Celtic profit from Barça triumph

FC Barcelona's victory in Paris means all 16 automatic qualifiers for next season's group stage are now known - with Celtic FC taking the last remaining berth.

FC Barcelona's victory in the UEFA Champions League final means all 16 automatic qualifiers for next season's group stage are known - with Celtic FC taking the last remaining berth.

Celtic shot
Had Arsenal FC taken the European crown, they would have been exempt from qualifying as holders. However, having finished fourth in England they must now enter the third qualifying round, and since Barcelona as Spanish champions already had a group-stage place, Scottish title-winners Celtic will grab the spare slot due to their nation's co-efficient - which will mean no repeat of the Glasgow club's qualifying defeat by FC Artmedia last summer.

Trio get byes
Barcelona's triumph is also good news for three other teams. As the holders had already booked their ticket through their domestic league, Israeli champions Maccabi Haifa FC enter the third qualifying round, with Sweden's Djurgårdens IF and the eventual Slovakian title-winners going into the second qualifying round, all one stage further than would have been the case.

Madrid relief
Real Madrid CF made sure of an automatic group-stage berth on Tuesday by pipping Valencia CF to second position in Spain. Valencia will be joined in the third qualifying round by CA Osasuna, who secured their first participation in Europe's premier club competition by beating UEFA Cup winners Sevilla FC to fourth spot.

Group stage contenders
The other sides already scheduled to be in August's group-stage draw along with Barcelona, Madrid and Celtic are: Chelsea FC, Manchester United FC, Juventus, AC Milan, Olympique Lyonnais, FC Girondins de Bordeaux, FC Bayern München, Werder Bremen, FC Porto, Sporting Clube de Portugal, PSV Eindoven, Olympiacos CFP and RSC Anderlecht. Of the 57 teams to take part in qualifying, five are yet to be confirmed as league title races are still on in Bulgaria, Hungary, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Provisional access list - 2006/07 UEFA Champions League
Teams in bold already confirmed in position
IOC Stage Club
ESP Grp FC Barcelona (holders)
ESP Grp Real Madrid CF
ESP Q3 Valencia CF
ESP Q3 CA Osasuna
ENG Grp Chelsea FC
ENG Grp Manchester United FC
ENG Q3 Liverpool FC
ENG Q3 Arsenal FC
ITA Grp Juventus
ITA Grp AC Milan
ITA Q3 FC Internazionale Milano
ITA Q3 ACF Fiorentina
FRA Grp Olympique Lyonnais
FRA Grp FC Girondins de Bordeaux
FRA Q3 LOSC Lille Métropole
GER Grp FC Bayern München
GER Grp Werder Bremen
GER Q3 Hamburger SV
POR Grp FC Porto
POR Grp Sporting Clube de Portugal
POR Q3 SL Benfica
NED Grp PSV Eindhoven
GRE Grp Olympiacos CFP
GRE Q3 AEK Athens FC
BEL Grp RSC Anderlecht
BEL Q3 R. Standard de Liège
SCO Grp Celtic FC
SCO Q2 Heart of Midlothian FC
TUR Q3 Galatasaray SK
TUR Q2 Fenerbahçe SK
CZE Q3 FC Slovan Liberec
CZE Q2 FK Mladá Boleslav
RUS Q2 FC Spartak Moskva
AUT Q3 FK Austria Wien
AUT Q2 SV Austria Salzburg
UKR Q3 FC Shakhtar Donetsk
UKR Q2 FC Dynamo Kyiv
ISR Q3 Maccabi Haifa FC
SCG Q2 FK Crvena Zvezda
POL Q2 Legia Warszawa
SUI Q2 FC Zürich
NOR Q2 Vålerenga IF
BUL Q2 PFC Levski Sofia
CRO Q2 NK Dinamo Zagreb
DEN Q2 FC København
HUN Q2 Újpesti TE
ROU Q2 FC Sportul Studentesc
SWE Q2 Djurgårdens IF
SVK Q2 MFK Ružomberok
SLO Q1 NK Gorica
CYP Q1 Apollon Limassol FC
BIH Q1 NK Široki Brijeg
LAT Q1 FHK Liepajas Metalurgs
FIN Q1 Myllykosken Pallo-47
MOL Q1 FC Sheriff
GEO Q1 FC Sioni Bolnisi
LIT Q1 FK Ekranas
ISL Q1 FH Hafnarfjördur
MKD Q1 FK Rabotnicki
IRL Q1 Cork City FC
BLS Q1 FC Shakhtyor Soligorsk
ARM Q1 FC Pyunik
MLT Q1 Birkirkara FC
ALB Q1 KS Elbasani
EST Q1 FC TVMK Tallinn
NIR Q1 Linfield FC
WAL Q1 Total Network Solutions FC
LUX Q1 F91 Dudelange
AZE Q1 FK Baku
FAR Q1 B36 Tórshavn
KAZ Q1 FK Aktobe