Официальный сайт европейского футбола

История Ковачу не по душе

Опубликовано: среда, 11 июня 2008, 22.10CET
В преддверии матча с немцами капитан сборной Хорватии Нико Ковач предпочел не уделять повышенное внимание историческому матчу десятилетней давности.
Джон Мэтьюс
Клагенфурта
История Ковачу не по душе
Нико Ковач во время тренировки сборной Хорватии ©Getty Images

Статистика турнира

ХорватияГермания

Голы5
 
10
Всего ударов57
 
62
Удары по воротам22
 
24
Удары мимо ворот28
 
27
Блокированные удары0
 
0
Штанги и перекладины3
 
0
Угловые22
 
26
Офсайды11
 
17
Желтые карточки7
 
7
Красные карточки0
1
Совершено фолов69
 
93
Заработано фолов77
 
100
Опубликовано: среда, 11 июня 2008, 22.10CET

История Ковачу не по душе

В преддверии матча с немцами капитан сборной Хорватии Нико Ковач предпочел не уделять повышенное внимание историческому матчу десятилетней давности.

Историческая победа сборной Хорватии над немцами со счетом 3:0 на чемпионате мира-1998 может вдохновить команду Славена Билича накануне матча ЕВРО-2008™ против немцев. Однако капитан хорватов Нико Ковач считает, что нет смысла просматривать видеозапись той встречи.

Быстрый футбол
Перед игрой в Клагенфурте 36-летний полузащитник дал интервью euro2008.com. "Тот поединок уже стал историей, - поведал Ковач. - Каждый из нас смотрел тот матч по телевизору. Но нас там не было, мы живем сегодняшним днем. За последние десять лет все изменилось, и футбол в наши дни гораздо быстрее. Та команда в 1998 году была совсем другой". Тем временем, наставник хорватов Билич играл на том чемпионате мира, однако и он не планирует показ упомянутого матча.

Вопрос престижа
"Предстоящая встреча с Германией - это вопрос престижа, - пояснил Ковач. -  Немцы трижды становились чемпионами мира и всегда являются одними из главных фаворитов на крупных турнирах.  Мы также хотим оказаться на вершине и отдадим для этого все силы. Уверен, что игроки сборной Германии выйдут на матч с таким же настроем. Мы приехали сюда вовсе не для того, чтобы сдружиться и перекинуться в карты. Мы будем сражаться за победу, но при этом не забывать о принципах честной игры".

Дополнительная мотивация
В сборной Хорватии играют три футболиста, которые родились в Германии. Одним из этих игроков является сам Ковач. "Конечно, мы настроены оптимистически и верим, что можем выйти в четвертьфинал, - продолжил футболист. - Для игроков, которые выступают в бундеслиге, встреча будет особенной. По возвращении в свои клубы для них будет важно помнить о положительном результате. Такие вещи придают игрокам дополнительную мотивацию". Официальная тренировка хорватов на стадионе "Вертерзее" была прервана из-за сильнейшей бури, однако полузащитник пребывал в хорошем настроении. "Газон в отличном состоянии, - заверил хорват. - Так что у нас нет никаких проблем из-за дождя".

Обновлено: 11.06.08 23.50CET

http://ru.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=2008/matches/round=15093/match=300693/prematch/focus/index.html#история+ковачу+душе

The official website for European football

Kovač puts no stock in history lesson

Published: Thursday 12 June 2008, 13.40CET
Croatia captain Niko Kovač has consigned the country's 1998 FIFA World Cup win over Germany to "history" as the two sides prepare to meet on Thursday.
by John Mathews
from Klagenfurt
Kovač puts no stock in history lesson
Niko Kovač during Croatia's session at the Wörthersee Stadion ©Getty Images

Tournament statistics

CroatiaGermany

Goals scored5
 
10
Total attempts57
 
62
Attempts on target22
 
24
Attempts off target28
 
27
Attempts blocked0
 
0
Attempts against woodwork3
 
0
Corners22
 
26
Offsides11
 
17
Yellow cards7
 
7
Red Cards0
1
Fouls committed69
 
93
Fouls suffered77
 
100
 
Published: Thursday 12 June 2008, 13.40CET

Kovač puts no stock in history lesson

Croatia captain Niko Kovač has consigned the country's 1998 FIFA World Cup win over Germany to "history" as the two sides prepare to meet on Thursday.

Croatia's historic 3-0 victory against Germany at the 1998 FIFA World Cup may seem like the ideal inspiration on the eve of facing the same opponents, but team captain Niko Kovač says it is not worth watching again now.

Football 'faster'
Preparing to meet Germany in UEFA EURO 2008™ Group B in Klagenfurt, the 36-year-old dismissed any relevance between Thursday's game and that quarter-final meeting in Lyon ten years ago. "That is history," he said. "All of us have watched it on TV before, if we were not there, and we live in the present. Everything has changed in the past ten years and football has grown much faster. We are 'us' and the team that played in 1998 was someone else." Croatia coach Slaven Bilić, who played in that World Cup win, says he has no plans to arrange a special screening for much the same reasons.

Prestige occasion
Kovač added: "The match against Germany is certainly a matter of prestige. Germany were champions of the world three times and they are always near the top in terms of football. We also want to be there and we will give our best and fight, and I'm sure that the Germans will approach the match in the same fashion because we are not here to be friends and play cards with each other. We will fight each other for a victory, but I think fair play will dominate the game."

Added motivation
One of three German-born players in the Croatia squad, Kovač has high hopes of a positive outcome on Thursday. "Of course we are optimistic and we believe that we have realistic chances of qualifying for the quarter-finals," he said. "Certainly, for the players who play in the German league, this will be a special match. Once they return to their clubs, they will want to look back upon a positive result, because you know how football players are and this is an additional motivation, apart from the three points." Croatia's official training at the Wörthersee Stadion was disrupted by a huge storm which broke overhead during the session, though the FC Salzburg midfielder does not foresee any issues arising as a result of the downpour. He said: "The pitch is in excellent condition, so we won't have problems with the rain."

Last updated: 12/06/08 12.09CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/news/newsid=706889.html#kovac+puts+stock+history+lesson

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.