Официальный сайт европейского футбола

1964: Испанское "гостеприимство"

Благодаря поддержке родных стен и слаженной командной игре испанцы отобрали чемпионскую корону у сборной СССР.

rate galleryrate photo

1964: Испанское "гостеприимство"

Благодаря поддержке родных стен и слаженной командной игре испанцы отобрали чемпионскую корону у сборной СССР.

Преимущество своего поля и командный дух помогли сборной Испании отпраздновать триумф на домашнем чемпионате Европы в 1964 году.

Во второй раз подряд континентальное первенство проводилось по олимпийской системе, а в финальную стадию выходили четыре команды. Число участников выросло с 17 до 29, причем в борьбу теперь включились также сборные Италии и Англии.

Англичане, проводившие первые матчи под руководством Алфреда Рэмзи, уступили с общим счетом 3:6 сборной Франции. Во второй раз подряд турниру сопутствовали политические конфликты. Греки были дисквалифицированы за то, что отказались играть с Албанией, с которой официально находились в состоянии войны.

Албанцы автоматически вышли в 1/8 финала, где проиграли датчанам с общим счетом 1:4. Скандинавы на этом не остановились, пробившись в полуфинал благодаря победе над Люксембургом. В трех поединках с люксембуржцами датский форвард Оле Мадсен забил шесть мячей. Ранее сборная Люксембурга в Роттердаме взяла верх над голландцами со счетом 2:1. Это была последняя выездная победа команды над европейским соперником до 1995 года.

Венгры одолели Францию и вышли в полуфинал, куда также попали команды Испании и СССР. Особенно хороши были испанцы, которые в 1/4 финала разгромили сборную Ирландии с общим счетом 7:1.

За четыре года до этого правительство Франко запретило сборной Испании играть с СССР, но на этот раз политика все-таки уступила дорогу футболу. Сборная СССР мечтала защитить чемпионский титул. В полуфинале турнира в Барселоне она разгромила Данию со счетом 3:0, причем герои ЧЕ-1960 Валентин Иванов и Виктор Понедельник забили по голу.

Испанцы в дополнительное время переиграли венгров с результатом 2:1 благодаря голу форварда "Реала" Амансио. Вся игра хозяев строилась через полузащитника Луиса Суареса. Успевший завоевать Кубок европейских чемпионов с "Интернационале" хавбек добавил молодой сборной Испании опыта и хладнокровия.

Уже на шестой минуте решающего матча на "Сантьяго Бернабеу" Суарес сделал изумительный прострел на Хесуса Переду, который открыл счет. Галимзян Хусаинов восстановил равновесие, но за шесть минут до финального свистка свое слово сказал Марсельино - 2:1.

"Сборная Испании образца 1964 года была далеко не самой сильной национальной командой в истории, однако нам удалось что-то выиграть. Это была настоящая команда, а не группа талантливых футболистов", - сказал позже Суарес.

Обновлено: 29.02.16 16.14CET

https://ru.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1964/overview/index.html#1964+испанское+гостеприимство

Итог финала

Финал - 21.06.1964
Испания2-1СССР
 
  • Стадион: Сантьяго Бернабеу
  • Место проведения: Мадрид (ESP)
Полуфиналисты
Венгрия
Дания
 

Календарь

Квалификация

Плей-офф

Финал

The official website for European football

Spain savour home comforts

Spain combined home advantage and spirited teamwork to prevail at the Soviet Union's expense, Marcelino heading in a late winner.

rate galleryrate photo
1/0
counter
  • loading...

Final result

The final - 21/06/1964
Spain2-1USSR
 
  • Stadium: Estadio Santiago Bernabéu
  • Place: Madrid (ESP)
Semi-finalists
Denmark
Hungary
 
 

Calendar

Qualifying

Knockout phase

Final

Spain savour home comforts

Spain combined home advantage and spirited teamwork to prevail at the Soviet Union's expense, Marcelino heading in a late winner.

Spain combined home advantage and spirited teamwork to win their first major trophy in 1964, as the European Nations' Cup continued to grow.

The format remained the same, with a qualifying competition followed by a four-team final tournament, but the buzz surrounding the inaugural edition meant the number of entrants rose from 17 to 29, with Italy and England among the hopefuls this time.

England fell 6-3 on aggregate to France in Alf Ramsey's first competitive outing as manager, however they were at least able to compete on the pitch. In an echo of the diplomatic wrangling from 1960, Greece objected to facing Albania, with whom they were officially at war, and the tie was awarded to their opponents.

Albania failed to grasp this opportunity as they were beaten 4-1 on aggregate by Denmark in the last 16. The Danes then sealed their place in the final tournament by seeing off surprise quarter-finalists Luxembourg after a play-off. In-form striker Ole Madsen fired six goals in Denmark's three matches against the Grand Duchy, who had earlier defeated the Netherlands 2-1 in Rotterdam; their last away win against European opposition until 1995.

Conquerors of a France team on the wane, Hungary also advanced to the semi-finals, where they were joined by Spain and holders the USSR. Spain looked particularly impressive after dispatching the Republic of Ireland 5-1 and 2-0 in the previous round, and they had been chosen to host the tournament's conclusion.

That was conditional on them accepting Soviet participation; in 1960 Spain had been disqualified after General Franco had refused his side permission to play the USSR. Four years on political disagreements were happily forgotten as football took centre stage.

The USSR were hungry to defend their title as they swept past Denmark 3-0 in Barcelona, with a goal apiece for 1960 veterans Valentin Ivanov and Victor Ponedelnik.

In the other semi-final, Spain required an extra-time winner from Real Madrid CF forward Amancio to defeat Hungary 2-1, but with midfielder Luis Suárez pulling the strings they went into the final with confidence high. Already a European champion with FC Internazionale Milano, Suárez added top-level experience to the youthful Spain side.

With just six minutes gone at a raucous Santiago Bernabéu Stadium, the gifted No10 provided the cross for Jesús Pereda to open the scoring. Galimzian Khusainov quickly responded for the USSR, but Marcelino headed a memorable winner six minutes from time.

"Other Spanish national teams I played in were much better than that 1964 side but we never achieved anything," Suárez said. "That one was a team rather than a selection of top players."

Last updated: 08/12/13 7.38CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1964/overview/index.html#spain+gain+home+comforts

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.