Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Irland schafft Sensation gegen England

Veröffentlicht: Sonntag, 5. Oktober 2003, 14.30MEZ
England - Republik Irland 0:1
Nach dem Gegentor durch Ray Houghton kam England zwar zu einigen Chancen, scheiterte aber immer wieder an Packie Bonner.
Irland schafft Sensation gegen England
Ray Houghton war der Mann des Tages ©Getty Images
Veröffentlicht: Sonntag, 5. Oktober 2003, 14.30MEZ

Irland schafft Sensation gegen England

England - Republik Irland 0:1
Nach dem Gegentor durch Ray Houghton kam England zwar zu einigen Chancen, scheiterte aber immer wieder an Packie Bonner.

England ging als hoher Favorit in das Spiel gegen die Republik Irland, die erstmals an der Endrunde einer UEFA-Europameisterschaft teilnahm. Die Abwesenheit des verletzten Terry Butcher hinterließ allerdings eine große Lücke in der unerfahrenen englischen Abwehr, die nicht zu schließen war.

Kevin Moran schlug einen langen Freistoß und der Ball fiel Tony Galvin vor die Füße, der eine Flanke in die Mitte brachte, die John Aldridge zu seinem Teamkollegen bei Liverpool FC, Ray Houghton, köpfte und der hob das Leder mit dem Kopf über Torhüter Peter Shilton ins Netz.

Da waren gerade sechs Minuten gespielt und England brauchte bis zur Pause, um sich von diesem Schock zu erholen. Mehrfach musste Shilton weiteres Ungemach verhindern, vor allem Houghton sorgte immer wieder für Unruhe im englischen Strafraum. In der zweiten Hälfte spielte dann aber nur eine Mannschaft, nämlich England. Jetzt hatte der Favorit genug Chancen, um zwei Spiele zu gewinnen.

Alleine Gary Lineker war dreimal auf und davon, scheiterte aber einmal an Keeper Packie Bonner, traf einmal die Latte und verzog den dritten Versuch um Zentimeter. Der Stürmer des FC Barcelona spielte erschreckend schwach, erst später wurde bei ihm eine Hepatitis diagnostiziert.

Bonner sorgte jetzt im Minutentakt für frustrierte Engländer und rettete gegen John Barnes, Peter Beardsley, Lineker (drei weitere Male) und Bryan Robson. Irlands Trainer Jack Charlton, selbst 1966 mit England FIFA-Weltmeister, feierte eine gelungene Revanche gegen sein Heimatland, das ihn 1977 als Nationaltrainer entlassen hatte.

Auch drei Tage später überzeugte sein Team beim 1:1 gegen die UdSSR, doch eine knappe Niederlage gegen die Niederlande beendete das irische EURO-Abenteuer vorzeitig. Trotzdem verließen die Iren Deutschland hoch erhobenen Hauptes, während die Engländer nach drei Niederlagen in Folge still und stumm die Hintertür nach Hause nahmen.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 12.01.12 15.11MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1988/matches/round=212/match=13/postmatch/report/index.html#irland+schafft+sensation

The official website for European football

Early Houghton strike humbles England

Published: Sunday 5 October 2003, 14.30CET
England 0-1 Republic of Ireland
Knocked off their feet by an early blow delivered by Ray Houghton, England recovered to create a host of chances but were frustrated by Packie Bonner.
Early Houghton strike humbles England
Republic of Ireland's Ray Houghton and Kevin Moran celebrate victory against England ©Bob Thomas/Getty Images

Standings

Last updated: 27/06/2012 12:08 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
Published: Sunday 5 October 2003, 14.30CET

Early Houghton strike humbles England

England 0-1 Republic of Ireland
Knocked off their feet by an early blow delivered by Ray Houghton, England recovered to create a host of chances but were frustrated by Packie Bonner.

England were favourites against a Republic of Ireland side making a historic first appearance in major final tournaments. The absence of the injured Terry Butcher, however, put pressure on England's young central defenders, whose inexperience was exploited almost immediately.

Kevin Moran took a free-kick and hit it long, Ireland's main mode of attack. Mark Wright moved out to the right to cover, though contrived only to get in Gary Stevens' way. The ball fell to Tony Galvin, who hooked in a cross that Kenny Sansom inadvertently ballooned up in the air. John Aldridge headed it to Liverpool FC club-mate Ray Houghton, whose own header looped beyond Peter Shilton.

There were just six minutes on the clock and it took England until half-time to recover from the shock, Shilton having to dive at Houghton's feet when the busy little midfield player broke the offside trap. But the second half was one long England attack, producing enough chances to have won the match twice over.

Three times Gary Lineker was put clean through, to have one shot saved by Packie Bonner, clip the bar with the second and put the other just past the far post. It was not the end of Lineker's travails at the finals, with the FC Barcelona man failing to find the net in three attempts – it was later revealed he was suffering from a form of hepatitis.

Bonner, though, was the man who initially provided the main point of frustration for that talented England forward line by saving from John Barnes, Peter Beardsley, Lineker (three more times) and Bryan Robson. Jack Charlton, a member of England's 1966 FIFA World Cup-winning side, had revenge over his own country, who had turned him down as national coach back in 1977.

His charges were again impressive three days later, holding the USSR to a 1-1 draw, though a narrow defeat by the Netherlands brought an end to their campaign. They nevertheless departed with heads held high; England went away with tails between their legs after three losses from three. The FIFA World Cup two years later saw a marked improvement, however; for Ireland too.

Last updated: 04/01/12 23.42CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1988/matches/round=212/match=13/postmatch/report/index.html#houghton+humbles+england

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.