Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Frankreich ohne Probleme gegen Bulgarien

Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 10.55MEZ
Frankreich - Bulgarien 3:1
Vor Spielbeginn hatten beide Teams vier Punkte auf dem Konto, Frankreich setzte sich letztendlich durch und holte sich den Sieg in Gruppe B.
Frankreich ohne Probleme gegen Bulgarien
Patrice Loko (links) erzielte das dritte Tor der Franzosen ©Getty Images
Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 10.55MEZ

Frankreich ohne Probleme gegen Bulgarien

Frankreich - Bulgarien 3:1
Vor Spielbeginn hatten beide Teams vier Punkte auf dem Konto, Frankreich setzte sich letztendlich durch und holte sich den Sieg in Gruppe B.

Frankreich bezwang Bulgarien mit 3:1 und zog damit als Sieger der Gruppe B ins Viertelfinale ein.

Die beiden Teams hatten nach den ersten beiden Partien die identische Punktzahl, doch während die Franzosen im St James' Park den Einzug in die nächste Runde perfekt machten, schieden die Bulgaren vorzeitig aus, weil Spanien gegen Rumänien kurz vor Schluss noch den Siegtreffer markierte.

Laurent Blanc brachte Frankreich Mitte der ersten Halbzeit in Führung, danach gab es für die Truppe von Dimitar Penev nichts mehr zu holen. Luboslav Penev besorgte mit einem Eigentor das 2:0, ehe Bulgarien durch Hristo Stoichkov noch einmal herankam. Patrice Loko räumte schließlich in der letzten Minute jeglichen Zweifel aus.

Die FIFA-Weltmeisterschaft 1994 hatte das Team von Aimé Jacquet aufgrund von zwei Niederlagen gegen Bulgarien in der Qualifikation verpasst, daher war die Motivation bei den Franzosen entsprechend groß. Nach 21 Minuten machten sie das 1:0, Blanc köpfte eine Ecke von Youri Djorkaeff über die Linie.

Eine weitere Standardsituation von Djorkaeff führte zum zweiten Treffer, Luboslav Penev beförderte den Ball ins eigene Netz. Sechs Minuten später verkürzte Stoichkov per Freistoß auf 1:2, mit seinem dritten Treffer im dritten Spiel.

Mehr war für die Bulgaren nicht drin, und dann kam auch noch die Botschaft, dass die Spanier in Leeds in Führung gegangen waren. Loko markierte den Endstand, als die bulgarische Abseitsfalle nicht funktionierte, er Torhüter Borislav Mihaylov umkurvte und einschob.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 15.02.12 17.16MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=227/match=52504/postmatch/report/index.html#frankreich+ohne+probleme

The official website for European football

France beat Bulgaria to reach last eight

Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 10.55CET
France 3-1 Bulgaria
Locked together on four points at kick-off, France secured a comfortable win to go through as Group B winners and leave Bulgaria in third.
France beat Bulgaria to reach last eight
Patrice Loko (left) rounded off the scoring for France ©Getty Images

Match statistics

FranceBulgaria

Goals scored3
 
1
Yellow cards2
 
2
Red cards0
 
0

Standings

Last updated: 27/06/2012 12:10 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 10.55CET

France beat Bulgaria to reach last eight

France 3-1 Bulgaria
Locked together on four points at kick-off, France secured a comfortable win to go through as Group B winners and leave Bulgaria in third.

France moved up a gear to beat Bulgaria 3-1 and qualify for the quarter-finals as Group B winners.

The two teams met with identical records from their opening two fixtures but while Les Bleus left St James' Park with the rest of the tournament to look forward to, Bulgaria were left to ponder their early exit following Spain's late winner against Romania.

It looked an uphill struggle for Dimitar Penev's charges from the moment Laurent Blanc put France in front midway through the first half. Luboslav Penev's own goal made it 2-0 and although the ever-dependable Hristo Stoichkov halved Bulgaria's arrears, Patrice Loko put the result beyond doubt in the final minute.

Having missed out on the 1994 FIFA World Cup as a result of two defeats by Bulgaria in qualifying, Aimé Jacquet's team had more than one motivation this time around. They deservedly took the lead on 21 minutes when Blanc timed his run to perfection and headed Youri Djorkaeff's corner down and over the line.

Another Djorkaeff set piece combined with another foray forward from Blanc led to France's second, Luboslav Penev this time unwittingly turning into his own net. Stoichkov put his team back in contention six minutes later, though, curling in a free-kick to register his third goal in as many games.

That was as good as it got for the Bulgarians – even after news filtered through of Spain taking a late lead in Leeds, they had nothing left to give. Loko completed the scoring when he beat a lethargic offside trap and rounded goalkeeper Borislav Mihaylov before finishing left-footed.

Last updated: 20/01/12 15.30CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=227/match=52504/postmatch/report/index.html#france+into+last+eight

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.