Champions League winners have their say

With social media abuzz with talk of the 2013/14 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award, Luis García, Pierre van Hooijdonk and Dietmar Hamann got in touch with their winners.


When Manuel Neuer, Arjen Robben and Cristiano Ronaldo were named on the final shortlist for the 2013/14 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award, football fans from across the globe put forward their cases on Twitter.

Meanwhile, FC Porto keeper Andrés Fernández was one of the first notable names who contributed to the conversation using #BPIE via @ChampionsLeague – the competition's official Twitter page which houses over 5.6 million followers.

This week, Dietmar Hamann and Luis García, part of Liverpool FC's 2005 UEFA Champions League-winning side and Pierre van Hooijdonk, who lifted the UEFA Cup in 2002 with Feyenoord, got in touch with their selections. While the ex-Dutch international plumped for Ronaldo, Hamann and García could not see past FC Bayern München and Germany No1 Neuer.

The winner will be announced ahead of Thursday's 2014/15 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco from 17.45CET.