Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Versöhnlicher Abschied für Tschechen

Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 12.08MEZ
Dänemark - Tschechische Republik 0:2
Dank des Doppelpacks von Vladimír Šmicer in der zweiten Halbzeit haben sich die Tschechen anständig verabschiedet.
Versöhnlicher Abschied für Tschechen
Vladimír Šmicer bei einem seiner beiden Tore gegen Dänemark ©Getty Images
Veröffentlicht: Montag, 6. Oktober 2003, 12.08MEZ

Versöhnlicher Abschied für Tschechen

Dänemark - Tschechische Republik 0:2
Dank des Doppelpacks von Vladimír Šmicer in der zweiten Halbzeit haben sich die Tschechen anständig verabschiedet.

Zwei Treffer in der zweiten Halbzeit durch Vladimír Šmicer sorgten für ein versöhnliches Ende des Auftritts der Tschechischen Republik bei der EURO 2000. Gegner Dänemark hingegen konnte in den drei Spielen der Gruppenphase nicht einen Punkt holen und auch kein einziges Tor erzielen.

Obwohl beide Mannschaften keine Chancen mehr auf ein Weiterkommen hatten, zeigten sie dennoch ein engagiertes Spiel, das eine gute Stunde sehr ausgeglichen war. Šmicer markierte in der 64. Minute das 1:0, als er nach einer Flanke von Karel Poborský am langen Pfosten zur Stelle war. Nur drei Minuten später machte er alles klar. Er kam vor dem herauseilenden Peter Schmeichel an den Ball und schob ins leere Tor ein.

Letztendlich fiel der Sieg vielleicht um einen Treffer zu hoch aus für die Tschechen, die zuvor etwas unglücklich gegen die Niederlande und Frankreich verloren hatten. Allerdings hätten sie auch gut und gerne zum dritten Mal verlieren können, doch Pavel Srníček rettete in einer rasanten Anfangsphase gegen Jesper Gronkjær und Jon Dahl Tomasson.

Die Mannschaft von Jozef Chovanec antwortete mit der besten Gelegenheit der ersten Halbzeit: Sieben Minuten vor dem Pausenpfiff ließ Šmicer aus 18 Metern einen kräftigen Schuss nach Zuspiel von Poborský los. Schmeichel im Tor der Dänen, der sein 13. Spiel bei einer UEFA-Europameisterschaft absolvierte, konnte jedoch parieren.

Die Dänen spielten zum letzten Mal unter ihrem schwedischen Trainer Bo Johansson, der die Elf an Morten Olsen und Michael Laudrup übergeben wird. Seine Mannschaft versuchte in der Anfangsphase der zweiten Halbzeit wieder, die Initiative zu übernehmen. Srnícek parierte einen Kopfball von Tomasson, den Abpraller setzte Allan Nielsen am Tor vorbei.

Auch Stig Tøfting hätte beinahe ein Tor erzielt, aber sein Freistoß aus 25 Metern zischte am Pfosten vorbei. Kurz darauf gelangen Šmicer die beiden Treffer. Die Tschechen, die in der Qualifikation noch so überzeugt hatten, haben damit im letzten Gruppenspiel das Siegen wieder gelernt. In der Qualifikation für die FIFA-Weltmeisterschaft 2002 werden die beiden Teams erneut aufeinander treffen.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 10.05.12 16.31MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=2000/matches/round=1458/match=64867/postmatch/report/index.html#versohnlicher+abschied+tschechen

The official website for European football

Czechs bow out on high with Denmark win

Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 12.08CET
Denmark 0-2 Czech Republic
Two Vladimír Šmicer goals in three second-half minutes ensured the Czechs bowed out in style.
Czechs bow out on high with Denmark win
Vladimír Šmicer scores one of his two goals against Denmark ©Getty Images

Match statistics

DenmarkCzech Republic

Goals scored0
2
Yellow cards3
 
3
Red cards0
 
0

Standings

Last updated: 27/06/2012 11:57 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
Published: Monday 6 October 2003, 12.08CET

Czechs bow out on high with Denmark win

Denmark 0-2 Czech Republic
Two Vladimír Šmicer goals in three second-half minutes ensured the Czechs bowed out in style.

Two Vladimír Šmicer goals in three second-half minutes ensured the Czech Republic bowed out of UEFA EURO 2000 on a high as they left opponents Denmark rooted to the foot of Group D, without a point or a goal at these finals.

Despite having only third place to play for, both sides showed commitment and drive in a match that hung in the balance for an hour. Šmicer swung it irrevocably in the Czech Republic's favour on 64 minutes, ghosting in unmarked at the far post to slot in Karel Poborský's cross. Having found his range he swiftly put the game out of Denmark's reach, beating Peter Schmeichel to a long ball and tapping into the unguarded net.

It was perhaps little more than the Czech deserved after a campaign that saw losses to the Netherlands and France when no one could have begrudged them victories. For a while a third defeat was in the offing as Jesper Gronkjær and Jon Dahl Tomasson tested Pavel Srníček in a bright opening for Denmark.

Jozef Chovanec's side responded with their best opportunity of the opening half seven minutes before the interval. After good work from Poborský, Šmicer's venomous 18-metre shot was parried to safety by Schmeichel, making a record-equalling 13th appearance in a UEFA European Championship final tournament.

It was also a momentous day for Denmark coach Bo Johansson, leading the side for the last time before handing the reins to Morten Olsen and Michael Laudrup. His side seemed intent to wave him off in style as they seized the initiative after the restart and Srnícek needed to be alert to block Tomasson's header; Allan Nielsen hit the rebound wide.

Stig Tøfting went even closer when his free-kick fizzed past the post, but as soon as Šmicer found his range it was over as a contest. The Czechs, so impressive en route to UEFA EURO 2000, will be happy to have returned to winning ways against a side they meet again in 2002 FIFA World Cup qualifying.

Last updated: 19/01/12 9.20CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=2000/matches/round=1458/match=64867/postmatch/report/index.html#czechs+reward

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.