The official website for European football

Europe's longest domestic winning streaks

Published: Wednesday 13 January 2016, 10.38CET
With Crvena zvezda and Olympiacos on 19 and 17-game winning runs respectively, pays tribute to the teams who were – for a time – seemingly unstoppable.
Europe's longest domestic winning streaks
The goals of Henrik Larsson (right) inspired Celtic to 25 successive victories in 2003/04 ©Getty Images
Published: Wednesday 13 January 2016, 10.38CET

Europe's longest domestic winning streaks

With Crvena zvezda and Olympiacos on 19 and 17-game winning runs respectively, pays tribute to the teams who were – for a time – seemingly unstoppable.

29 games – Benfica (Portugal) 197173
Benfica's European record winning sequence started at the end of one title-winning season and continued well into the next, with the Eagles lifting the 1972/73 crown without losing – a first in Portugal. English coach Jimmy Hagan played his part, as Eusébio recalled: "He liked discipline. The players thought his training sessions were really hard, but the team soon began to win matches and we knew it was worth it. He gave us extra strength and that was the reason we won three straight championships."

28 – Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia) 200607
Eduardo, Luka Modrić and Vedran Ćorluka were key contributors to Dinamo's dazzling run in Croatia, heralded by a 5-1 triumph over Istra in November 2006 and halted by a 4-3 defeat at Varteks (now Varaždin) in September 2007. On the eve of the latter fixture, coach Branko Ivanković said: "We have a great side. We are going to win our 29th game in a row and equal Benfica's record so that this Dinamo generation get a place in world football history." So close, but ultimately so far.

Your favourite Celtic moments

25 – Celtic (Scotland) 200304
Celtic attained a new British milestone of 25 consecutive league victories between August 2003 and February 2004, scoring 86 goals in the process, as Martin O'Neill's men completed a Scottish domestic double in Henrik Larsson's final campaign in Glasgow. "We would go on these runs and look to every game as one we could win," former defender Johan Mjällby remembered. "Once a team starts winning it's hard to stop them."

25 – Dinamo Tirana (Albania) 1951–52
Dinamo's hot streak came in the midst of their four successive championship triumphs from 1950, the year of their formation, to 1953. It started against Puna on 18 April 1951, week 17 of the season, and finished on 1 June the following year when they drew 0-0 with the same opponents. With 18 league titles, Dinamo remain Albania's second most successful club but they have been in the second tier since relegation in 2011/12.

23 – Malmö (Sweden) 1949–50
After sealing the 1948/49 Swedish crown with five straight victories at the end of the season, Malmö picked up the pace the following campaign with a 2-0 opening-round success at Elfsborg on 31 July 1949. They would not drop a point until being held 3-3 at AIK on 14 May 1950.

©Getty Images

22 – PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands) 198788
Having revved up with wins in their last five outings of 1986/87, PSV proved unstoppable in the next term despite losing Ruud Gullit that summer. Hans van Breukelen, Ronald Koeman, Eric Gerets, Berry van Aerle, Jan Heintze, Ivan Nielsen, Søren Lerby, Gerald Vanenburg, Wim Kieft and veteran Willy van de Kerkhof shone under debutant coach Guus Hiddink. A 2-2 draw with Twente on 16 January 1988 curtailed the run, yet PSV comfortably claimed a domestic double and landed the European Cup for good measure.

19 – Crvena zvezda (Serbia) 2015*
19 – Bayern München (Germany) 2013–14
18 – FH (Iceland) 200405
17 – Olympiacos (Greece) 200506, 201516*
17 – Steaua Bucureşti (Romania) 1988
17 – Dinamo Bucureşti (Romania) 1988
17 – Internazionale Milano (Italy) 200607
16 – Valur Reykjavík (Iceland) 1978
16 – Barcelona (Spain) 201011
15 – Benfica (Portugal) 1963
15 – Real Madrid (Spain) 196061
15 – Sparta Praha (Czech Republic) 19992000
15 – Bangor City (Wales) 2010


Last updated: 13/01/16 12.52CET