Le site officiel du football européen

Kovač met le passé de côté

Publié: Mardi, 10 juin 2008, 20.00HEC
Le capitaine de la Croatie Niko Kovač a indiqué que la victoire sur l'Allemagne en Coupe du Monde de la FIFA 1998 était "du passé" alors que les deux pays se rencontrent à nouveau jeudi.
par John Mathews
de Klagenfurt
Kovač met le passé de côté
Le Croate Niko Kovač préfère ne pas penser à 1998 ©Getty Images

Statistiques

CroatieAllemagne

Buts marqués5
 
10
Nombre de tirs 57
 
62
Tirs cadrés22
 
24
Tirs non cadrés28
 
27
Tirs arrêtés0
 
0
Tirs sur les poteaux3
 
0
Corners22
 
26
Hors-jeu11
 
17
Cartons jaunes7
 
7
Cartons rouges0
1
Fautes commises69
 
93
Fautes subies77
 
100
Publié: Mardi, 10 juin 2008, 20.00HEC

Kovač met le passé de côté

Le capitaine de la Croatie Niko Kovač a indiqué que la victoire sur l'Allemagne en Coupe du Monde de la FIFA 1998 était "du passé" alors que les deux pays se rencontrent à nouveau jeudi.

Les Croates pourraient s'inspirer de la victoire historique 3-0 de leur pays sur l'Allemagne en Coupe du Monde de la FIFA 1998 avant d'affronter les mêmes adversaires, mais le capitaine Niko Kovač préfère ne pas revisionner le match.

Football "plus rapide"
Avant le match du Groupe B de l'UEFA EURO 2008™ contre l'Allemagne à Klagenfurt, le milieu (36 ans) ne veut faire aucune comparaison entre le match de jeudi et le quart de finale de Lyon il y a dix ans. "C'est du passé. Nous l'avons tous vu à la télé avant, pour ceux qui n'y étaient pas, et nous vivons dans le présent. Tout a changé ces dix dernières années et le football est plus rapide. Nous, c'est "nous" et l'équipe de 1998 était quelqu'un d'autre." Le sélectionneur de la Croatie Slaven Bilić, qui disputait cette victoire de Coupe du Monde, affirme qu'il n'a pas prévu de visionner le match avec l'équipe pour les mêmes raisons.

Match pour l'honneur
Kovač ajoutait : "Le match contre l'Allemagne se joue aussi pour l'honneur. L'Allemagne a été couronnée championne du monde trois fois et elle est toujours un cran au-dessus dans le football. Nous voulons y être aussi, nous donnerons le meilleur de nous-même et nous nous battrons. Mais je suis sûr que les Allemands aussi parce que nous ne sommes pas des copains qui se rencontrent pour jouer aux cartes. Nous allons nous battre pour la victoire mais je pense que le fair-play dominera la rencontre."

Motivé
Kovač, né en Allemagne comme deux de ses coéquipiers, espère un résultat positif jeudi. "Nous avons confiance et nous pensons que nous avons de vraies chances de nous qualifier pour les quarts de finale", indique-t-il. "Ce match sera particulier pour les joueurs qui évoluent en Bundesliga. Quand ils retourneront en club, ils voudront parler d'un bon résultat parce que vous connaissez les joueurs de football. Ca nous motive encore plus, en plus des trois points." L'entraînement officiel de la Croatie au Wörthersee Stadion a été interrompu par une grosse tempête mais le milieu de terrain du FC Salzburg ne pense pas que les intempéries présenteront des problèmes. "Le terrain est en très bon état donc la pluie ne sera pas un problème."

Mis à jour le: 12/06/08 21.14HEC

http://fr.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=2008/matches/round=15093/match=300693/prematch/focus/index.html#kovac+passe+cote

The official website for European football

Kovač puts no stock in history lesson

Published: Thursday 12 June 2008, 13.40CET
Croatia captain Niko Kovač has consigned the country's 1998 FIFA World Cup win over Germany to "history" as the two sides prepare to meet on Thursday.
by John Mathews
from Klagenfurt
Kovač puts no stock in history lesson
Niko Kovač during Croatia's session at the Wörthersee Stadion ©Getty Images

Tournament statistics

CroatiaGermany

Goals scored5
 
10
Total attempts57
 
62
Attempts on target22
 
24
Attempts off target28
 
27
Attempts blocked0
 
0
Attempts against woodwork3
 
0
Corners22
 
26
Offsides11
 
17
Yellow cards7
 
7
Red Cards0
1
Fouls committed69
 
93
Fouls suffered77
 
100
 
Published: Thursday 12 June 2008, 13.40CET

Kovač puts no stock in history lesson

Croatia captain Niko Kovač has consigned the country's 1998 FIFA World Cup win over Germany to "history" as the two sides prepare to meet on Thursday.

Croatia's historic 3-0 victory against Germany at the 1998 FIFA World Cup may seem like the ideal inspiration on the eve of facing the same opponents, but team captain Niko Kovač says it is not worth watching again now.

Football 'faster'
Preparing to meet Germany in UEFA EURO 2008™ Group B in Klagenfurt, the 36-year-old dismissed any relevance between Thursday's game and that quarter-final meeting in Lyon ten years ago. "That is history," he said. "All of us have watched it on TV before, if we were not there, and we live in the present. Everything has changed in the past ten years and football has grown much faster. We are 'us' and the team that played in 1998 was someone else." Croatia coach Slaven Bilić, who played in that World Cup win, says he has no plans to arrange a special screening for much the same reasons.

Prestige occasion
Kovač added: "The match against Germany is certainly a matter of prestige. Germany were champions of the world three times and they are always near the top in terms of football. We also want to be there and we will give our best and fight, and I'm sure that the Germans will approach the match in the same fashion because we are not here to be friends and play cards with each other. We will fight each other for a victory, but I think fair play will dominate the game."

Added motivation
One of three German-born players in the Croatia squad, Kovač has high hopes of a positive outcome on Thursday. "Of course we are optimistic and we believe that we have realistic chances of qualifying for the quarter-finals," he said. "Certainly, for the players who play in the German league, this will be a special match. Once they return to their clubs, they will want to look back upon a positive result, because you know how football players are and this is an additional motivation, apart from the three points." Croatia's official training at the Wörthersee Stadion was disrupted by a huge storm which broke overhead during the session, though the FC Salzburg midfielder does not foresee any issues arising as a result of the downpour. He said: "The pitch is in excellent condition, so we won't have problems with the rain."

Last updated: 12/06/08 12.09CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/news/newsid=706889.html#kovac+puts+stock+history+lesson

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.