Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Italien scheidet unglücklich aus

Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 11.05MEZ
Italien - Deutschland 0:0
Die vergebenen Chancen der Azzurri, darunter ein verschossener Elfmeter, sorgten für ein frühes Aus in der EURO '96.
Italien scheidet unglücklich aus
Andreas Köpke hielt einen Elfmeter für Deutschland ©Getty Images

Spielstatistiken

ItalienDeutschland

Erzielte Tore0
 
0
Gelbe Karten1
 
0
Rote Karten0
1

Tabellen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 27/06/2012 12:45 MEZ

Legende:

S: Spiele   
Pkt.: Punkte   
Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 11.05MEZ

Italien scheidet unglücklich aus

Italien - Deutschland 0:0
Die vergebenen Chancen der Azzurri, darunter ein verschossener Elfmeter, sorgten für ein frühes Aus in der EURO '96.

Italien, die Mannschaft von Arrigo Sacchi, verpasste nur knapp den Einzug ins Viertelfinale, weil unter anderem Gianfranco Zola schon früh einen Strafstoß vergab.

Für die Azzurri war das Ausscheiden eine bittere und genauso knappe Angelegenheit. Nachdem sie fünf Tage zuvor überraschend gegen die Tschechische Republik mit 1:2 unterlegen waren, mussten sie nun gegen Deutschland ein besseres Ergebnis erreichen, als dies die Mannschaft von Dušan Uhrin im anderen Gruppenspiel gegen Russland schaffen würden. Erst zwei Minuten vor Schluss schossen die Tschechen den Ausgleich zum 3:3, während das Spiel der Italiener gegen Deutschland torlos endete, sodass sie sich unglücklich von der EURO '96 verabschieden mussten.

Deutschland stand bereits vor dieser Partie in der nächsten Runde, aber als die bessere Mannschaft erwies sich von Beginn an Italien, Finalist von 1992. Wieder einmal verpatzten sie eine hochkarätige Torchance, dieses Mal nach nur neun Spielminuten, als Pierluigi Casiraghi sich den Ball nach Matthias Sammers Befreiungsschlag holte und der Stürmer des S.S. Lazio vom deutschen Torhüter Andreas Köpke zu Fall gebracht wurde.

Doch Köpke machte seinen Fehler wieder gut, als er den Strafstoß von Zola hielt. Auch danach kam wenig von den Deutschen, gerade einmal drei halbwegs ordentliche Chancen wurden notiert, während Italien weit mehr Spielanteile hatte. Und als Thomas Strunz nach einer Stunde des Platzes verwiesen wurde, schien der Weg frei für die Südeuropäer.

Die beste Chance der Azzurri hatte Roberto Donadoni, abermals stand ihm ein hervorragend haltender Köpke im Wege. Hoffnung regte sich bei den Italienern, als fünf Minuten vor Schluss die Nachricht von der Anfield Road durchsickerte, dass Russland aus einem 0:2-Rückstand gegen die Tschechen eine Führung gemacht hatte. Sollte dieses Ergebnis Bestand haben bis zum Schluss, wäre das Team von Sacchi im Viertelfinale. Doch in der 88. Minute zerstörte Vladimír Šmicer in Liverpool die italienischen Träume.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 15.02.12 14.21MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=227/match=52511/postmatch/report/index.html#remis+bedeutet+italiens+aus

Final tournament - Group stage (Group C) - 19/06/1996 - 20:30CET (19:30 local time) - Old Trafford - Manchester
0-0
 

Italy - Germany 0-0 - 19/06/1996 - Match page - UEFA EURO 1996

The official website for European football

Italy pay penalty for Germany stalemate

Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 11.05CET
Italy 0-0 Germany
The Azzurri's inability to take their chances, including an early penalty, against Germany's ten men prompted a sorry early exit from EURO '96.
Italy pay penalty for Germany stalemate
Andreas Köpke saved a penalty for Germany ©Getty Images

Match statistics

ItalyGermany

Goals scored0
 
0
Yellow cards1
 
0
Red cards0
1

Standings

Last updated: 27/06/2012 12:10 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 11.05CET

Italy pay penalty for Germany stalemate

Italy 0-0 Germany
The Azzurri's inability to take their chances, including an early penalty, against Germany's ten men prompted a sorry early exit from EURO '96.

Italy exited the tournament in agonising fashion as Gianfranco Zola's early penalty miss denied Arrigo Sacchi's side the victory that would have taken them though to the quarter-finals.

In truth the Azzurri were up against it from the start, their surprise 2-1 defeat by the Czech Republic five days earlier meaning they had to better the result attained by Dušan Uhrin's men against Russia in the other final group match. That the Czechs salvaged a 3-3 draw with two minutes remaining of their match rendered Italy's goalless draw with Germany, and consequential elimination from EURO '96, all the harder to swallow.

Though facing redoubtable opponents in the form of the 1992 runners-up, Italy were up against a Germany side already through to the last eight, and indeed began the match much the better of the two sides. Only nine minutes had passed when Mattias Sammer's attempted clearance was charged down by Pierluigi Casiraghi and the S.S. Lazio striker was felled by Andreas Köpke.

But the Germany goalkeeper made amends for his error, second-guessing Zola's side-footed spot kick with a smart save to his left. The Germans created little thereafter, carving out just three chances of note, while Italy dominated possession and territory, especially after Thomas Strunz had been sent off for a foul with just under an hour gone.

The Azzurri might also have scored through Roberto Donadoni, who was also denied by the imperious Köpke, but even that spurned opportunity did not appear to matter. With five minutes left, news began to filter through from Anfield that Russia had rallied from 2-0 down to take the lead against the Czech Republic. If Russia and Italy clung on, Sacchi's side would be through to the quarter-finals – Vladimír Šmicer's 88th-minute equaliser in Liverpool blocked that route.

Last updated: 23/01/12 12.18CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=227/match=52511/postmatch/report/index.html#stalemate+sends+italy+home

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.