

Union des associations européennes de football

Media Release Communiqué aux médias **Medien-Mitteilung**



New UEFA EURO Trophy to be unveiled

No. 007

UEFA EURO 2008™ draw and 2006/07 UEFA European Under-21 draw details

A new trophy, specially commissioned for the UEFA European Football Championship and to be used for the first time at the UEFA EURO 2008™ qualifying draw, will be unveiled to the media and public on Thursday, 26 January, at 15:00 CET, at the Montreux Congress Centre by UEFA President Lennart Johansson, UEFA Chief Executive, Lars-Christer Olsson, and the presidents of the two EURO 2008™ host associations, Ralph Zloczower from the Swiss FA and Friedrich Stickler from the Austrian FA. The next day, the trophy will be on display on the set of the draw.

The new trophy is 18 centimetres higher and two kilos heavier than the original trophy designed by Arthus Bertrand in 1960 and named after Henri Delaunay, former President of the French Football Federation.

The upper part of the trophy remains true to the original, is still made out of sterling silver and retains the same historical name. Its new modern design is the work of Asprey London, who are also responsible for engraving the trophy with the name of the European champions on the back.

Live internet coverage of the UEFA EURO 2008™ qualifying draw in Montreux on Friday 27 January will be broadcast not only by 62 TV stations but also on www.uefa.com where, in addition, all media documents are available for download from the UEFA EURO 2008™ pages, which also contain the first issue of the new UEFA EURO 2008™ newsletter, "INSIDE".

The UEFA EURO 2008™ qualifying draw will be made in accordance with the seedings communicated on 14 October 2005 by UEFA (see Media Release 117). The actual draw will begin at approximately 12:15 CET and will take 16 minutes. Jacques Deschenaux, a popular Swiss TV presenter, will be the master of ceremonies at the draw, under the supervision of UEFA CEO Lars-Christer Olsson, and conducted by Ralph Zloczower and Friedrich Stickler aided by former internationals Andreas Herzog and Stéphane Chapuisat.

Two hours before the UEFA EURO 2008™ qualifying round draw, the draw for the qualifying round of the 2006/07 UEFA European Under-21 Championship will take place at the Raffles Le Montreux Palace. Assisting with the draw will be Dutch coach Marco van Basten.

Finally, the Euro 2008 SA Board of Administration is taking advantage of the gathering in Montreux to take stock of the preparations. The nine-member Board of Administration, chaired by Ralph Zloczower, president of the Swiss FA, will be meeting at the Raffles Le Montreux Palace on 27 January, starting at 15.00 CET.