Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Alles vorbei für Slowenien und Norwegen

Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 12.07MEZ
Slowenien - Norwegen 0:0
Nach dem torlosen Remis in Arnheim sind sowohl Norwegen als auch Slowenien aus der UEFA EURO 2000 ausgeschieden.
Alles vorbei für Slowenien und Norwegen
Bjørn Otto Bragstad (links) im Zweikampf mit dem Slowenen Zlatko Zahovič ©Getty Images
Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 12.07MEZ

Alles vorbei für Slowenien und Norwegen

Slowenien - Norwegen 0:0
Nach dem torlosen Remis in Arnheim sind sowohl Norwegen als auch Slowenien aus der UEFA EURO 2000 ausgeschieden.

Norwegen und Slowenien sind nach ihrem torlosen Remis in Arnheim beide aus der UEFA EURO 2000 ausgeschieden.

Beide Teams hatten noch die Chance auf den Einzug ins Viertelfinale, allerdings fehlten in der Offensive zumeist die Ideen, und so fielen keine Treffer. Dadurch sicherte sich Spanien durch den 4:3-Sieg gegen Jugoslawien im Parallelspiel den ersten Platz in Gruppe C, die Jugoslawen wurden aufgrund des besseren direkten Vergleichs gegenüber Norwegen noch Zweiter.

Norwegen suchte mit Tore André Flo, John Carew und Steffen Iversen, der mit gebrochener Nase spielte, von Beginn an die Offensive. Die Slowenen verteidigten aufopferungsvoll und warfen sich in jeden Schuss, während sie gleichzeitig auf sich bietende Kontermöglichkeiten lauerten.

Die erste kam Mitte der ersten Halbzeit. Miran Pavlin hätte mit seinem Kopfball fast die Führung für Slowenien erzielt, nach einer knappen halben Stunde verfehlte Ermin Šiljak im Anschluss an eine Ecke den norwegischen Kasten denkbar knapp. Pavlin gab kurz darauf einen weiteren Schuss ab.

Die norwegischen Angreifer taten sich sehr schwer, die meiste Gefahr kam durch Standardsituationen und weite Bälle auf. Erik Mykland bediente mit einem Freistoß Iversen, dessen Volleyschuss zu unplatziert war. Auch Eirik Bakke verfehlte das Ziel, im Gegenzug blieben jedoch auch die Slowenen gefährlich.

15 Minuten vor Schluss lag Spanien gegen Jugoslawien mit 2:3 zurück, damit hätte die Truppe von Srečko Katanec gewinnen müssen, entsprechend warf sie jegliche Vorsicht langsam über den Haufen. Zlatko Zahovič und Šiljak zeigten schöne Kombinationen, doch das Tor wollte nicht fallen. Norwegens Abwehr stand solide bis zum Schluss.

Nach dem Abpfiff wähnte sich Norwegen mit dem 0:0 bereits im Viertelfinale, doch dann bekamen die Spieler die Nachricht vom dramatischen spanischen Sieg und wussten, dass auch sie ausgeschieden waren.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 10.05.12 16.29MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=2000/matches/round=1458/match=64862/postmatch/report/index.html#alles+vorbei+slowenien+norwegen

Final tournament - Group stage (Group C ) - 21/06/2000 - 18:00CET (18:00 local time) - Gelredome - Arnhem
0-0
 

Slovenia - Norway 0-0 - 21/06/2000 - Match page - UEFA EURO 2000

The official website for European football

Draw spells end for Slovenia and Norway

Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 12.07CET
Slovenia 0-0 Norway
Norway and Slovenia bowed out of UEFA EURO 2000 after a hard-fought draw in Arnhem.
Draw spells end for Slovenia and Norway
Bjørn Otto Bragstad (left) vies with Zlatko Zahovič of Slovenia ©Getty Images

Match statistics

SloveniaNorway

Goals scored0
 
0
Yellow cards1
 
2
Red cards0
 
0

Standings

Last updated: 27/06/2012 11:57 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 12.07CET

Draw spells end for Slovenia and Norway

Slovenia 0-0 Norway
Norway and Slovenia bowed out of UEFA EURO 2000 after a hard-fought draw in Arnhem.

Norway and Slovenia bowed out of UEFA EURO 2000 after a hard-fought draw that suited neither team in Arnhem.

Both sides went into the game with hopes of advancing to the last eight alive but a meeting as high on energy as it was short of attacking ideas ultimately ended goalless. That allowed Spain and the team they beat 4-3, Yugoslavia, to finish first and second in Group C, Yugoslavia advancing courtesy of a superior head-to-head record against third-place Norway.

Norway had been expected to progress and quickly went on the offensive with Tore André Flo, John Carew and Steffen Iversen, playing despite a broken nose, knocking at the door. Slovenia defended desperately, all full-blooded blocks and last-ditch clearances as they withstood the bombardment, waiting for a ceasefire.

It came midway through the opening period and Slovenia began to make their own incursions into opposition territory. Miran Pavlin went close with a header and just before the half-hour Ermin Šiljak screwed wide after a corner was cleared straight to him. Pavlin whistled an opportunist shot wide as Slovenia really began to open up but that ought to have suited Norway.

Yet any space for their four strikers was not forthcoming. Instead they relied on dead-ball situations and long-distance efforts, most notably when Erik Mykland cleverly flicked a free-kick up for Iversen to volley just wide. Eirik Bakke, on for Carew, wasted another chance with a wild drive over the bar but Slovenia, too, were asking questions.

Knowing only a win would do – with 15 minutes to go and Spain losing 3-2 to Yugoslavia a point was enough for Norway – Srečko Katanec's men began to throw caution to the wind. The superb Zlatko Zahovič and Šiljak were combining well, their exciting double act lacking only the killer punch line. Norway's uncompromising style was proving tough to crack.

They held on, and when the final whistle went they initially thought they were through; news of Spain's dramatic last-minute winner confirmed their exit.

Last updated: 19/01/12 15.47CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=2000/matches/round=1458/match=64862/postmatch/report/index.html#slovenia+norway

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.