Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Hodgson zufrieden über "guten Job"

Veröffentlicht: Samstag, 16. Juni 2012, 0.11MEZ
Roy Hodgson sprach nach dem 3:2-Sieg der Engländer gegen Schweden erleichtert von einem "guten Job", den sein Team gemacht habe. Sein Gegenüber Erik Hamrén beklagte "seltsame Tore".
von Paul Saffer und David Crossan
aus Kyiw
Hodgson zufrieden über "guten Job"
Roy Hodgson war mit der Leistung seiner englischen Mannschaft zufrieden ©AFP/Getty Images
Veröffentlicht: Samstag, 16. Juni 2012, 0.11MEZ

Hodgson zufrieden über "guten Job"

Roy Hodgson sprach nach dem 3:2-Sieg der Engländer gegen Schweden erleichtert von einem "guten Job", den sein Team gemacht habe. Sein Gegenüber Erik Hamrén beklagte "seltsame Tore".

Nach dem 3:2-Sieg in einem wahren Krimi gegen Schweden brauchen die Engländer nur noch einen Punkt zum Weiterkommen in Gruppe D der UEFA EURO 2012. Trainer Roy Hodgson sprach von einem "guten Job" seiner Mannschaft. Daniel Welbecks außerordentlicher Hackentrick nach einer Flanke des eingewechselten Theo Walcott, der zuvor ebenfalls getroffen hatte, entschied dieses Spiel. Der schwedische Coach Erik Hamrén war trotz des vorzeitigen Ausscheidens stolz auf seine Mannschaft, beklagte aber auch das fehlende Glück.

In Schweden haben wir ein Sprichwort, das heißt: 'Operation gelungen, Patient tot'. So fühle ich mich
Erik Hamrén
Ich glaube nicht, dass wir diesen Sieg nicht verdient hätten oder das Spiel nicht kontrolliert hätten. Daher kommt das Gefühl der Erleichterung nicht
Roy Hodgson

Erik Hamrén, Trainer von Schweden
Zunächst einmal bin ich sehr enttäuscht. Meiner Meinung nach haben wir in diesem Turnier zwei gute Halbzeiten gespielt, eine Halbzeit war in Ordnung und eine war schlecht. Und dennoch stehen wir mit null Punkten da. Wir haben heute ein gutes Spiel gemacht, und ich bin wirklich stolz auf die Spieler. Sie haben die Mentalität und die Einstellung gezeigt, die sich sehen wollte. Wir hatten auch den Mut, unser Spiel durchzuziehen.

Um Spiele zu gewinnen, brauchst du aber auch etwas Glück. Ich dachte, das wird unser Spiel, nachdem wir bei unserem ersten Tor Glück hatten. Aber in den beiden Partien hatten wir nicht diese zusätzliche Kraft, die man braucht. Der Unterschied zwischen den Engländern und uns war einfach der, dass sie effektiver waren als wir. Deshalb haben sie das Spiel gewonnen. Mit tun die Spieler wirklich leid. In Schweden haben wir ein Sprichwort, das heißt: 'Operation gelungen, Patient tot'. So fühle ich mich heute.

Wir müssen analysieren, wie die Tore gefallen sind. Beim ersten Treffer müssen wir den Engländern Respekt zollen. Bei [Andy] Carrolls Kopfball haben wir Fehler in der Kommunikation und im Positionsspiel gemacht. Doch wir wissen natürlich auch um seine Stärke. Über das zweite Tor weiß ich nicht, was ich sagen soll. Ich denke, Sebastian Larsson hat den Schuss abgefälscht. Der war wirklich schnell, wie der Ausgleich der Ukrainer. Davor hatten wir die Engländer da, wo wir sie haben wollten. Und [Welbeck] wird in seinem ganzen Leben kein solches Tor mehr schießen. Heute haben wir wirklich gut gespielt, aber auch einige seltsame Tore kassiert.

Roy Hodgson, Trainer von England
Ich habe das Gefühl wie nach einem gut gemachten Job. Auf diesem Niveau sind die Spiele sehr ausgeglichen, denn man spielt immer gegen eine Top-Mannschaft. Wenn der Schlusspfiff ertönt und man hat die drei Punkte, ist da auch ein Gefühl der Erleichterung.

Ich glaube nicht, dass wir diesen Sieg nicht verdient hätten oder das Spiel nicht kontrolliert hätten. Daher kommt das Gefühl der Erleichterung nicht. Dennoch macht man sich natürlich Sorgen, dass bei nur einem Tor Vorsprung in der letzten Minute noch etwas passieren kann, dass einer ausrutscht, der Schiedsrichter noch eine falsche Entscheidung trifft oder ein Schuss abgefälscht wird. Wenn so etwas nicht mehr passiert, ist man immer erleichtert.

[Das Siegtor] resultierte aus einer schönen Bewegung. Ich dachte, wir kommen mit einem guten Pass hinter ihren Linksverteidiger. Theo hat es geschafft, ihm zu entwischen und Danny zu finden. Der stand zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort und legte eine tolle Pirouette hin. Der Torwart rechnete mit einem Abschluss mit dem Zeh, doch er drehte sich und verlängerte den Ball ins lange Eck.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 17.06.12 0.52MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/uefaeuro/season=2012/matches/round=15172/match=2003333/postmatch/quotes/index.html#hodgson+lobt+guten+job

The official website for European football

'Job well done' for Hodgson's England

Published: Saturday 16 June 2012, 0.11CET
Roy Hodgson spoke of "a job well done" but also his relief after a thrilling 3-2 defeat of Sweden that left Erik Hamrén's side eliminated and the coach bemoaning some "strange goals".
by Paul Saffer & David Crossan
from Olympic Stadium

This content is streamed in such a way that it is protected and available only in a Flash format. Your device seems not to be compatible with our Flash video player.

Match statistics

SwedenEngland

Goals scored2
 
3
Possession (%)48
 
52
Total attempts12
 
15
Attempts on target8
 
9
Attempts off target4
 
6
Attempts blocked3
 
3
Attempts against woodwork0
 
0
Corners3
 
3
Offsides0
 
0
Yellow cards3
 
1
Red Cards0
 
0
Fouls committed14
 
10
Fouls suffered9
 
13

Standings

Last updated: 12/02/2013 17:13 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
Published: Saturday 16 June 2012, 0.11CET

'Job well done' for Hodgson's England

Roy Hodgson spoke of "a job well done" but also his relief after a thrilling 3-2 defeat of Sweden that left Erik Hamrén's side eliminated and the coach bemoaning some "strange goals".

After the thrilling 3-2 win that left England within a point of progression from UEFA EURO 2012 Group D, manager Roy Hodgson spoke of a "job well done". Danny Welbeck's clever flick from a cross by the substitute who had also equalised, Theo Walcott, decided the game and eliminated Sweden, leaving coach Erik Hamrén proud of his team but bemoaning a lack of luck.

We have a saying in Swedish, 'The operation was really good but the patient died'. That's how I feel
Erik Hamrén
I don't think we needed to feel relief in terms that we didn't deserve the victory or that we didn't control the game
Roy Hodgson

Erik Hamrén, Sweden coach
I'm really disappointed. So far we have played two really good halves, one OK half, and one bad one, and we're here with zero points. It was a good game, we played well and I'm really proud of the players, we showed the mentality, the attitude I wanted to see. And we had the courage to play our way.

But to win games you need also a little bit of luck. I thought it was our game when we had luck with our first goal. But in these two games we didn't have that extra strength you need. The difference between England and us, they were more effective than us and that's why they won the game, but I feel really bad for the players. We have a saying in Swedish, 'The operation was really good but the patient died'. That's how I feel today.

We need to look at how the goals happened. The first goal we need to give credit to England with [Andy] Carroll's header, it was mistakes in communication and positioning but we know his strength. The second goal I don't know what to say. I think [Walcott's shot] touched Sebastian Larsson and changed direction, it came really fast like the equaliser from Ukraine; we had England where we wanted them. [Welbeck] could play his whole life without another goal like that.

Today, we really performed well and there were several strange goals. Sometimes the opposition is really good and sometimes you do things your own way.

I haven't even thought about the last game [against France]. We are really disappointed at the moment and you have to accept that and be allowed to feel a little sorry for what you have done so far. It's going to be at least 24 hours before we think about the next game.

Roy Hodgson, England manager
The feeling is one of a job well done. At this level of football, where the games are always so close, when the final whistle blows and you've got the three points there's an element of relief as well.

But I don't think we needed to feel relief in terms that we didn't deserve the victory or that we didn't control the game for long periods, or that we didn't deserve to win it. At the same time when there's only one goal in it you're always worried that something's going to happen in the last minute, that somebody's going to slip over or that the referee is going to get a decision wrong, or that there'll be a deflection. When that doesn't happen there's always an element of relief.

[The winner] was a good move. We got in behind their left-back with a good pass, Theo was able to skip away from him and found a lot of composure to find Danny, who timed his run to the near post and had a good pirouette. The goalkeeper expected him to toe it but he was able to pirouette and beat him at the far post.

Of course I believed in Theo, I think he's a good player with good qualities, that's why I selected him. I'd be lying if I said I know these players as well as [the English media] do, you have watched them many times. I have worked with them for one month and am still learning what they are really good at and what areas we can improve upon.

I am delighted to be going into the last game knowing a positive result will see us through and if we do that I will be more than satisfied because it was a very difficult group. There are no easy pickings for us in the group and our goal is to make sure we don't slip from the standard we have set in the four games since I took the job. Maybe [Wayne] Rooney's presence will take the pressure off the existing players because he can change a game off his own bat.

Last updated: 26/10/12 14.15CET

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro/news/newsid=1730486.html#hodgsons+job+well+done

  • © 1998-2013 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.