The official website for European football

Sevilla FC

Sevilla FC
Sevilla retained the UEFA Cup in 2007 ©Getty Images

Sevilla FC

Formed: 1905
Nickname: Los Hispalenses (from Hispalis, Seville's ancient name)

UEFA club competition honours (runners-up in brackets)
• UEFA Cup: 2006, 2007
• UEFA Super Cup: 2006; (2007)

Domestic honours (most recent triumph in brackets)
• League title: 1 (1946)
• Spanish Cup: 5 (2010)

• Founded on José Luis Gallegos's return from a spell studying in England, Sevilla have humble origins. Playing on a field owned by a local glass factory and using rocks for goalposts, they initially had to make do with a ball of cloth and rope as they took on teams of merchants passing through the city's port.

• Sevilla made their Liga bow in 1934/35 and marked a landmark season with the Copa del Rey, beating CE Sabadell FC in the final, before picking up the trophy again in 1939. Having come within a whisker of the Liga title 12 months later, a Sevilla side containing the prolific Pato Araujo and defender Paco Antúñez were finally crowned Spanish champions in 1945/46.

• Sevilla won the Copa del Rey again in 1947/48 and at that time, few could have imagined it would be a 58-year wait for their next significant silverware. In 1958 they moved into the Estadio Ramón Sánchez-Pizjuán – named after the club president who oversaw its construction – but ten years later Sevilla were relegated, the start of a lull that extended into this century.

• Los Hispalenses finished bottom of the Liga with 28 points in 1999/2000, but under Joaquín Caparrós they enjoyed a renaissance. They bounced straight back up and made steady improvement until an incredible 2005/06 campaign. With Juande Ramos having replaced Caparrós at the helm, Sevilla swept all before them in the UEFA Cup, overwhelming Middlesbrough FC 4-0 in the Eindhoven final.

• Having shocked FC Barcelona 3-0 in the UEFA Super Cup, they became only the second side to successfully defend the UEFA Cup when they beat RCD Espanyol in Glasgow, prevailing on penalties after a 2-2 draw. A month later they capped a memorable season in style, beating Getafe CF in the Copa del Rey final but the club suffered tragedy in August 2007 when defender Antonio Puerta died of a heart attack he suffered during a league game. A fifth Copa del Rey was won under Antonio Álvarez in 2010.

Club records
Most appearances: Manuel Jiménez (354)
Most goals: Juan Arza (182)
Record victory: Sevilla 10-0 Real Oviedo (Liga, 28 September 1941)
Sevilla 11-1 FC Barcelona (Liga, 29 September 1940)
Record defeat: 8-0 twice, most recently at Real Madrid CF (Liga, 5 April 1959)

* Last updated on 10 June 2010

Last updated: 18/01/11 13.07CET

Club record in UEFA competitions