Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Deutschland unterliegt Niederlande

Veröffentlicht: Sonntag, 5. Oktober 2003, 14.57MEZ
Niederlande - Deutschland 3:1
Die verletzungsgeplagte DFB-Auswahl musste sich dem Titelverteidiger geschlagen geben.
Deutschland unterliegt Niederlande
Dennis Bergkamp hatte großen Anteil am Sieg der Niederlande ©Getty Images

Spielstatistiken

NiederlandeDeutschland

Erzielte Tore3
 
1
Gelbe Karten0
1
Rote Karten0
 
0

Tabellen

Legende:

S: Spiele   
Pkt.: Punkte   
Letzte Aktualisierung: 18/01/2016 10:42 MEZ
 
Veröffentlicht: Sonntag, 5. Oktober 2003, 14.57MEZ

Deutschland unterliegt Niederlande

Niederlande - Deutschland 3:1
Die verletzungsgeplagte DFB-Auswahl musste sich dem Titelverteidiger geschlagen geben.

Die verletzungsgeplagte DFB-Auswahl hatte keine Antwort auf die frühe Führung der Niederlande im letzten Spiel der Gruppe B, doch weil Schottland im Parallelspiel mit 3:0 gegen die GUS gewann, blieb der Truppe von Berti Vogts ein frühes Aus bei der UEFA-Europameisterschaft 1992 erspart.

Nach gerade einmal vier Minuten war Frank Rijkaard nach einem Freistoß von Ronald Koeman mit dem Kopf zur Stelle. Nach einer Viertelstunde erhöhte Rob Witschge mit einem Schuss aus 25 Metern auf 2:0. Jürgen Klinsmann gelang in der zweiten Halbzeit zwar der Anschlusstreffer, doch Dennis Bergkamp machte schließlich alles klar.

Guido Buchwald und Stefan Reuter waren noch nicht wieder fit, Andreas Brehme musste wegen der Aufstellung von Michael Frontzeck nach rechts ausweichen und Thomas Helmer rückte in die Startelf, um Bergkamp auszuschalten. Die umformierte Abwehr funktionierte jedoch nicht richtig, was zwei Oranje-Tore in den ersten 15 Minuten beweisen. Es hätte sogar noch schlimmer kommen können, doch Marco van Basten traf mit einem herrlichen Fallrückzieher nur die Latte.

Der dynamische und unverwüstliche Klinsmann verwandelte Thomas Häßlers Ecke per Kopf, aber Rinus Michels beorderte Rijkaard in die Abwehr zurück und brachte Aron Winter, der sofort auf der rechten Seite durchbrach und Bergkamp bediente, der Torhüter Bodo Ilgner mit einem Flugkopfball überwand.

Nach dem Spiel war Michels sicher, dass "wir die Deutschen nicht zum letzten Mal gesehen haben", und die meisten tippten auf eine Wiederholung dieser packenden Begegnung im Finale - letztendlich sollte es aber nur eine der beiden Mannschaften dorthin schaffen.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 11.05.12 14.59MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1992/matches/round=219/match=5097/postmatch/report/index.html#deutschland+unterliegt+niederlande

Final tournament - Group stage (Group 2 ) - 18/06/1992 - 20:15CET (20:15 local time) - Ullevi - Gothenburg
3-1
 

Netherlands - Germany 3-1 - 18/06/1992 - Match page - UEFA EURO 1992

The official website for European football

Netherlands take Germany down a peg

Published: Sunday 5 October 2003, 14.57CET
Netherlands 3-1 Germany
The holders crushed injury-ravaged Germany, but the world champions forged on regardless.
Netherlands take Germany down a peg
Dennis Bergkamp was crucial to the Netherlands' triumph ©Getty Images

Match statistics

NetherlandsGermany

Goals scored3
 
1
Yellow cards0
1
Red cards0
 
0

Standings

Last updated: 27/06/2012 12:09 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
Published: Sunday 5 October 2003, 14.57CET

Netherlands take Germany down a peg

Netherlands 3-1 Germany
The holders crushed injury-ravaged Germany, but the world champions forged on regardless.

Injury-ravaged Germany could not recover from an early Dutch assault in the sides' final 1992 UEFA European Championship Group B game, but Scotland's 3-0 win against the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) in the section's other fixture spared Berti Vogts' side an early exit.

After just four minutes, Frank Rijkaard's looping header converted a free-kick from Ronald Koeman, who was expected to take the next one but left it to Rob Witschge, who shot all along the ground from 25 metres on the quarter-hour mark. Jürgen Klinsmann reduced the arrears after half-time, though Dennis Bergkamp restored the Netherlands' two-goal lead.

With Guido Buchwald and Stefan Reuter injured, Andreas Brehme had to switch flanks to the right to accommodate Michael Frontzeck, and Thomas Helmer came in to cover Bergkamp's runs from deep. Two Oranje goals in the opening 15 minutes reflect that the new-look German defence did not exactly gel immediately, but as Marco van Basten hit the bar with a splendid overhead kick, it could have been worse.

Klinsmann, dynamic and irrepressible as ever, headed in Thomas Hässler's corner after the break, but Rinus Michels pulled Rijkaard back into defence to counter the aerial bombardment. The General also refreshed his ranks, sending on Aron Winter, who duly shot up the right to pull back a cross for Bergkamp to step in and score with a low header across goalkeeper Bodo Illgner.

After the match, Michels warned "we do not think we have seen the last of Germany." Indeed, many expected the final to be a repeat of this absorbing encounter – only one team would keep their end of the bargain.

Last updated: 24/01/12 9.53CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1992/matches/round=219/match=5097/postmatch/report/index.html#oranje+crush+germany

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.