Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Dänen scheiden stilvoll aus

Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 11.02MEZ
Türkei - Dänemark 0:3
Der Titelverteidiger zeigte noch einmal eine tolle Leistung, schied aber ebenso aus wie die Türken, die weder ein Tor schossen noch einen Punkt holten.
Dänen scheiden stilvoll aus
Der Däne Brian Nielsen im Zweikampf mit dem Türken Saffet Sancaklı ©Getty Images
Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 11.02MEZ

Dänen scheiden stilvoll aus

Türkei - Dänemark 0:3
Der Titelverteidiger zeigte noch einmal eine tolle Leistung, schied aber ebenso aus wie die Türken, die weder ein Tor schossen noch einen Punkt holten.

Vier Jahre nach dem Gewinn des EM-Titels verabschiedete sich Dänemark mit einem 3:0-Sieg gegen die Türkei von der Endrunde 1996.

Alle Hoffnungen des Gewinners der EURO '92, das Viertelfinale zu erreichen, endeten mit dem 3:0-Sieg Portugals gegen Kroatien, denn dadurch kamen diese beiden Teams aus der Gruppe D weiter. Die Mannschaft von Richard Møller-Nielsen verabschiedete sich trotz dieser Tatsache mit Anstand aus dem Turnier. Zur Halbzeit war noch kein Tor gefallen, doch dann schlug zweimal Brian Laudrup zu, während für den anderen Treffer Allan Nielsen verantwortlich war.

Brian Laudrup hatte sich schon zuvor als einer der Stars des Turniers erwiesen, ehe er fünf Minuten nach der Pause sein erstes Tor schoss. Er umrundete Torwart Peter Schmeichel und erzielte das 1:0, nachdem Erik Bo Andersen den Ball per Kopf weitergegeben hatte und Ogün Temizkanoglus Versuch einer Grätsche fehlgeschlagen war.

Allan Nielsen verpasste eine gute Tormöglichkeit, bevor er den Ball schließlich nach einem Steilpass von Michael Laudrup mit einem Flachschuss an Rüştü Reçber vorbei im Netz versenkte. Und dann bereitete Andersen sechs Minuten vor Schluss den zweiten Treffer von Laudrup vor. Obwohl ausgeschieden, wurde die Mannschaft von den zahlreich mitgereisten Fans gefeiert. Die Türkei jedoch beendete ihre erste Endrunde ohne ein Erfolgserlebnis, denn weder Tor noch Punkt standen auf der Habenseite.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 11.05.12 11.01MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=227/match=52517/postmatch/report/index.html#danen+scheiden+stilvoll

Final tournament - Group stage (Group D) - 19/06/1996 - 17:30CET (16:30 local time) - Hillsborough Stadium - Sheffield
0-3
 

Turkey - Denmark 0-3 - 19/06/1996 - Match page - UEFA EURO 1996

The official website for European football

Holders Denmark sign off in style

Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 11.10CET
Turkey 0-3 Denmark
The holders produced an emphatic display but nevertheless missed out on the last eight, with Turkey exiting the tournament without a goal or a point.
Holders Denmark sign off in style
Brian Nielsen of Denmark is challenged by Turkey's Saffet Sancaklı ©Getty Images

Match statistics

TurkeyDenmark

Goals scored0
3
Yellow cards3
 
2
Red cards0
 
0

Standings

Last updated: 27/06/2012 12:10 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 11.10CET

Holders Denmark sign off in style

Turkey 0-3 Denmark
The holders produced an emphatic display but nevertheless missed out on the last eight, with Turkey exiting the tournament without a goal or a point.

Denmark ended their four-year reign as European champions with a stylish 3-0 triumph over Turkey.

Any hopes the EURO '92 winners had of extending their defence into the quarter-finals were ended by Portugal's 3-0 win against Croatia, which meant it was those two teams who would go through from Group D. Richard Møller-nielsen's team were not to know, though, and duly signed off in impressive fashion. Goalless at half-time, Brian Laudrup then came to the fore with goals either side of Allan Nielsen's effort.

Brian Laudrup had already been one of the stars of the tournament even before another virtuoso display which gathered pace five minutes after the interval; the Denmark No11 raced on to Erik Bo Andersen's flick-on, capitalised on Ogün Temizkanoğlu's missed tackle and rounded goalkeeper Peter Schmeichel.

Having already missed one chance to double Denmark's lead, Nielsen made no mistake second time round, latching on to Michael Laudrup's through ball before finishing past Rüştü Reçber with a low shot. It was fitting that Brian Laudrup, once again profiting from Andersen's build-up play, rounded off the scoring with six minutes left to ensure his team's tremendous travelling support headed home disappointed but not disheartened. Turkey, meanwhile, exited their first finals without a point or a goal to their name.

Last updated: 23/01/12 11.26CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=1996/matches/round=227/match=52517/postmatch/report/index.html#holders+reign+ends+style

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.