Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Amor köpft Spanien weiter

Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 10.58MEZ
Rumänien - Spanien 1:2
Kurz vor dem Ausscheiden erzielte Guillermo Amor in der 84. Minute den Treffer, der Spanien im Turnier hielt und Bulgarien rauskegelte.
Amor köpft Spanien weiter
Guillermo Amor feiert sein dramatisches Siegtor ©Getty Images
Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 10.58MEZ

Amor köpft Spanien weiter

Rumänien - Spanien 1:2
Kurz vor dem Ausscheiden erzielte Guillermo Amor in der 84. Minute den Treffer, der Spanien im Turnier hielt und Bulgarien rauskegelte.

Als alles danach aussah, als würde Spanien in der Gruppe B nur Dritter werden und damit das Viertelfinale verpassen, war es der eingewechselte Guillermo Amor, der sechs Minuten vor Schluss mit seinem Tor sein Team weiterbrachte, während Bulgarien nach Hause fahren musste.

Obwohl Spanien nach den beiden Unentschieden zum Auftakt die Serie von ungeschlagenen Spielen auf 18 ausgebaut hatte, hätte ein Unentschieden im letzten Spiel nicht gereicht, um ins Viertelfinale einzuziehen. Egal, wie das andere Spiel zwischen Frankreich und Bulgarien enden würde, ein Sieg musste her. Aber nachdem Javier Manjarín seine Mannen an der Elland Road in der elften Minute in Führung gebracht hatte, schienen die Aussichten rosig zu sein für die Iberer. Doch nach einer halben Stunde glich Florin Răducioiu aus, und so musste Spanien lange warten, ehe das Weiterkommen gesichert war. Mit dem 3:1-Sieg in Newcastle wurden Les Bleus Gruppensieger.

Die Rückkehr von Miguel Nadal ins spanische Mittelfeld war ein wichtiges Plus, aber es war ein anderer Neuling, Manjarín, der für den ersten Paukenschlag sorgte, als er nach Vorlage von Antonio Pizzi präzise verwandelte.

Angeführt von Gheorghe Hagi, der in seinem 100. Länderspiel nicht die beste Leistung zeigte, antwortete Rumänien in der 29. Minute. Der Kapitän bediente Răducioiu, der mit dem ersten Tor seiner Mannschaft bei diesem Turnier für den Ausgleich sorgte.

Nach der Pause erhöhte Spanien das Tempo, während es im St James' Park so lief, wie sie sich es erwünscht hatten. Dennoch brauchten sie einen weiteren Treffer. Dieses fiel, als der rumänische Widerstand zu bröckeln begann. Amor bekam nach Zusammenspiel von Alfonso Pérez und Sergi Barjuán die Kugel und brachte sie per Kopf im Kasten unter. Das war für alle ein Grund zum Feiern, besonders für den Torschützen, der am nächsten Tag zur Geburt seines Kindes nach Hause flog.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 15.02.12 17.20MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=227/match=52505/postmatch/report/index.html#amor+kopft+spanien+weiter

The official website for European football

Amor sends Spain through with late header

Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 10.40CET
Romania 1-2 Spain
Headed for an early exit, Spain snuck into the quarter-finals at Bulgaria's expense thanks to Guillermo Amor's 84th-minute effort.
Amor sends Spain through with late header
Guillermo Amor celebrates his dramatic winner ©Getty Images

Match statistics

RomaniaSpain

Goals scored1
 
2
Yellow cards3
 
2
Red cards0
 
0

Standings

Last updated: 27/06/2012 12:10 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 10.40CET

Amor sends Spain through with late header

Romania 1-2 Spain
Headed for an early exit, Spain snuck into the quarter-finals at Bulgaria's expense thanks to Guillermo Amor's 84th-minute effort.

With Spain seemingly destined to finish third in Group B and miss out on the quarter-finals, substitute Guillermo Amor intervened with six minutes remaining to send Javier Clemente's team through at Bulgaria's expense.

Though Spain had extended their unbeaten run to 18 games by drawing their opening two fixtures, they remained outsiders to progress going into the final round of games. In need of a victory regardless of the outcome between France and Bulgaria, their task appeared all the brighter after Javier Manjarín's 11th-minute opener at Elland Road. Florin Răducioiu equalised just after the half-hour, though, and it was not until late on that Spain's progress was assured; Les Bleus' 3-1 victory in Newcastle ensured they finished at the section summit.

The return of Miguel Nadal to Spain's midfield added some welcome steel but it was another newcomer, Manjarín, who was first to play a decisive role when he finished precisely after the ball had fortuitously bounced his way off the back of Antonio Pizzi's foot.

Orchestrated by Gheorghe Hagi, not at his best on his 100th international appearance, Romania could not be discounted. They duly drew level on 29 minutes when their talismanic captain played in Răducioiu, who did the rest to register his country's first goal of the tournament.

Spain upped the tempo after the restart – events at St James' Park were going in their favour but they needed another goal regardless. It came as the Romanian resistance started to weaken, Amor stooping forward to head in after Alfonso Pérez had deftly touched back Sergi Barjuán's cross. Celebrations all round, especially for the goalscorer, who flew home the next day for the birth of his child.

Last updated: 20/01/12 13.48CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=227/match=52505/postmatch/report/index.html#amor+sends+spain+through

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.