All times CET

First qualifying round : 3 July 2012

3 July 2012
Dudelange7-0Tre Penne
Referee: Alan Mario Sant (MLT) – Stadium: Jos Nosbaum, Dudelange (LUX)
04/18/2013 17:09:01
Referee: Johnny Casanova (SMR) – Stadium: Hibernians Ground, Corradino (MLT)
11/30/2012 14:27:00
Referee: Wim Smet (BEL) – Stadium: Windsor Park, Belfast (NIR)
11/30/2012 14:27:00

First qualifying round : 10 July 2012

10 July 2012
Aggregate: 0-0 Linfield 4-3 win on penalties
Referee: Suren Baliyan (ARM) – Stadium: Gundadalur, Torshavn (FRO)
11/30/2012 14:27:00
Aggregate: 0-9
Referee: Huw Jones (WAL) – Stadium: Estadi Comunal, Andorra la Vella (AND)
11/30/2012 14:27:00
Tre Penne0-4Dudelange
Aggregate: 0-11
Referee: Thorvaldur Árnason (ISL) – Stadium: Stadio Olimpico, Serravalle (SMR)
11/30/2012 14:27:00

Last updated: 01/04/2015 15:18 CET


Road to the final

The UEFA Champions League comprises three qualifying rounds, a play-off round, a group stage and four knockout rounds.

In matches in the three qualifying rounds and the play-off stage, clubs play two matches against each other on a home-and-away basis. The club which scores the greater aggregate of goals qualifies for the next round, with away goals and then penalties used to determine the winner in the event of a draw.

Group stage
The ten winners in the play-off round ties – five from the best-placed path and five from the champions path – join 22 automatic entrants in the 32-team group stage. The clubs are split into eight groups of four teams, who play home and away against each of their pool opponents between September and December to decide which two teams from each section advance to the first knockout round. The third-place finishers in each group enter the UEFA Europa League round of 32.

Knockout phase
From the last 16 until the semi-finals, clubs play two matches against each other on a home-and-away basis with the same rules as the qualifying and play-off rounds applied. In the last 16, group winners play runners-up other than teams from their own pool or nation, while from the quarter-finals on the draw is free.

The final is decided by a single match, which this season will be played at Wembley Stadium on Saturday 25 May 2013.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.

  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The CHAMPIONS LEAGUE and UEFA CHAMPIONS LEAGUE words, the UEFA Champions League logo and trophy and the UEFA Champions League Final logos are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.