The official website for European football

SL Benfica

SL Benfica
Benfica's players celebrate with the trophy after winning their first European Champions Clubs' Cup in 1961 ©Hulton Archive

SL Benfica

Formed: 1904
Nickname: As Águias (The Eagles), Encarnados (The Reds)

UEFA club competition honours (runners-up in brackets)
• European Champion Clubs' Cup: 1961, 1962; (1963), (1965), (1968), (1988), (1990)
• UEFA Cup: (1983)

Domestic honours (most recent triumph in brackets)
• League title: 32 (2010)
• Portuguese Cup: 24 (2004)

• On 28 February 1904, Sport Lisboa e Benfica – originally known as Grupo Sport Lisboa – was founded at a meeting in a Lisbon pharmacy, Farmácia Franco, involving 24 men led by Cosme Damião.

• After winning ten Lisbon regional championships, a first national title arrived at the 15,000-capacity Campo das Amoreiras in 1935/36. Benfica moved to Campo Grande, where on-the-pitch success continued, and then to the Estádio da Luz in 1954.

• Under Hungarian Béla Guttmann the Eagles ended Real Madrid CF's monopoly of the European Champion Clubs' Cup in 1960/61, beating FC Barcelona in the final. The next year they defeated Madrid to retain the trophy, aided by a new young signing from Mozambique: Eusébio.

• With Eusébio and a considerable number of Portuguese internationals in the squad, Benfica monopolised the domestic game in the 1960s, reaching – but losing – another three European Cup finals, in 1963, 1965 and 1968. The Encarnados suffered further European Cup final disappointment in 1988 and 1990 following two more decades of dominance alongside Sporting Clube de Portugal and FC Porto.

• The club earned their 30th Portuguese title in 1993/94 but had to wait eleven years for No31 under Giovanni Trapattoni. By then Benfica were playing at the new Estádio da Luz, rebuilt to stage the UEFA EURO 2004 final. The Eagles made it 32 in the 2009/10 season under Jorge Jesus, ending Porto's four-year monopoly.

Club records
Most appearances: Nené (802)
Most goals: Eusébio (638)
Record victory: Benfica 13-1 AD Sanjoanense (Primeira Divisão, 27 April 1947)
Record defeat: Sporting Clube de Portugal 7-1 Benfica (Primeira Divisão, 14 December 1986)

* Last updated 10 June 2010

Last updated: 24/01/11 11.17CET


Trophy cabinet

Club record in UEFA competitions

  • Biggest win:
    05/10/1965, Benfica 10-0 Stade Dudelange, Lisbon
  • Biggest defeat:
    25/11/1999, Celta 7-0 Benfica, Vigo
  • Appearances in UEFA Champions League:  34
  • Appearances in UEFA Cup Winners' Cup:  7
  • Appearances in EUSA Cup:  2
  • Appearances in UEFA Europa League:  19
  • Player with most UEFA appearances: 93
    Luisão (  BRA)
  • Top scorers in UEFA club competitions: 56
    Eusébio (  POR)
  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The CHAMPIONS LEAGUE and UEFA CHAMPIONS LEAGUE words, the UEFA Champions League logo and trophy and the UEFA Champions League Final logos are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.