Halbfinale - 26.06.1996 - 17:00MEZ (16:00 Ortszeit) - Old Trafford - Manchester
0-0
Tschechische Rep. gewinnt 6-5 im Elfmeterschiessen 

Frankreich - Tschechische Rep. 0-0 - 26.06.1996 - Spiel-Seite - UEFA EURO 1996

Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Tschechen per Elfmeter ins Endspiel

Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 11.13MEZ
Frankreich - Tschechische Republik 0:0 (Tschechische Republik gewinnt 6:5 n. E.)
Petr Kouba war der Held der Tschechen, weil er im Elfmeterschießen den Versuch von Reynald Pedros hielt und so die Mannschaft von Dušan Uhrin ins Finale in Wembley brachte.
Tschechen per Elfmeter ins Endspiel
Die Tschechische Republik nach dem Erreichen des Endspiels ©Getty Images

Spielstatistiken

FrankreichTschechische Rep.

Erzielte Tore0
 
0
Schüsse aufs Tor0
 
0
Schüsse vorbei0
 
0
Ecken0
 
0
Begangene Fouls0
 
0
Gelbe Karten3
 
3
Rote Karten0
 
0

Tabellen

Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 11.13MEZ

Tschechen per Elfmeter ins Endspiel

Frankreich - Tschechische Republik 0:0 (Tschechische Republik gewinnt 6:5 n. E.)
Petr Kouba war der Held der Tschechen, weil er im Elfmeterschießen den Versuch von Reynald Pedros hielt und so die Mannschaft von Dušan Uhrin ins Finale in Wembley brachte.

Dezimiert durch Sperren verstand es die Tschechische Republik, gegen die Franzosen keine Chancen zuzulassen, um sich am Ende im Elfmeterschießen durchzusetzen, womit sie das erste Mal als unabhängige Nation das Finale einer UEFA-Europameisterschaft erreichten.

Bis ins Halbfinale waren die Tschechen relativ problemlos gekommen, aber nun mussten sie auf Jan Suchopárek, Radoslav Látal, Pavel Kuka und Radek Bejbl verzichten. Les Bleus mussten im Old Trafford ohne den verletzten Kapitän Didier Deschamps und den gesperrten Mittelfeldspieler Christian Karembeu auskommen. Als es dann zum Elfmeterschießen kam, scheiterte Reynald Pedros, und so stand letztlich für das Team von Dušan Uhrin der 6:5-Triumph fest.

Ein derartiges Drama hätten sich die Fans auch im regulären Spiel gewünscht, aber erst nach der Pause gab es einige Chancen. So war es Youri Djorkaeff, der innerhalb von zwei Minuten zwei gute Möglichkeiten für die Mannschaft von Aimé Jacquet vergab. Einmal traf er die Latte mit einem 25-Meter-Schuss, ehe er einen Fallrückzieher über den Kasten setzte.

Dies schien wiederum die Tschechen zu motivieren. So machte es Patrik Berger den Franzosen immer wieder schwer, und auch Karel Poborský versuchte seiner Mannschaft Leben einzuhauchen, er tauchte allerdings nur einmal vor dem Gehäuse der Franzosen auf.

So kam es zur Verlängerung, in der Patrice Loko und Pedros die besten Möglichkeiten hatten, das Golden Goal zu erzielen. Doch da auch dies nicht gelang, musste die Entscheidung im Elfmeterschießen gefunden werden. Je fünf Spieler jeder Mannschaft trafen, und dann hielt Petr Kouba den Schuss von Pedros, ehe Tschechen-Kapitän Miroslav Kadlec traf und somit sein Team unerwartet ins Finale nach Wembley schoss.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 18.05.12 17.29MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=224/match=52915/postmatch/report/index.html#tschechen+finale

Semi-finals - 26/06/1996 - 17:00CET (16:00 local time) - Old Trafford - Manchester
0-0
Czech Republic win 6-5 on penalties 

France - Czech Republic 0-0 - 26/06/1996 - Match page - UEFA EURO 1996

Semi-finals - 26/06/1996 - 17:00CET (16:00 local time) - Old Trafford - Manchester
0-0
Czech Republic win 6-5 on penalties 

France - Czech Republic 0-0 - 26/06/1996 - Match page - UEFA EURO 1996

The official website for European football

Czechs prevail on penalties to reach final

Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 11.15CET
France 0-0 Czech Republic (Czech Republic win 6-5 on penalties)
Petr Kouba was the hero for the Czechs, denying Reynald Pedros in sudden death to take Dušan Uhrin's team into the Wembley showpiece.
Czechs prevail on penalties to reach final
The Czech Republic are joyous at reaching the final ©Getty Images

Match statistics

FranceCzech Republic

Goals scored0
 
0
Attempts on target0
 
0
Attempts off target0
 
0
Corners0
 
0
Fouls committed0
 
0
Yellow cards3
 
3
Red cards0
 
0

Standings

 
Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 11.15CET

Czechs prevail on penalties to reach final

France 0-0 Czech Republic (Czech Republic win 6-5 on penalties)
Petr Kouba was the hero for the Czechs, denying Reynald Pedros in sudden death to take Dušan Uhrin's team into the Wembley showpiece.

Decimated by suspensions, the Czech Republic produced a fine rearguard effort to overcome France on penalties and reach the final in their first UEFA European Championship as an independent nation.

The Czechs had enjoyed an unexpectedly trouble-free passage through to the last four but found their route to the showpiece beset by the absence of Jan Suchopárek, Radoslav Látal, Pavel Kuka and Radek Bejbl. Les Bleus were themselves without injured captain Didier Deschamps and suspended midfielder Christian Karembeu and a cautious encounter ensued at Old Trafford. Spot kicks were required, Reynald Pedros eventually missing in sudden death to hand Dušan Uhrin's charges a 6-5 triumph.

Such drama was conspicuous by its absence for much of the match, with no real urgency evident until after half-time. Youri Djorkaeff, so often France's main source of craft, was once again the instigator. The cunning forward was unfortunate not to give Aimé Jacquet's side the lead twice in as many minutes, rattling the bar with a 25-metre shot before firing over with a spectacular bicycle kick.

Djorkaeff's deviance sparked the Czechs into life, Patrik Berger's willingness to run at the opposition finally giving France something to ponder. Karel Poborský was equally eager to inject some life into his side but with only a solitary presence to aim for in attack, the Czechs' midfield linchpins were all too often crowded into submission.

It was a similar story for France – Patrice Loko ploughing a lone furrow in attack (Pedros did at least show a semblance of adventure from off the bench) – and extra time beckoned. Pedros and Loko came closest to breaking the deadlock but the golden goal merely served to encourage an even more conservative approach.

Five successful spot kicks apiece followed in the shoot-out before Petr Kouba denied Pedros and Czech captain Miroslav Kadlec set aside his reluctance to step up with a clinical finish which extended his team's unlikely adventure into the Wembley showpiece.

Last updated: 24/01/12 9.55CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=224/match=52915/postmatch/report/index.html#czechs+reach+final

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.