The official website for European football

Trabzonspor AŞ

Trabzonspor AŞ
Trabzonspor fans celebrate ©Getty Images

Trabzonspor AŞ

Formed: 1967
Nickname: Karadeniz Fırtınası (Black Sea Storm), Bordo-Mavililer (Claret-Blues)

Domestic honours (most recent triumph in brackets)
• League title: 6 (1984)
• Turkish Cup: 8 (2010)

• Trabzonspor's birth came in two stages. First, three local amateur sides – İdmangücü, Karadenizgücü and Martıspor – merged on 21 June 1966 to form the club with a red and white strip chosen as team's colours. However, the new collaboration did not initially include İdmanocağı, one of the city's leading sports clubs. Although the newly-formed entity competed in the second division in 1966/67, İdmanocağı were subsequently included and the club refounded on 2 August 1967, this time sporting a claret and blue kit.

• They played in the Turkish second division until winning the league in 1974 and finished ninth in their first campaign in the top flight. Historic success followed in 1975/76 as Trabzonspor won the Turkish championship, the first time it had not been claimed by one of Istanbul's big three of Galatasaray AŞ, Fenerbahçe SK and Beşiktaş JK. They also picked up the President's Cup and Prime Minister's Cup that same season.

• What followed was a period of unparalleled success under legendary coach Ahmet Suat Özyazıcı. Trabzonspor defended their league title and between 1979 and 1981 they sensationally won three successive championships, putting the Black Sea club among the top teams in the country. Having taken over in 1973, Özyazıcı oversaw the club's promotion and all their national titles bar the last two, in 1981 and 1984. Those triumphs came under Özkan Sümer, who was Trabzonspor president between 2000 and 2003.

• All Trabzonspor's league titles were won with a completely Turkish squad and Özyazıcı still holds the national record as the coach with most domestic trophies due largely to that golden period with the Black Sea club. The title has evaded Trabzonspor since their double-winning campaign of 1984, but they have sought solace in the Turkish Cup, winning it for the eighth time in 2010.

• On the European stage, Trabzonspor have recorded some notable results, especially at home. The likes of Liverpool FC, FC Internazionale Milano and FC Barcelona have all been beaten at the Hüseyin Avni Aker Stadium. Knocking out Olympique Lyonnais and Aston Villa FC in the UEFA Cup in the early 1990s are still considered some of their biggest successes on the European stage.

* Last updated 24 June 2013

Last updated: 23/01/14 14.33CET


The home team is listed first.Last updated: 12/06/2014 15:14 CET

Club record in UEFA competitions

  • Biggest win:
    11/10/2006, Turkey 5-0 Moldova, Frankfurt am Main
    16/10/2002, Turkey 5-0 Liechtenstein, Istanbul
    12/10/1994, Turkey 5-0 Iceland, Istanbul
  • Biggest defeat:
    14/10/1987, England 8-0 Turkey, London
  • Appearances in UEFA European Football Championship: 15
  • Player with most appearances: 38
    Hakan Şükür (TUR)
    Rüştü Reçber (TUR)
  • Top scorers: 22
    Hakan Şükür (TUR)
  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.