Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Schottland trotz Sieg ausgeschieden

Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 11.01MEZ
Schottland - Schweiz 1:0
Ally McCoist sorgte mit seinem Tor zwar für den Sieg der Schotten, dennoch verpasste das Team von Craig Brown denkbar knapp den zweiten Platz in Gruppe A.
Schottland trotz Sieg ausgeschieden
Ally McCoist erzielte das einzige Tor ©Getty Images
Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 11.01MEZ

Schottland trotz Sieg ausgeschieden

Schottland - Schweiz 1:0
Ally McCoist sorgte mit seinem Tor zwar für den Sieg der Schotten, dennoch verpasste das Team von Craig Brown denkbar knapp den zweiten Platz in Gruppe A.

Schottland hat seine Pflicht erfüllt, um vielleicht doch noch ins Viertelfinale einzuziehen, aber das Ergebnis in der anderen Partie der Gruppe A fiel nicht entsprechend aus.

Die Schotten hatten vor dem letzten Spiel nur einen einzigen Punkt auf dem Konto und wussten, dass sie einen möglichst hohen Sieg brauchten, um doch noch die Niederlande zu überholen. Durch einen Treffer von Ally McCoist in der 36. Minute waren sie auf der Siegerstraße, und im Parallelspiel lagen die Niederlande gegen England mit 0:4 zurück - was der Truppe von Craig Brown zum zweiten Tabellenplatz genügt hätte. Patrick Kluivert machte die schottischen Hoffnungen dann aber zunichte, als er kurz vor Schluss für die Niederlande traf, die damit aufgrund der mehr erzielten Tore im Viertelfinale standen.

Die Schotten hatten durchaus Möglichkeiten zu mehr Toren, doch bis zu seinem Treffer hatte McCoist bereits zwei große Chancen vergeben. Beim dritten Versuch klappte es dann endlich, der Stürmer von Rangers FC bezwang Torhüter Marco Pascolo mit einem strammen Schuss von der Strafraumgrenze.

Gary McAllister und Stuart McCall kontrollierten zwar das Mittelfeld, und die Schweizer kamen kaum zu nennenswerten Möglichkeiten, aber ein zweites Tor der Schotten sollte einfach nicht fallen, und so schieden sie aufgrund der Tordifferenz aus.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 14.02.12 16.35MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=227/match=52486/postmatch/report/index.html#schottland+trotz+sieg+ausgeschieden

The official website for European football

McCoist magic not enough for Scotland

Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 11.10CET
Scotland 1-0 Switzerland
Ally McCoist ensured the Scots upheld their side of the bargain, but Craig Brown's side nevertheless narrowly missed out on second spot in Group A.
McCoist magic not enough for Scotland
Ally McCoist scored the only goal ©Getty Images

Match statistics

ScotlandSwitzerland

Goals scored1
 
0
Yellow cards2
 
3
Red cards0
 
0

Standings

Last updated: 27/06/2012 12:10 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 11.10CET

McCoist magic not enough for Scotland

Scotland 1-0 Switzerland
Ally McCoist ensured the Scots upheld their side of the bargain, but Craig Brown's side nevertheless narrowly missed out on second spot in Group A.

Scotland upheld their side of the bargain and came within a whisker of an unlikely quarter-final berth, only to be denied by events elsewhere in Group A.

With a solitary point to their name heading into their final fixture in the section, Scotland knew victory and a sizeable shift in goal difference was required for them to progress at the Netherlands' expense. While Ally McCoist's 36th-minute strike set them on their way for the triumph they required, the Auld Enemy, England, had taken a 4-0 lead against the Dutch – Craig Brown's side were, remarkably, second in the group with time running out. Patrick Kluivert scuppered their hopes, though, earning the Dutch a late consolation which ensured they squeezed through to the last eight on goals scored.

The Scots could have found themselves in an even rosier position prior to Kluivert's effort had McCoist not spurned two presentable opportunities prior to his goal. It was a case of third time lucky, however, the Rangers FC striker beating goalkeeper Marco Pascolo with a rasping first-time drive from outside the penalty area.

Gary McAllister and Stuart McCall were an assertive force in midfield and though Switzerland rarely looked like working their way back into contention, the Scots were unable to add the second which would have put them through on goal difference.

Last updated: 23/01/12 12.15CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=227/match=52486/postmatch/report/index.html#scots+vain

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.