EURO 1980 team of the tournament

From the archives: Hosts Italy provide the bulk of the defence and winners West Germany an attack led by Horst Hrubesch in a 1980 select XI dominated by two sides.

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (EURO 1980)

GK: Dino Zoff (Italy)
Dino Zoff (Italy) ©UEFA.comTwelve years after winning the UEFA European Championship on home soil, Zoff was still in goal for the hosts in 1980. Although Italy failed to reach the final this time, Zoff did not concede until a long-range missile from Czechoslovakia's Ladislav Jurkemík in the third-place play-off. Two years later, aged 40, he would make history by captaining the Azzurri to FIFA World Cup victory, becoming the oldest winner in the process. The custodian, whose 11-year spell at Juventus ended with defeat by Hamburg in the 1983 European Champion Clubs' Cup final, won 112 caps before moving into coaching, leading Italy to runners-up at UEFA EURO 2000.

DF: Claudio Gentile (Italy)
Claudio Gentile (EURO 1980) ©Getty ImagesAn uncompromising defender who shackled Diego Maradona and Zico at the 1982 World Cup, Gentile warmed up for that triumphant tournament by helping Italy to clean sheets in all three group games at the 1980 UEFA European Championship. He snuffed out the threat of Ballon d'Or holder Kevin Keegan, among others. From 1973–84 Gentile, who for all his physical play was never sent off, made 283 Serie A appearances for Juventus and won six Serie A titles. Capped 71 times, he coached the Azzurrini to glory at the 2004 UEFA European Under-21 Championship.

DF: Gaetano Scirea (Italy)
Gaetano Scirea ©Bob Thomas/Getty Images A peerless defender of calm authority, Scirea was as brilliant for Italy at the 1980 UEFA European Championship as he would be two years later helping the Azzurri triumph at the 1982 World Cup. His elegant displays in the libero role recalled Franz Beckenbauer. Scirea, who ended his international career after winning his 78th cap in 1986 at his third World Cup, won all three major European club trophies plus seven Serie A titles during a 14-year stint at Juventus. Tragically, he was killed in a car crash in Poland aged 36 while scouting for the Bianconeri.

DF: Karlheinz Förster (West Germany)
Karlheinz Förster ©Getty ImagesThe younger of two brothers in West Germany's winning squad, Karlheinz outshone sibling Bernd throughout a career that brought recognition as one of the world's most irrepressible central defenders. Aged 21, Förster neutralised Belgian dangerman Jan Ceulemans in the 1980 final to round off an exceptional championship. He accumulated 81 caps, twice finishing a World Cup runner-up. A Bundesliga champion with Stuttgart in 1984, Förster left for Marseille in 1986 and retired in style after winning the French double in 1990.

DF: Hans-Peter Briegel (West Germany)
Hans-Peter Briegel (EURO 1980) ©Getty ImagesThe 1980 UEFA European Championship was the coming-of-age of this former decathlete, who went on to amass 72 caps and finish runner-up in two World Cups. Briegel played every game of the 1980 tournament and was badly missed after going off injured in the second half of the final. He returned to Italy four years later, when, after a decade at Kaiserslautern, he helped Verona win the Scudetto and became the first foreign-based player to be voted German Footballer of the Year. Briegel coached Albania from 2002 to 2006.

MF: Marco Tardelli (Italy)
Marco Tardelli ©Getty ImagesThe abiding image of Tardelli is his wild-eyed, head-shaking celebration after scoring Italy's second goal in their 1982 FIFA World Cup final victory. It was not the first big goal the dynamic midfielder had scored for the Azzurri. Two years earlier he plundered Italy's only goal in the UEFA European Championship group stage – the late winner against England. It came on Tardelli's home ground, Turin's Stadio Comunale, where he spent a decade winning silverware for Juventus, including the 1985 European Champion Clubs' Cup, before moving to Internazionale Milano. He later coached Inter and Italy Under-21s.

MF: Jan Ceulemans (Belgium)
Jan Ceulemans (EURO 1980) ©Getty ImagesCeulemans won a national record 96 caps between 1977 and 1990, scoring 23 goals. An attacking midfielder who could also play as a conventional striker, he filled the latter role at the 1980 UEFA European Championship and his muscular play caused problems for every defender he faced bar West Germany's Karlheinz Förster, who got the better of him in the final. Ceulemans scored one goal at the finals, against England, but was Belgium's standout performer throughout. Although the 1984 tournament was a disappointment, the Club Brugge stalwart played in three World Cups, captaining Belgium to the semi-finals in 1986.

MF: Bernd Schuster (West Germany)
Bernd Schuster (EURO 1980) ©Getty ImagesThis prodigious 20-year-old played only two of West Germany's four matches in 1980, against the Netherlands and Belgium, but the dazzling blond midfielder shone in both. Schuster's exploits secured him a move from Köln to Barcelona and second place in the European Footballer of the Year poll. This was the only major international tournament in which he played, injury ruling him out of the 1982 World Cup before he retired from the international game at 24. Schuster won the 1985 Spanish title with Barcelona and lifted two championships at Real Madrid, where he briefly returned as coach in July 2007 after leading Getafe into Europe.

MF: Hansi Müller (West Germany)
Hansi Müller (EURO 1980) ©Getty ImagesAn elegant midfield playmaker with a sweet left foot, Müller was the rising star of the Bundesliga with Stuttgart when he went to the 1980 European finals, aged 22. He had had a brief taste of action at the 1978 World Cup and fulfilled his potential at the tournament in Italy, starting all four games and decorating the team's play with his clever passing. EURO '80 would be Müller's international peak; he disappointed at the 1982 World Cup and, after a stint at Internazionale Milano, won his 42nd and final cap the following year. An Indian summer to his career ensued with Tirol Innsbruck. He was an ambassador for the city at UEFA EURO 2008.

FW: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (West Germany)
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (West Germany) ©Getty ImagesRummenigge went into the 1980 UEFA European Championship with a big reputation having topped the Bundesliga scoring charts with 26 goals in winning the title with Bayern München. He lived up to it, punctuating a series of powerful performances with the decisive goal against Czechoslovakia and providing the corner for Horst Hrubesch's late winner in the final. Rummenigge was voted 1980 European Footballer of the Year and retained the Ballon d'Or in 1981 after another top-scoring, title-winning campaign with Bayern. He scored 45 goals in 95 internationals, the last of which came in the 1986 World Cup final, and is now a senior football executive at Bayern.

FW: Horst Hrubesch (West Germany)
Horst Hrubesch (EURO 1980) ©Getty ImagesWest Germany's match-winner in the 1980 UEFA European Championship final against Belgium, Hrubesch scored twice in Rome, his second a trademark bullet header on 89 minutes. It brought glorious redemption for the Hamburg forward, who weeks earlier had hobbled around the Santiago Bernabéu with an ankle injury as his side lost the European Cup final to Nottingham Forest. A latecomer to the international scene, the 'The Heading Monster' was only called up after Klaus Fischer broke a leg and would win just 21 caps. A three-time Bundesliga champion, he captained Hamburg to European Cup success against Juventus in 1983.