Wembley overflowing with final pedigree

With Europe's premier club competition set to return to Wembley Stadium for a record sixth time on 28 May, UEFA.com looks back at the previous finals held at the 'Home of Football'.

The 2010/11 UEFA Champions League final will be held at Wembley Stadium on 28 May as Europe's premier club competition returns to the 'Home of Football' for a record sixth time. This will be the first such showpiece since the venue was rebuilt and, if history is anything to go by, football fans everywhere can look forward to another special occasion. UEFA.com takes a glance back at the previous finals to have lit up the famous London landmark.

20 May 1992
UC Sampdoria 0-1 FC Barcelona (aet)

The last final to be held beneath the old stadium's twin towers was also the last before the dawn of the UEFA Champions League era, but it provided a memorable first for Barcelona as they claimed their maiden European crown. Boasting a blend of local talents such as Josep Guardiola and big-name overseas players including Michael Laudrup and Hristo Stoichkov, the Catalan club nonetheless needed extra time to see off their Italian rivals, who looked to Attilio Lombardo, Roberto Mancini and Gianluca Vialli to carry their threat. Dutch international Ronald Koeman finally broke the deadlock in the 112th minute with a trademark free-kick past Gianluca Pagliuca.

10 May 1978
Liverpool FC 1-0 Club Brugge KV

After clinching the European Champion Clubs' Cup for the first time the previous season, Liverpool became the first English club to successfully defend their title against surprise package Club Brugge. The Belgian side had dispatched the likes of Club Atlético de Madrid and Juventus on their way to the showpiece but they enjoyed few chances in a one-sided encounter, which was decided by Kenny Dalglish's clipped finish over Birger Jensen on 64 minutes. The Scottish forward had been brought in to replace Kevin Keegan the previous summer and he could not have asked for a finer way to cap an excellent inaugural campaign with the Merseyside giants.

2 June 1971
AFC Ajax 2-0 Panathinaikos FC

Hot on the heels of Feyenoord, Ajax became the second side from the Netherlands to reach the European summit and it would prove the first of three consecutive titles for Johan Cruyff and Co. Perfecting the total football philosophy of coach Rinus Michels – in his last season at the club before moving to Barcelona – Ajax overcame Ferenc Puskás's Panathinaikos thanks to a pair of goals 82 minutes apart, with Dick van Dijk showing the way in the opening exchanges and Arie Haan sealing the result close to full time.

29 May 1968
Manchester United FC 4-1 SL Benfica (aet)

Ten years on from the Munich air disaster, United clinched their place in the history books as the first English club to lift the European Cup. Matt Busby's side had failed to win a single away match en route, so it must have come as some comfort that they were pitted against Benfica on relatively familiar soil, even if it took them until Bobby Charlton's 53rd-minute header to open the scoring. Jaime Graça brought the Portuguese side level with 11 minutes remaining, however, and Benfica came close to victory when Eusébio forced Alex Stepney into a late save, a moment they surely regretted when George Best and Brian Kidd struck within the first four minutes of extra time. The last word then fell to Munich survivor Charlton.

22 May 1963
AC Milan 2-1 SL Benfica

Wembley had proved an unlucky venue for Benfica five years earlier as well, when the Lisbon outfit missed out on a third consecutive continental crown to a Milan side determined to take the trophy back to Italy for the first time. The Rossoneri came to London boasting the likes of Gianni Rivera, Cesare Maldini and Giovanni Trapattoni, but the game bore the stamp of Brazilian striker José Altafini, who found the net on 58 and 69 minutes after Eusébio had raised Benfica's hopes with a 19th-minute opener. Altafini's double took his tally in the competition to 14 for the season, US Luxembourg having watched him put eight past them in the opening round.