and Petr Čech as goalkeeper. His compatriot Pavel Nedvěd of Italian champions Juventus FC is chosen in the left midfield section for the third year in a row.

While Nedved completed a notable treble, Thierry Henry narrowly missed out on maintaining his record of being in every team since the awards' inception in 2001. The Arsenal FC striker missed out by just over 1,000 votes or less than 0.4% of the total vote in the forward category.

uefa.com users' Team of 2005: Petr Čech (Chelsea FC), Cafu (AC Milan), John Terry (Chelsea FC), Carles Puyol (FC Barcelona), Paolo Maldini (AC Milan), Luís Garcia (Liverpool FC), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool FC), Ronaldinho (FC Barcelona), Pavel Nedvěd (Juventus FC), Samuel Eto'o (FC Barcelona), Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan). Coach: José Mourinho (Chelsea FC).