The official website for European football

Short list reflects Madrid lustre

Published: Monday 10 November 2003, 22.50CET
Real Madrid CF lead the way in the nominations to succeed Ronaldo as European Footballer of the Year. features

Ten claims to fame: Rapid Wien
  • Ten claims to fame: Rapid Wien
  • Ten claims to fame: Lazio
  • Watch: When Club Brugge fell to Liverpool at Wembley
  • Best Player, reporters' view: Lionel Messi
  • Best Player, reporters' view: Cristiano Ronaldo
  • Best Player, reporters' view: Luis Suárez
  • Sporting-CSKA Moskva: watch their 2005 final
  • What Arturo Vidal can bring to Bayern
  • Emotional Jevtić relishes Lech's Basel tie
  • Drogba joins Champions League winners in MLS
1 of 10
Published: Monday 10 November 2003, 22.50CET

Short list reflects Madrid lustre

Real Madrid CF lead the way in the nominations to succeed Ronaldo as European Footballer of the Year.

Spanish champions Real Madrid CF lead the way in the nominations for this year's European Footballer of the Year award, with eight of their players on the 50-strong short list.

Last season's winner
Last season's Golden Ball winner, Ronaldo, again features among the nominees together with team-mates David Beckham, Iker Casillas, Luís Figo, Raúl González, Roberto Carlos, Michel Salgado and Zinedine Zidane.

Italy and France well-represented
Italian champions Juventus FC have six players nominated while UEFA Champions League holders AC Milan have five on the list. The countries best represented in France Football magazine's poll are France and Italy with nine players each. The winner will be announced next month.

List of nominees:
Pablo Aimar  (Argentina) Valencia CF
Michael Ballack  (Germany) FC Bayern München
David Beckham (England) Real Madrid CF
Gianluigi Buffon (Italy) Juventus FC
Sol Campbell (England) Arsenal FC
Iker Casillas (Spain) Real Madrid CF
Cristian Chivu (Romania) AS Roma
Deco (Portugal) FC Porto
Alessandro Del Piero (Italy) Juventus FC
Dida (Brazil) AC Milan
Giovane Elber (Brazil) Olympique Lyonnais
Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon) RCD Mallorca
Luís Figo (Portugal) Real Madrid CF
Ludovic Giuly (France) AS Monaco FC
Thierry Henry (France) Arsenal FC
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden) AFC Ajax
Filippo Inzaghi (Italy) AC Milan
Oliver Kahn (Germany) FC Bayern München
Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands) FC Barcelona
Jan Koller (Czech Republic) BV Borussia Dortmund,
Darko Kovacevic  (Serbia and Montenegro) Real Sociedad de Fútbol
Henrik Larsson (Sweden) Celtic FC
Roy Makaay (Netherlands) FC Bayern München
Claude Makelele (France) Chelsea FC
Paolo Maldini (Italy) AC Milan
Adrian Mutu  (Romania) Chelsea FC
Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic) Juventus FC
Alessandro Nesta (Italy) AC Milan
Nihat Kahveci (Turkey) Real Sociedad de Fútbol
Michael Owen (England) Liverpool FC
Pauleta (Portugal) Paris Saint-Germain FC
Robert Pires (France) Arsenal FC
Raúl González (Spain) Real Madrid CF
Roberto Carlos (Brazil) Real Madrid CF
Ronaldinho (Brazil) FC Barcelona
Ronaldo (Brazil) Real Madrid CF
Michel Salgado (Spain) Real Madrid CF
Paul Scholes (England) Manchester United FC
Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine) AC Milan
Lilian Thuram (France) Juventus FC
Francesco Toldo (Italy) Internazionale FC
Francesco Totti (Italy) AS Roma
Hatem Trabelsi (Tunisia) AFC Ajax
David Trezeguet (France) Juventus FC
Ruud Van Nistelrooij (Netherlands) Manchester United FC
Patrick Vieira (France) Arsenal FC
Christian Vieri (Italy) Internazionale FC
Sylvain Wiltord (France) Arsenal FC
Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy) Juventus FC
Zinedine Zidane (France) Real Madrid CF

Last updated: 11/11/03 12.43CET

  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The CHAMPIONS LEAGUE and UEFA CHAMPIONS LEAGUE words, the UEFA Champions League logo and trophy and the UEFA Champions League Final logos are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.