The official website for European football

FC Barcelona

FC Barcelona
Barcelona celebrate victory in the 2011 UEFA Champions League final ©Getty Images

FC Barcelona

Formed: 1899
Nicknames: Azulgrana (Blue and Reds, Spanish), Blaugrana (Blue and Reds, Catalan)

UEFA club competition honours (runners-up in brackets)
• European Champion Clubs' Cup: 1992, 2006, 2009, 2011; (1961), (1986), (1994)
• UEFA Cup Winners' Cup: 1979, 1982, 1989, 1997; (1969), (1991)
• UEFA Super Cup: 1992, 1997, 2009; (1979), (1982), (1989), (2006)

Domestic honours (most recent triumph in brackets)
• League title: 21 (2011)
• Spanish Cup: 26 (2012)

• Swiss businessman Hans Gamper founded FC Barcelona after placing an advert in a local sports magazine following his arrival in the city. Several football enthusiasts responded to Gamper's notice looking for players and the club held its first official meeting on 29 November 1899. Barça lost their first game 1-0 to a team of English expatriates.

• The 1950s brought a surge in popularity – not to mention Liga titles Nos5, 6 and 7 – thanks to the likes of Ladislau Kubala, Estanislao Basora and César Rodríguez. In September 1957 Barça moved to what is now known as the Camp Nou but it was the arrival of Johan Cruyff in 1973 that heralded a new beginning for the club. Along with star turns Carles Rexach, Juan Manuel Asensi and Hugo Sotil, Cruyff immediately won the Liga title.

• Johan Neeskens and Hans Krankl were influential as the team defeated Fortuna Düsseldorf 1895 4-3 in the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup final, Barça winning the trophy again three years later. Defeat by FC Steaua Bucureşti on penalties in the 1986 European Champion Clubs' Cup final eventually brought a return of Cruyff, this time as coach, and the Dutchman built a side that would gain fame as the 'Dream Team'.

• Barcelona won a third UEFA Cup Winners' Cup title in 1989, consecutive Liga championships between 1991 and 1994, and, in 1992, Ronald Koeman's extra-time strike secured European Cup final victory against UC Sampdoria. Sir Bobby Robson led Barça to a record-breaking fourth UEFA Cup Winners' Cup win in 1997 though a lull followed until the arrival of club president Joan Laporta in 2003.

• Frank Rijkaard led the side to back-to-back Liga titles and goals from Samuel Eto'o and Juliano Belletti earned UEFA Champions League glory over Arsenal FC in 2006. Better was yet to come, however, as Josep Guardiola guided Barcelona to an unprecedented six trophies in 2009, following that up with Liga successes in 2010 and 2011. A third European Cup in five years was won with victory against Manchester United FC at Wembley in 2011.

Club records
Most appearances: Xavi Hernández (577)*
Most goals: César Rodríguez (235)
Record league victory: Barcelona 10-1 CG Tarragona (11 September 1949)
Record league defeat: Athletic Club 12-1 Barcelona (8 February 1931)

* Last updated 21 August 2012

Last updated: 21/08/12 11.57CET

Club record in UEFA competitions