Лисий дух

"Любая другая команда опустила бы руки после нашего гола". Вместе с Диего Годином UEFA.com отдает дань уважения "Лестеру" и его первому сезону в Лиге чемпионов.

©AFP/Getty Images

"Покидаем турнир с высоко поднятой головой", - сказал капитан "Лестера" Уэс Морган. Если и существует достойный способ вылететь из плей-офф, то чемпион Англии его нашел.

К середине первого тайма ответного матча "Лестер" проигрывал с общим счетом 0:2. Казалось бы, чего упираться, но "лисы" не из тех, кто сдается на милость соперника. Во второй половине они ошеломили "Атлетико" и подарили трибунам надежду на продолжение сказки, пока финальный свисток не оборвал дебютный сезон "Лестера" в Лиге чемпионов УЕФА.

Встряска для "Атлетико"
Если бы защита гостей несколько раз не выручала вратаря в последний момент, "Лестер" мог рассчитывать на большее, чем гол Джейми Варди. Рослый нападающий Леонардо Ульоа объяснил, почему тренер "Лестера" Крейг Шекспир выпустил его с крайним защитником Бенджамином Чилвеллом во втором тайме и переключился на схему 3-4-3.

"Мы уступали, и он попросил нас смелее идти вперед и выигрывать подборы, чтобы приблизиться к чужой штрафной", - сказал аргентинец. "Мы должны были заиграть агрессивнее, выпустить рослого игрока и забрасывать на него мячи. Команда превосходно справилась с этой задачей, но забить трижды не смогла", - добавил вингер Марк Олбрайтон.

Лестер - Атлетико 1:1
Лестер - Атлетико 1:1

Конец сказки
"Жаль, что путешествие заканчивается", - добавил Олбрайтон. Приключения начались, наверное, даже не 14 сентября в Брюгге, где Олбрайтон забил первый гол "лис" в этом еврокубковом сезоне, а восемь лет назад, когда "Лестер" вышел в первый дивизион. После фантастического прошлогоднего триумфа в премьер-лиге "Лестер" покорил новую высоту: достойно выступил в Европе, заняв первое место в группе G, выбил "Севилью", запомнился подвигами Каспера Шмейхеля и Варди, который терроризировал защитников, пока датчанин героически отбивал пенальти.

Гордость и хвала
Легко понять гордость Дэнни Дринкуотера, стоявшего в микст-зоне с футболкой "Атлетико" в руках. "Можем гордиться тем, как выступили и как далеко прошли, - сказал полузащитник. - С ума сойти! Пять лет назад мы и близко не были к тому, чего достигли. Это было необыкновенное путешествие. Теперь игроки вошли во вкус, мы хотим еще. Надеюсь, в следующем сезоне мы поднажмем и вернемся в Лигу чемпионов".

Если не верится, спросите, что думает Диего Годин. Как и Диего Симеоне, он жал руки игрокам "Лестера" и аплодировал английским болельщикам. "Любая другая команда опустила бы руки после нашего гола, но "Лестер" во втором тайме поступил с точностью до наоборот, - отметил уругваец бойцовский характер "лис". - Игроки "Лестера" излучали уверенность и верили до самого конца".

Leicester bow out with heads held high

"Any other team, after our goal, would have let their heads drop," said Diego Godín after Atlético just about ended Leicester's adventure; UEFA.com's Simon Hart celebrates the Foxes' adventure.

Jamie Vardy of Leicester applauds the fans at the end of their UEFA Champions League quarter-final second leg against Atlético
Jamie Vardy of Leicester applauds the fans at the end of their UEFA Champions League quarter-final second leg against Atlético ©AFP/Getty Images

"We can leave the competition with our heads held high," said Leicester City captain Wes Morgan. If there is a right way to lose, his team found it last night.

Midway through their quarter-final second leg against Atlético Madrid, 2-0 behind on aggregate, the Foxes had appeared set for a meek exit but this Leicester are not a team for doing things by halves, not with their full-throttle football on the field and pre-match fervour off it. Hence the second-half resurgence which rattled Atleti and raised hopes of one more pinch-me moment before the final whistle sounded on a highly impressive debut UEFA Champions League campaign.

How they shook Simeone's men
But for some last-ditch blocks by Atlético defenders, Leicester might have had more than Jamie Vardy's goal to show for their fightback, and towering striker Leo Ulloa explained the half-time change that brought himself and wing-back Ben Chilwell on to the field in a switch to a 3-4-3. "With us a goal down, [manager Craig Shakespeare] wanted us to go direct and look for second balls so we could get closer to their box," said the Argentinian. Winger Marc Albrighton added: "We had to be more aggressive and had to put the big man on and get the ball up to him, and we did that fantastically, but just couldn't get the ball in the net the three times we needed."

Griezmann: We had to dig deep
Griezmann: We had to dig deep

Journey’s end
"It's sad that the journey stops here," added Albrighton and, in Leicester's case, it really has been a journey. Not just from Bruges, where on 14 September Albrighton struck the first goal of this European adventure, but from English football's third division, from which Leicester had won promotion eight years ago yesterday. After last term's Premier League title-winning exploits, this group of players created a new set of memories in Europe by topping Group G and then beating Sevilla – creating memories of Kasper Schmeichel saving penalties at one end, and Jamie Vardy terrorising defenders at the other.

Pride and praise
Hence Danny Drinkwater’s sense of pride as he stood in the mixed zone afterwards, with an Atlético shirt in his hand. "We can be proud of the performance and how far we've got in the tournament," said the midfielder. "It's been crazy. Five years ago we were nowhere near where we are now. Talking about journeys, it's a bit special. Now the players have had a taste, it creates a new hunger for the team. Hopefully we can push on next season to get [back] in the Champions League."

If that sounds far-fetched, you write Leicester off at your peril, as Diego Godín was only too happy to vouch. Like his manager, Diego Simeone, who shook Leicester players' hands and applauded the home crowd at the finish, the Uruguayan defender praised the Foxes' spirit. "Any other team, after our goal, would have let their heads drop but in the second half Leicester were the complete opposite of that. They showed real conviction and believed until the end." Didn't they just.