Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Island startet mit Auswärtssieg

Veröffentlicht: Samstag, 2. September 2006, 19.40MEZ
Nordirland - Island 0:3
Dank einer hervorragenden ersten Halbzeit und eines grandiosen Eidur Gudjohnsen gewann Island in Nordirland.
Island startet mit Auswärtssieg
Die Isländer hatten das Geschehen in Belfast immer im Griff ©Getty Images
Veröffentlicht: Samstag, 2. September 2006, 19.40MEZ

Island startet mit Auswärtssieg

Nordirland - Island 0:3
Dank einer hervorragenden ersten Halbzeit und eines grandiosen Eidur Gudjohnsen gewann Island in Nordirland.

Island ist dank einer hervorragenden Leistung in der ersten Halbzeit in Belfast gegen Nordirland erfolgreich in die Qualifikation zur UEFA EURO 2008™ gestartet.

Rekord eingestellt
Der Nordmänner kamen durch Gunnar Thorvaldsson und Hermann Hreidarsson zu zwei frühen Toren. Mann des Spiels aber war Kapitän Eidur Gudjohnsen. Der Neuzugang des FC Barcelona krönte seine ausgezeichnete Vorstellung mit dem Tor zum 3:0 kurz vor der Halbzeitpause. Es war sein 17. Tor im 41. Länderspiel. Damit ist er nun zusammen mit dem großem Ríkhardur Jónsson Rekord-Torschütze Islands.

Führung der Gäste
Nach einigen guten Leistungen ihres Nationalteams während der Qualifikation zur FIFA-Weltmeisterschaft 2006, darunter ein 1:0-Heimsieg über England, pilgerten die nordirischen Fans voller Hoffnung in den Windsor Park. Debütant Sammy Clingan und Stürmer David Healy hatten die ersten Chancen der Hausherren zur Führung. Doch nach 13 Minuten schon führten die Gäste mit 1:0. Nachdem Brynjar Gunnarsson scheiterte, reagierte Thorvaldsson am schnellsten und drückte das Leder über die Linie.

Davis scheitert
In der 20. Minute bereits konnten die Isländer die Führung ausbauen. Nach einer Ecke von Johannes Gudjónsson stand Hreidarsson am langen Pfosten goldrichtig und erzielte das 2:0. Die Nordiren warfen nun alles nach vorn. Steven Davis setzte zu einem Sololauf an und scheiterte erst am isländischen Torwart. Auf der anderen Seite hätten die Gäste in der 26. Minute beinahe die Vorentscheidung erzielt, doch ein Kopfball von Ívan Ingimarsson strich nur ganz knapp am Tor vorbei.

Hoher Sieg
Stuart Elliott hätte Nordirland in der 34. Minute noch einmal auf 1:2 heranbringen können, doch sein Freistoß wurde von Hreidarsson auf der Linie abgewehrt. In der 37. Minute sorgte Gudjohnsen für die frühe Entscheidung zugunsten der Gäste, nachdem die Nordiren eine Flanke von Grétar Steinsson nur ungenügend abwehren konnten. Gudjohnsen bleib auch in der zweiten Halbzeit gefährlich. Dass es nicht zu einem weiteren Treffer reichte, wird er wohl wegen des hohen Sieges verschmerzen können.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 02.09.06 18.55MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=2008/matches/round=2241/match=83709/postmatch/report/index.html#island+startet+auswartssieg

Qualifying round (Group ) - 02/09/2006 - 16:00CET (15:00 local time) - Windsor Park - Belfast
0-3
 

Northern Ireland - Iceland 0-3 - 02/09/2006 - Match page - UEFA EURO 2008

The official website for European football

Gudjohnsen inspires Iceland victory

Published: Saturday 2 September 2006, 19.40CET
Northern Ireland 0-3 Iceland An excellent first-half performance prompted by Eidur Gudjohnsen ensured a fine win for Iceland in Belfast.
Gudjohnsen inspires Iceland victory
Iceland were always in control in Belfast ©Getty Images

Match statistics

Northern IrelandIceland

Goals scored0
3
Attempts on target3
 
5
Attempts off target8
 
3
Corners7
 
4
Fouls committed9
 
8
Yellow cards1
 
1
Red cards0
 
0

Standings

Last updated: 27/06/2012 11:57 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
Published: Saturday 2 September 2006, 19.40CET

Gudjohnsen inspires Iceland victory

Northern Ireland 0-3 Iceland An excellent first-half performance prompted by Eidur Gudjohnsen ensured a fine win for Iceland in Belfast.

A fine first-half display ensured Iceland got their UEFA EURO 2008™ Group F qualifying campaign off to a flying start in Belfast today.

Record equalled
Inspired by FC Barcelona's summer recruit Eidur Gudjohnsen, Iceland scored two early goals through Gunnar Thorvaldsson and Hermann Hreidarsson. Gudjohnsen then put the seal on a fine captain's performance with the third just before half-time. It was his 17th goal in 41 internationals, making him Iceland's joint-top scorer with the great Ríkhardur Jónsson.

Deadlock broken
After some impressive showings in their 2006 FIFA World Cup qualifiers, including a 1-0 home win against England, Northern Ireland had high hopes at Windsor Park. Debutant midfielder Sammy Clingan and striker David Healy both went close early on, but Iceland were in front on 13 minutes. Brynjar Gunnarsson played a ball over the top and Thorvaldsson was first to react, slotting the ball into the corner.

Davis denied
The lead was extended in the 20th minute with Hreidarsson scoring at the back post from Johannes Gudjónsson's corner. Northern Ireland were rattled and Steven Davis strode forward only for the goalkeeper to save his effort. Iceland almost added a third in the 26th minute but a header from Ívan Ingimarsson went marginally wide.

Job done
Stuart Elliott gave Northern Ireland a glimmer of hope when he fired in a free-kick after 34 minutes but Hreidarsson cleared off the line to maintain the two-goal cushion. The visitors made it 3-0 in the 37th minute when Gudjohnsen finished clinically after a cross from Grétar Steinsson was only partially cleared. Gudjohnsen remained in masterful form in the second half but, with the match won, will have minded little that no further goals were forthcoming.

Last updated: 02/09/06 22.40CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=2008/matches/round=2241/match=83709/postmatch/report/index.html#gudjohnsen+inspires+iceland+victory

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.