Final tournament - Group stage

Group A

Albania Albania00000000
France France00000000
Romania Romania00000000
Switzerland Switzerland00000000

Group B

England England00000000
Russia Russia00000000
Slovakia Slovakia00000000
Wales Wales00000000

Group C

Germany Germany00000000
Northern Ireland Northern Ireland00000000
Poland Poland00000000
Ukraine Ukraine00000000

Group D

Croatia Croatia00000000
Czech Republic Czech Republic00000000
Spain Spain00000000
Turkey Turkey00000000

Group E

Belgium Belgium00000000
Italy Italy00000000
Republic of Ireland Republic of Ireland00000000
Sweden Sweden00000000

Group F

Austria Austria00000000
Hungary Hungary00000000
Iceland Iceland00000000
Portugal Portugal00000000


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Last updated: 02/05/2016 17:59 CET




Group stage

Knockout phase


Road to the final

Qualifying group stage
The record field of 53 nations are drawn into nine groups of five or six teams. Matches are played on a home-and-away basis between 7 September 2014 and 13 October 2015. The nine group winners, the nine group runners-up and the best third-placed side qualify directly for the final tournament. The eight remaining third-placed teams will contest play-offs to determine the last four qualifiers. For the first time, qualifying takes place under the 'Week of Football' concept, with games played from Thursday to Tuesday.

The four sides with the best UEFA national team coefficient ranking will be seeded with a draw determining the pairing and order of home and away ties. The first legs will be played on 12, 13 and 14 November 2015 and the returns on 15, 16 and 17 November. The teams which score the greater aggregate of goals in each tie qualify for the finals, with away goals and then penalties used to determine the winner in the event of a draw.

Final tournament
France will join 23 qualifiers in the final tournament draw, with the teams drawn into six groups of four teams. The top two and the four best third-placed teams advancing to the round of 16 when it becomes a knockout competition.


Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.