Final tournament - Group stage

Group D

1Croatia Croatia31001102105327
2Spain Spain32000012015236
3Turkey Turkey300110110224-23
4Czech Republic Czech Republic301100101225-31


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Draw   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Pts: Points   
Last updated: 28/06/2016 15:13 CET


12 June 2016
Referee: Jonas Eriksson (SWE) Stadium: Parc des Princes, Paris (FRA)
06/16/2016 10:48:02
13 June 2016
Spain1-0Czech Republic
Referee: Szymon Marciniak (POL) Stadium: Stadium de Toulouse, Toulouse (FRA)
06/16/2016 10:49:24
17 June 2016
Czech Republic2-2Croatia
Referee: Mark Clattenburg (ENG) Stadium: Stade Geoffroy Guichard, Saint-Etienne (FRA)
06/19/2016 12:07:32
Referee: Milorad Mažić (SRB) Stadium: Stade de Nice, Nice (FRA)
08/03/2016 17:07:49
21 June 2016
Referee: Björn Kuipers (NED) Stadium: Stade de Bordeaux, Bordeaux (FRA)
06/23/2016 10:15:17
Czech Republic0-2Turkey
Referee: William Collum (SCO) Stadium: Stade Bollaert-Delelis, Lens Agglo (FRA)
06/23/2016 10:12:50
Last updated: 28/06/2016 15:13 CET




Group stage

Knockout phase


Road to the final

Qualifying group stage
The record field of 53 nations are drawn into nine groups of five or six teams. Matches are played on a home-and-away basis between 7 September 2014 and 13 October 2015. The nine group winners, the nine group runners-up and the best third-placed side qualify directly for the final tournament. The eight remaining third-placed teams will contest play-offs to determine the last four qualifiers. For the first time, qualifying takes place under the 'Week of Football' concept, with games played from Thursday to Tuesday.

The four sides with the best UEFA national team coefficient ranking will be seeded with a draw determining the pairing and order of home and away ties. The first legs will be played on 12, 13 and 14 November 2015 and the returns on 15, 16 and 17 November. The teams which score the greater aggregate of goals in each tie qualify for the finals, with away goals and then penalties used to determine the winner in the event of a draw.

Final tournament
France will join 23 qualifiers in the final tournament draw, with the teams drawn into six groups of four teams. The top two and the four best third-placed teams advancing to the round of 16 when it becomes a knockout competition.


Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.