The official website for European football





UEFA and the French Football Federation (FFF) have created a joint venture, EURO 2016 SAS, which is chaired by Jacques Lambert, the chief executive of the 1998 FIFA World Cup organising committee. He was director general at the FFF between 2005 and 2010.

©Getty Images

The steering committee pictured in Lyon in 2015

EURO 2016 SAS is responsible for all operational aspects of the final tournament. This new organisational model gathers, under the same umbrella, UEFA EURO 2016 activities that in the past would have been split between UEFA and the local organising committee(s). All competition matters and commercial rights, such as media and marketing rights, remain under UEFA's control.

EURO 2016 SAS was founded in January 2011 under French law and registered in Paris. The company is owned by UEFA (a 95% share) and the FFF (5%). Several times a year, a steering group meeting will take place bringing together the key stakeholders in the planning of the tournament – UEFA, FFF, French government and host cities – to deal with strategic or sensitive issues connected with preparations for the event.

The eight-member steering group consists:
Jacques Lambert (chairman)
Noël Le Graët (FFF President)
Patrick Kanner (French town, youth and sports minister and government representative)
Alain Juppé (host cities' representative)
Borislav Mihaylov (UEFA Executive Committee member)
Peter Gilliéron (UEFA Executive Committee member)
Gianni Infantino (UEFA general secretary)
Fernando Gomes (UEFA special advisor to the confederations)

Michel Platini, the UEFA President, will regularly take part in the meetings and work of the steering group.

EURO 2016 SAS takes care of the implementation of the tournament and its associated events, handles private safety and security, and promotes the competition.

The French government and local authorities provide the stage, infrastructure, public services and transport. They are also in charge of public safety and security, and handle promotion of the country and the host cities.

Last updated: 09/06/15 2.09CET

Related information

Member associations